We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Universal Studios Hollywood
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.99*
and up
Skip the Line: Front of Line Pass at Universal Studios Hollywood
More Info
$368.99*
and up
The VIP Experience at Universal Studios Hollywood
More Info
$191.00*
and up
Universal Studios Hollywood and Movie Stars' Homes Tour
Ranked #2 of 564 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get ready for the ultimate Hollywood experience! Find a full day of action-packed entertainment all in one place: thrilling theme park rides and shows, a real working movie studio, and Los Angeles’ best shops, restaurants and cinemas at CityWalk. Universal Studios Hollywood is a unique experience that’s fun for the whole family. Explore Universal Studios backlot on the legendary Studio Tour. Then face the action head on in heart-pounding rides, shows and attractions that put you inside some of the world’s biggest movies. End your day with the energy and excitement of Universal CityWalk. All this and much more. Only at Universal Studios Hollywood, The Entertainment Capital of L.A.
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We bought front of line tickets as we went over Easter, but found as we got there really early we were able to visit the busy rides first and use fol tickets later in day when it was busy. Terminator 3 was good - similar to spiderman 3 in florida universal, but best ride was Jurassic Park. Needed ponchos to ride otherwise we would have been soaking wet all day. Studio tour was better this time (we first did it in 2009) as had 3d experience. Well worth a trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank s4m1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27,698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,906
    7,528
    2,355
    618
    291
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good mix of rides and shows”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Visited Universal on a Tuesday when there were no school holidays and managed to get everything done with no problems. The Mummy ride is fab. I think this is a place to visit if you love the movies and like to discover how stuff gets done also :-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linzi_Lou_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Universal review”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Having been to some great California attractions, we found this about average for the price $80 per person (x3). The rides were entertaining & the Transformers 3D was different, but for it being part of a "studio experience" we weren't that impressed. Went on a Saturday, wait time about 15-25min/ride, but it was a nice overcast/cool day, but bring your camera & comfortable shoes (lots of areas to cover)!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thought it would be disappointing”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

but was a whole lot of fun and a great value for money. The scene stealer for me was the Transformers. I totally loved it. The Horror place was really scary for me, even though I thought I'd do fine. The ride across universal studios was the most disappoint, only because they carried rides a little later than they should.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank texanindiaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Waterworld show is whack”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I took the VIP tour and, while the staff is really hospitable, I was still underwhelmed when all was said and done. Real talk: the Jurassic Park ride had embarrassingly low production value, the Mummy coaster has pretty unimaginative design, and the final stunt show (based on Waterworld), which is supposed to be the big climactic finish to the experience, is so, so lame. It's always cool to go through the lots and, I have to admit that the Fast & Furious car suspension is pretty sweet (gives you a great sense of practical effects in a really engaging way). The King Kong thing seemed like it was super expensive and immediately outdated. The huge wreckage area on the lot, where part of the remake of War of the Worlds was filmed is actually amazing (it's got a split plane and everything) and, though the Transformers ride is alright, I've got to give it to the Simpsons ride for being the best designed inside and out. Are you still reading my review? Sorry for rambling. I'm more of an Island of Adventure person, I guess...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Studios Hollywood also viewed

 

Been to Universal Studios Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing