We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you want a reasonable stay in the Hollywood area, there is none better.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Ranked #36 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“if you want a reasonable stay in the Hollywood area, there is none better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

I used to stay next door which has now become a different hotel: watching the current one being built was interesting since it was difficult to imagine how they could have stuck a fully functioning hotel on the side of a mountain, but they have. Complete with pool and two story garage.

The rooms are of course newer and somewhat bigger, but the mix now has many more rooms with basic cooking amenities if you cant grapple with going out into Hollywood Boulevard nearby: and nearby it is, 3/400 yds, but luckily you cant see or hear it as the hotel faces the Hollywood Hills ( see my pic of yet another sunrise in Paradise from the top floor of the hotel)

As ever the day starts with a wonderful breakfast provided by the hotel and then that room is closed for the rest of the day.

As to the hotel itself, generally the staff are attentive and charming and the standard of hygiene is top class. Nobody expects this kind of hotel to be a mind opening experience, but everybody who I come across in the corridors or round the hotel seems to be having a good time: it must be the Hollywood effect.

In summary, top marks for the management and the brand and if you want a reasonable stay in the Hollywood area, there is none better.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queensrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    842
    224
    48
    28
See reviews for
837
477
83
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews. It is in a ideal location for the major attractions and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The staff were very friendly,the hotel was clean and the express breakfast a bonus with 3 children. Whilst the parking wasn't cheap it was very convenient and worth the money for a couple of days. Value for money it was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

This hotel is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn; corporate, clean, bog standard in terms of facilities and service. We booked a double queen room but were allocated a suite which was good in size.

The room is well equipped, although for a suite we had no crockery or cutlery so quite how you could eat what you cooked in the microwave or kept in the fridge is beyond me! The hotel has a small outdoor pool and decent size breakfast room. The warm cinnamon rolls are the saving grace of this hotel. The staff on reception are okay (when they're not cursing the computers!) and the valet staff are superb.

If you are looking for a base for a business trip in Hollywood or a brief stop this would be fine. Be warned, if you are staying in the Hollywood area hoping to see lots and experience LA, don't bother. Hollywood Boulevard (where the stars are in the sidewalk) is only one block away, however it takes about 5 minutes to visit and after you've done this there's nothing else to see. If you want to go shopping or see any of LA's seaside resorts, you'll need a car. LA is spread out unlike London - which you can pretty much see on foot or via the excellent tube network. Those in the hotel and tourist information office looked at me like I'd come down in the last shower when I asked if I could walk somewhere or take the bus. Didn't find people in LA all that friendly.

Please note I have selected that I wouldn't recomend this hotel, purely for the location and lack of things to do nearby

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLonelyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

We always stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotels on most of our travels and have never been disapointed! Including this stay! The room was clean, the staff friendly and breakfast was great!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

Great value hotel in a superb location. Only a 5 minute walk from Hollywood Blyd. Rooms are spacious and clean - and a continental style breakfast is thrown in to. Reception staff were only too pleased to help with directions, where to eat etc. Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMCCULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

After reading all of the great reviews for this hotel, I decided that this would be a good stay for me and my boyfreind - and it was!! I didn't realize how close it would be too EVERYTHING we wanted to do and see. Like everyone else has said, you are only a short walk to The Hollywood Walk of Fame, and right there is the Chinese Theatre and Kodack Theatre. As many of the other reviews mentioned, there is a mall right at the corner of Hollywood and Highland that has a bunch of great restaurants to eat at (we tried the Japanese place Koji's which was very good and also ate at U Wink) and a bunch of shopping if you left anything you need at home. The hotel itself is wonerful - the room we had was huge with a fabulous view, the bed was big and comfy, the bathroom spacious and nice, and the overall feeling of the room was very nice to me for what we paid. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the free breaksfast in the morning was awesome. Overall, awesome hotel and an awesome experience!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelChick531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

I expected a nice hotel from reading tripadvisor reviews and it was. Good service from front desk and housekeeping. Asked front desk about a restaurant that was nearby and he never heard of it, directed me to "CitySearch" rather than making recommendations. Excellant service by breakfast room attendant, always kept the serving bar full and clean. She should have a tip jar displayed, she works so hard! I handed her tips and she appreciated. Impressed by breakfast assortment and change of meat daily. There was even peeled boiled eggs and delicious warm cinnamon rolls! Our room #508 had a broken A/C, upon reporting, a repairman came immediately. He didn't do much but say it will get cooler, but it didn't. Room could have been cleaned better, found food on telephone and mildew spot on shower curtain. Beds were comfortable and everything worked fine. Dissapointed that 2 cardio machines were broken in gym. Front desk gave me a small discount upon check-out for our A/C experience. Free Internet was great. Self parking same fee as valet. Our rental car scraped the top of the garage ramp everytime between 1st and 2nd floor. Make you turn wide because it is a steep ramp that just flattens sharply. Traffic is very busy fronting hotel so be patient when turning in and out of the hotel. Overall, good value for the price of a newer Hollywood hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkanaOhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Address: 1921 North Highland Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hollywood, CA. Located in the heart of world-famous Hollywood, California, our uniquely designed hotel appeals to style-oriented guests desiring exceptional service and comfortable amenities. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hollywood, take time to tour the city and see all that Hollywood has to offer. We are centrally located near several historic tourist attractions such as the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios, Paramount Studios, Sunset Strip, Rodeo Drive, Beverly Hills, Bel Air, Santa Monica and Venice Beach. Our hip hotel in Hollywood is the perfect place to stay as you explore the city. Built in 2008, our brand new Hollywood hotel is perfect for business travelers. We provide an alternative to local, traditional hotels without sacrificing any of the business amenities you expect. Our Hollywood hotel near the Los Angeles Airport (LAX) is just 20 min from the LA Convention Center and in close proximity to the LA Business District, the Century City Business District, ABC, NBC, the Warner Center and CNN. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hollywood, CA, we provide an oasis that inspires and re-energizes travelers. From our hip lobby and state-of-the-art fitness center to the convenient high-speed Internet access and a delicious, free hot breakfast bar, this Hollywood hotel provides all the amenities to make your trip to California a great one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hollywood Walk Of Fame
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing