We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable hotel in the heart of the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Ranked #35 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable hotel in the heart of the action”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a room way at the back and top of the hotel. It was a bit of a trek to get there (various elevators/stairways/hallways to take) but it was very quiet. The room was a decent size, comfortable and clean. We were a bit disappointed as they called our room a suite but it had no separation for the bed and sofa sleeper. The valet parking was very convenient and they valets were extremely fast. The breakfast buffet was standard Holiday Inn fare and was very crowded. Staff could not keep up with providing clean plates/cutlery and stocking food.

The hotel is within 5 minutes walking distance to Hollywood & Highland. There is a grocery store a few blocks away for snacks and drinks, and the subway is right there too. Great location overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelGoose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    871
    234
    53
    31
See reviews for
879
487
86
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My co-worker and I stayed here last week of November. I wanted to show her Hollywood and Universal studios, so we checked in for two nights. This hotel impressed me, because:

a) The front desk staff is courteous and very helpful.I remember one of their names - Omar, I think. We were checked in by a nice, polite lady. Later when my co-worker had some difficulty with the air conditioning in her room, it was promptly sorted out in a few minutes.

b) The location is fantastic. I had a rental car, and all we had to do was pull right into the valet hotel parking from the Highland Av, check in and then walk to the Hollywood main street a few hundred meters away. Universal studios is either a 5 minute drive by car/taxi or a short walk to the Highland Metro station and hop on to the next stop, where you board a shuttle. Going to the airport? No problem, just turn left and get on I-101 and 110 S, 30 minutes max to LAX. Santa Monica is close by.

c) The breakfast is good value too. Okay, this is no Ritz, but there is a good selection of beverages, fruits, yogurts, bread and meat/eggs. Never felt there was anything lacking. My co-worker is a vegan, but she found the breakfast quite nice.

Will I stay there again? If I have to visit Hollywood again, absolutely.

Secret tip:

If you are a runner, just turn right from the hotel and then right again into Franklin (near the Chevron gas station) till you hit N Fuller. The Runyon Canyon park entrance is right into Fuller and then run for 15 minutes to get to the top of the hills for a gorgeous view. Do this at dawn before sunrise, and experience a breathtaking sunrise bathing the Los Angeles and Hollywood Skyline. Worth it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulChakravarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in holiday inn express started with horrible experience when a/c broke down. Then my child's leap pad was stolen from the safe of the hotel room. Response time of the staff very poor. Being IHG hotel you except some values or standards but they lack both.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S0naliJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Sorry your child lost it’s tablet. Unfortunately only the General Manager has an override master key for room safes for when guest forget their safe locked codes. I’m really not in the business of entering guest rooms and taking a child’s tablet, nor will my hotel employees.

According to my staff your safe was already open when you checked out, and hotel employees would not know your code to open this safe.

I understand the best thing to do is to blame an innocent hotel employee for your loss; we have return thousands of dollars to guest from safes, including cameras and much more.

There is 100 % no way an employee can open your safe during your stay!

Sincerely,
Corey Bouche
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here over Christmas for 4 days. Customer service was above and beyond what was expected. Front desk employees were always pleasant. Room was kept clean throughout our stay and all staff we ran into were very professional and polite. Valet service was always on top of things. On one occasion, my daughter forgot her phone in the car, and called down and they went to the car and got it for her. Walking distance to many tourist attractions. Will stay again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank palmlover0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Initially, I was skeptical of the high rating given to this Hotel on Trip Advisor. However after a 4 night stay there, I see why it received such high marks. We booked two rooms for our family of 7 and we had a rental car at LAX. The Hotel has a 24 hour valet, so basically you pull in within 15 feet of the elevator and hand keys to valet. We stayed on 4th floor which was adjacent to breakfast buffet and a small outdoor pool and small gym. Everything was very easy and user friendly. The Hotel has a few flaws. Hot water situation was not great by 730AM. Breakfeast buffet was crowded and mediocre. Left turn into Hotel from Highland Ave. was sometimes challenging due to backed up traffic. Overall however, the Hotel still gets my five star rating based upon its great layout, ease of entry and exit and value. Valet loops around so exit is separate from entry. No hassles. Easy walk from Hotel down to walk of fame area so location was super. Front desk staff was very nice and accommodating. If you are taking family on a Hollywood Trip, this is definitely the place to stay. Thanks Trip Advisor for the recommendation.

Room Tip: Fourth Floor near Breakfeast Buffet and outdoor pool area best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draperdavejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

First of all, Omar is great. Hotel location is 10 min short walk to Chinese Theater. Universal Studio is 10 min cab ride away. Breakfast is not your run of the mill toast and jam, but bacon and eggs with choice of juice, coffee. However, the hot water tank can't handle full capacity, cold shower is not what I have in mind for the price I paid. Staff are friendly and welcoming. I would have scored it higher if not for the cold shower.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank funr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear funr,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are delighted to read you liked our location and found our staff friendly and welcoming. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. It is unfortunate your stay was negatively impacted by the conditions of the shower. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortfalls.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

basic breakfast, disappointed with check in, poor staff service. I did not think it was right that guests pay for parking, poor sleep due to uncomfortable beds. great location but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear dsd1234,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,669 reviews
Central L.A
Best Western Hollywood Plaza Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,903 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,131 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#90 of 350 in Los Angeles
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Address: 1921 North Highland Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#40 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hollywood, CA. Located in the heart of world-famous Hollywood, California, our uniquely designed hotel appeals to style-oriented guests desiring exceptional service and comfortable amenities. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hollywood, take time to tour the city and see all that Hollywood has to offer. We are centrally located near several historic tourist attractions such as the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios, Paramount Studios, Sunset Strip, Rodeo Drive, Beverly Hills, Bel Air, Santa Monica and Venice Beach. Our hip hotel in Hollywood is the perfect place to stay as you explore the city. Built in 2008, our brand new Hollywood hotel is perfect for business travelers. We provide an alternative to local, traditional hotels without sacrificing any of the business amenities you expect. Our Hollywood hotel near the Los Angeles Airport (LAX) is just 20 min from the LA Convention Center and in close proximity to the LA Business District, the Century City Business District, ABC, NBC, the Warner Center and CNN. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hollywood, CA, we provide an oasis that inspires and re-energizes travelers. From our hip lobby and state-of-the-art fitness center to the convenient high-speed Internet access and a delicious, free hot breakfast bar, this Hollywood hotel provides all the amenities to make your trip to California a great one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hollywood Walk Of Fame
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing