We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent museum”

Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$12.00*
and up
Admission: Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
Ranked #14 of 554 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover your world past and present. See dinosaurs in our new Dinosaur Hall, including the world’s only Tyrannosaurus rex growth series. Get the behind- the- scenes look at how scientists work on fossils at our Dino Lab. See 240 specimens, including skeletons from mastodons to whales, animal dioramas from North American and Africa, and more.Stroll through our extensive Nature Gardens, and discover true stories about plants and animals in our Nature Lab. See and touch more than 2,000 spectacular specimens displayed in our Gem and Mineral Hall, and enter into the vault to view diamonds, rubies, sapphires, and other exquisite gems. Our Butterfly and Spider Pavilions are open seasonally. Here you can wander through the changing ecosystem with over 30 species of fluttering butterflies all around you, or witness arachnids up close and personal.
JMFPEDS
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An excellent museum”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you like natural history museums, this is a fine one. The dinosaur exhibit has vey nice specimens, and the dioramas of wildlife are nicely done. I particularly enjoyed the mineral hall, which has some beautiful pieces. Next door is the extensive rose garden, which when in bloom is amazingly beautiful and most be part of the trip

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMFPEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    285
    67
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good one time visit.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice museum. Lots of things to see. Rose garden and butterfly area. Check space museum behind it if you finish early.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denverperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a gem in L.A.!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a great treasure for families and everyone to experience! We always enjoy the dioramas on the first floor and this was our first look at the dinosaur exhibits. The insect "zoo" was an unexpected little treat. The building itself is a real treasure. It originally housed the combined art, history and science museum- do not miss the rotunda with the original statue depicting each of these disciplines. I recommend taking a whole day and seeing this and the science museum, as they are within easy walking distance of one another. Parking was simple- you ca park in a paid lot just across the street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the really fun parts of Exposition Park”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

the exhibits are great and the one people talk a lot about are the dinosaurs. Pretty cool stuff but they do have to live with the La Brea Tar Pits pretty close. This museum is well worth the trip and you can make a day of also visiting all the attractions near it. Make sure you take a detour the Rose garden.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SDLightpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Interesting One Time Visit”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Dinosaur Exhibit is interesting, but it did not captivate my 6 year old son enough and he is OBSESSED with Dinosaurs. He spent a few seconds at each exhibit and moved on. We found the African Mammal Hall to be the most interesting life like exhibit! This is not a Museum that I would buy an annual pass to. One or maximum two visits is more than enough.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LetsPack!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing