We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Universal Studios Hollywood

Universal Studios Hollywood
Book In Advance
More Info
$159.00*
and up
Universal Studios Hollywood with Transport
Ranked #2 of 536 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get ready for the ultimate Hollywood experience! Find a full day of action-packed entertainment all in one place: thrilling theme park rides and shows, a real working movie studio, and Los Angeles’ best shops, restaurants and cinemas at CityWalk. Universal Studios Hollywood is a unique experience that’s fun for the whole family. Explore Universal Studios backlot on the legendary Studio Tour. Then face the action head on in heart-pounding rides, shows and attractions that put you inside some of the world’s biggest movies. End your day with the energy and excitement of Universal CityWalk. All this and much more. Only at Universal Studios Hollywood, The Entertainment Capital of L.A.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hadn't been to Universal Studios in 20 yrs & boy has it changed! The new rides, expanded tour & shows were excellent. The Front of the Line Pass was worth the extra money as was the 'preferred parking [$20 extra]. The Waterworld show was great & the behind the scenes with the stars was fun. Loved the animal show as well!! A variety of eateries & not too terribly expensive. Nice that bringing your own water is allowed. Was able to hit every show & ride for a full day of fun. Ate dinner on City Walk afterwards & saw Jay Leno there taping his 'walk talk segment' - that was fun too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeGramparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,247
    6,930
    2,161
    554
    269
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasco, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Front line pass a Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family and I just visited Universal Studios this last week. Because we were bringing our young grand-daughter, we elected on purchasing the front line pass, hoping this would decrease the expected long waiting periods to experience a show or ride. The waiting periods at times throughout the day were up to 80 minutes for regular priced ticket($84.00). To our amazement, we never waited in any line more than 5-6 minutes the entire day. When walking past the sea of people to get on a ride, we were so thankful we spent the extra cash on the front line tickets. Had it not been for the front line pass we purchased,($149.00) I doubt we would have experienced the entire park with time to enjoy an evening at City Walk. This is the way to go!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Syndee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Rather than go as part of a tour we decided to drive to the park and had no problems doing so, on arriving there are parking options from $20 to $35 to park right at the entrance which we did, it was worth it, parked 100 yds from park and was brilliant when leaving absolutely no traffic and gone.
We chose the $84 general admission and this worked well for us, it was about 10am queued for studio tour 10 mins and both thought it was fantastic especially King Kong section but whole tour very enjoyable.
Shrek 4D queue 10 mins and good fun... Waterworld fab but DO NOT sit in soak zone cos it's in the name people!!! House of horrors no Q and great laugh... Special effects show interesting...
Now the rides downstairs... Jurassic park Q 25mins but was great fun, got a bit wet but heat dried you out quick, mummy Q 30mins, this was biggest disappointment of the day the ride was over in what felt like seconds we actually thought it was a joke or part of ride when we arrived back at tram station not worth the Q time... Transformers Q 45mins by far best ride here the 4D was amazing and ride a decent time but can make you feel a bit queasy as the wife found out. If you join the single rider Q with your partner or friend expect upon reaching the front to be completely separated as they have cameras checking the Qs people's faces when they were told they couldn't ride together was priceless... Loved it!
Food and drink is the expected fun park price $3 for a bottle of water/soda etc. be prepared for the odd annoying person as there are many different cultures here, if only they would listen to the staff things would run a lot smoother ie waterworld started and a group of Asian tourists decided their seats weren't good enough and despite being told over again to sit were quite a pain in the backside! This isn't a language thing it's an ignorance thing there are people especially kids who want to see!!!!
Overall an absolute brilliant day that I can't recommend highly enough!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DJH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best theme park ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I visited together and arrived by train. There was a shuttle bus that took you to the entrance from the train station and we didn't even have to wait as it was already there.
We went fairly early, around 10am and it wasn't quiet but wasn't too busy either. First we went to watch Waterworld which was alot of fun, the special effects was amazing! We then went on the Studios Tour, which is not to be missed! Highlight of the tour was the King King 3D ride... I've never experienced anything like that before!

We managed to go on all the rides but we saved the best to last... The 4D Transformers ride. This ride is unbelievable, it made you feel like you are IN transformers! When a missile is aimed at you, you can see it getting hotter and redder, and you as an audience, can feel the heat on your face as this happened! When the decepticons 'spit' at you, you can feel the water on your face! Make sure you go to this ride 1st though as this has the longest queue. However, we decided to go on the singles queue and it only took 10min. Once you're on the ride, it didn't matter who you were sitting with anyway. Beats having to queue for 1.5h!

I highly recommend this for everybody, whatever occasion and whatever age!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VIP experience was our best day on holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We paid the extra money for the VIP package and it was well worth it. The day started with our tour guide Tony taking us around the rides and shows. This was followed by a fantastic lunch which is a buffet where you can eat as much as you want. I would advise to try a bit of everything as it was really good.

In the afternoon we were taken on the tour of the sets. On the VIP experience you can get out of the cart (on Wysteria lane for example) to take photos etc. The tour guide was very knowledgable and helpful. Some of the attractions such as King Kong and Jaws were really well done and entertaining.

This was our favourite day on holiday and was so much fun. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting LA regardless of age.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Studios Hollywood also viewed

 

Been to Universal Studios Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing