We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun!”
Review of The Edison

The Edison
Ranked #230 of 9,944 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Main St.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

try and get a table near the stage on Saturdays to see the show. Drinks and food are a little pricy but good

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    37
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A classy, vibrant bar / restaurant / nightclub with an olde world vibe.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife, daughter and I had heard how good this place is before we left New Zealand and while on vacation we just had to dress up and go into downtown Los Angeles to experience 1920's style and charm that this historic speakeasy offers. We were certainly not disappointed.
The old electric company building is fabulous, and is beautifully done out. A big bar services a very classy, enthusiastic crowd. The food was OK, but rather difficult to eat on the small tables and banquette seats.
We were absolutely delighted to hear the wonderful band Magnolia Memoir, who performed three really, really excellent sets. Don't expect to have meaningful conversations while the band plays - it is a nightclub after all.
All up, food, a couple of beers, a glass of wine, sparkling mineral water and the entertainment set us back $118 including the tip,which we Kiwi's felt was very good value.
We had a great time, loved the ambience, loved dressing up, and loved mingling with all the motivated, friendly people.
A superb place that should be an essential visit when in LA.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Eureka”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had so much fun here, I am not a huge nightclub person so loved the shots and entertainment and clientele - very 'mingly' but not in a 'mwah mwah darling kind of way', more a 'yeah sure feel free to have one of my sliders kind of way' which is great - cos i love my burgers. Seriously though folks, guaranteed great night in LA...enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsinki_Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Experience”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The word "amazing" is often overused. But it certainly applies here. From the moment you enter this incredible place you are transformed. The ambient lighting sets the scene for a magical experience. We arrived early in the evening so had a chance to walk around to see much of the fascinating interior--almost like touring a museum, but even more fun. Every detail was breathtaking! The historical building has been impeccably restored to close to its original state: a hundred year old power plant. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and the food (four of us shared the Sampler Platter) was quite good. The warm chocolate cookies were to die for! Even though it was not an inexpensive venture, you feel you "got your money's worth" because of the beautiful and interesting venue. It's impossible not to enjoy the experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dottie573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
926 reviews
603 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a fun place to have a drink and eat. The ambiance is amazing and so well done.
Probably one of the most interesting net places I have been. The dancers were fun to watch along with all the interesting people

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelshooter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edison also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to The Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing