We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty,ugly,creepy and dissapointing!”

Hollywood Boulevard
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.98*
and up
Grand Tour of Hollywood, Los Angeles and Beaches from Anaheim
Ranked #66 of 554 things to do in Los Angeles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous Hollywood street known for its trendy shopping and the stars of famous actors imprinted on the sidewalk.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dirty,ugly,creepy and dissapointing!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Spent two days in Las Vegas and then drove from LV to LA to spend two days in Hollywood . LV was awesome ,it was clean ,full of attractions, safe and fun. That said I guess we expected too much out of Hollywood . Man ,what an ugly, run down ,dirty, dump . I live in Ohio and it's a 1000 times nicer than Hollywood. Imagine that, Ohio nicer than Hollywood . Something is seriously wrong with that town! Don't want to go back! it was cool to see it ,but what a big let down. I noticed most of the homes had barbed wire around their steel gates.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    443
    493
    202
    114
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I'm really not sure what all the fuss is about. I guess it's just one of those things that you have to tick off your list but it wasn't for me. I can't think of one redeeming thing to say.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank AusTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Hollywood Boulevard is not as good, as big as I thought, but with still it's a pretty busy place, and there are quite a lot of things to see and make it worth a visit, for example, all those people dress up as super heroes and characters from movies are quite fun to look at.
But I'm not sure if I would go again if i visit L.A. again

Unlike some other reviewers, I don't find the place dirty. Or maybe I didn't really look hard enough

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“It is unlikely that you will visit a second time”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am sure most visitors to LA will visit Hollywood Boulevard but unlike the Plaka district of Athens, it is highly unlikely that you would visit a second time! It seemed that most of the out of work 'actors' of this movie city were masquerading as Michael Jackson, Eddie Murphy, Mickey Mouse, Chewbacca, etc. The 'Stars' on the Walk of Fame are interesting and finding your favourite may take a while. The buildings in the street are a tad garish but there is some real history here with both Grauman's and the old Kodak theatres. Crowded - Keep an eye on your possessions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank FarEastTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is definitely not like it is shown in Hollywood movies. Don't even think of going there in the evening... it is really dirty. The Hollywood Walk of Fame turns into Walk of Shame at night, seen people pissing on it. There's a Ripley Museum and Madame Tussauds along side but nothing as compared to the one in London. I visited LA and Vegas on this trip, my savior was Vegas. Don't want to go back to LA ever again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank vkeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Boulevard also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing