We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TCL Chinese Theatres

TCL Chinese Theatres
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Los Angeles Movie Locations Bus Tour
Ranked #4 of 135 Fun & Games in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Walk in the steps of the Tinseltown's stars: visit the theater's famous forecourt and gaze down at the stars' footprints, handprints and autographs immortalized in cement.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

It doesn't cost anything to walk the same footsteps as The Marx Brothers, Tom Hanks, etc., etc., etc. Bring your camera and take your time walking around the front of the theater. There's a lot to see. Each pavement tells a story.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AllyBeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    1,002
    551
    92
    37
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go in the morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The concrete autographs out front of the theatre are fantastic. If you go too late in the day, though, you get cruised by tour company hawkers (I want a t shirt that says 'No thanks I don't want a tour' if I ever come back to Hollywood) and various cartoon characters that charge for photos. Having said that, a couple of the costumes, especially the Jack Sparrow I saw, we're fantastic. If you go first thing in the morning, there aren't many people about and it's fantastic.
Also, I was lucky enough to get to watch 'The Hobbit' in the original Chinese theatre. The screen is enormous, the sound is amazing and the room itself is astounding. Don't just hang around out the front, go see a flick! It's the Hollywood thing to do!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mintster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Awesome but overcrowded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to see the actual hand impressions of your favorite celebrities like HP actors, twilight actors and other famous stars. Only downside is that this place is always overcrowded and it is very difficult to get some decent pictures. Must see free attraction in Hollywood.

Helpful?
Thank CalGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcutt, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The hobbit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was my first time going inside the theater especially to watch "the hobbit" movie. I was stunned at the theater inside very beautiful and I hope they never change it and keep it as it is.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Iglesias12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
349 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very Overrated..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stopped here to take some pictures as this is a normal tourist attraction. They have you take a picture before you can enter and see the prints which is the standard tourist ploy. After that, you are able to browse and take pictures of the celebrities prints. They also push a tour of the theater and there are many other people trying to either sell you something or have you take a picture with them for a tip. It is all VERY commercialized, but I guess you have to see it at least once.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TCL Chinese Theatres also viewed

 

Been to TCL Chinese Theatres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing