We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting exhibits”

Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.00*
and up
Admission: Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
Ranked #14 of 554 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover your world past and present. See dinosaurs in our new Dinosaur Hall, including the world’s only Tyrannosaurus rex growth series. Get the behind- the- scenes look at how scientists work on fossils at our Dino Lab. See 240 specimens, including skeletons from mastodons to whales, animal dioramas from North American and Africa, and more.Stroll through our extensive Nature Gardens, and discover true stories about plants and animals in our Nature Lab. See and touch more than 2,000 spectacular specimens displayed in our Gem and Mineral Hall, and enter into the vault to view diamonds, rubies, sapphires, and other exquisite gems. Our Butterfly and Spider Pavilions are open seasonally. Here you can wander through the changing ecosystem with over 30 species of fluttering butterflies all around you, or witness arachnids up close and personal.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibits”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We enjoyed our recent visit to the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles. My favorite exhibit was the mineral and gems. The exhibit was quite extensive and had lots of gold, gems and minerals. The dioramas were quite well done and the bird exhibit was very good as well. Many families with children were at the museum and seemed to be quite engaged. There is a strong emphasis on active participation with lots of hands on activities for children on the Saturday that we visited.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wheatgrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    285
    67
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A small but lovely museum.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Yes their are larger and nicer natural history museums, the Smithsonian for instance, but this one is well maintained and has a nice array of bones and exhibits for a small space. My daughter loves it, it's just the right size so she can see everything and not get bored or tired by the end (she's four). It's my local museum and we go fairly often. If you are in the area check it out- it's worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Mommymiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, uk
Level Contributor
386 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“seen better museums”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

small museum compared to other NHM
mainly dinosaurs on display
however there are some things on display which is pretty impressive like a rare shark type fish...that looks well ugly/ scary!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank babyangel2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Excellent mineral collection”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went to see the mammal collection and was fascinated by the mineral and gem collection, if you like gold then this is the place to go. Found the dioramas very good and very informative. The bird section good but some displays not working properly, excellent for children and a good learning opportunity for the whole family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs and large fish!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a MUST see. YOu have no idea how 'really' large these creatures were until you see these dinasaurs bones in this museum. I didnt even know one had a neck as long as a few football fields. Yep, and they explained how this creature kept it's head up. it is great for kids, school trips but not exactly how I would of spent my weekend after being in this Museum. More for kids than adults, but then again we can all learn something and be impressed by visiting any Museum of course. The line was outside in the blasting sun and it took about 45 minutes to get past the door to even get a ticket. You can't just see all the things in this Museum 'at your own whim', because it is so busy with kids and school outings, you have to wait for an hour or so to get a 'time' by the powers that be, to schedule some of the showings.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing