We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the outside”

TCL Chinese Theatres
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.50*
and up
TCL Chinese Theatre VIP Tour
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Los Angeles Movie Locations Bus Tour
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Hollywood and Stars' Homes Tour in Open Bus
Ranked #4 of 153 Fun & Games in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Walk in the steps of the Tinseltown's stars: visit the theater's famous forecourt and gaze down at the stars' footprints, handprints and autographs immortalized in cement.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
houston, tx
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just the outside”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We didn't take the tour. It was just a stop to check this item off of the "hey, I've been there" list. I simply parked at the underground parking at the surrounding mall, and we spent time outside on the cement blocks fitting our hands and feet into some of them. Our favorite was R2D2. I can't believe we missed seeing Harry Potter wands, so look for that if you go. It was a little crowded, but we just wandered and stopped when we felt like it and there were no problems. It led to very fun discussions with my teen about the old "I Love Lucy" episode where she finds a loose block and decides to steal it. Enjoyable American cultural experience all around.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank VinoMio_NYCluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    1,106
    609
    103
    42
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty cool”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

So we never went inside the theater, but did find ourselves spending quite a bit of time out front. It was really neat to see some of the things the stars left in the cement. A pair of tap shoes, face prints, and some of what they wrote to name a few things. If we found ourselves back on Hollywood blvd, we'd stop by again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mymanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth going for the experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Loved going along to see all the different stars over the years from way back who have left there hand and shoe prints was fun comparing yourself to each one and was cool to get some pics with the ones you like. On the downside everyone around the theatre wants money so a heads up if you get a photo with any of the so called look a likes Michael jackson or Marilyn monroe get ready to pay up they will follow you to get some money. Probably the most annoying are the guys with so called free cds ignore them and keep walking dont take one as theyll want 10 or 20 dollars for a piece of junk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chriso328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tourist trappy”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice to visit to see all the hand prints and stuff but lord the people that inundate you for pictures simply because they are dressed up like a star and want a tip! I am surely in the wrong business because several of them spike only enough English to demand a tip after you getting your picture taken with them. What a waste of great Americana.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheArdsofSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice to see handprints of stars”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We just went there by chance while walking on the walk of fame.
It was cool to see the handprints of some stars and compare them with your own hand size.
Besides that, there are really a lot of people trying to sell you stuff. Within the first 2 minutes we were asked for several tours and then for CDs.
Another place you go once to see it, but then probably never again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TCL Chinese Theatres also viewed

 

Been to TCL Chinese Theatres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing