We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but Tasty”
Review of Katsuya

Katsuya
Ranked #1,013 of 10,083 Restaurants in Los Angeles
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Expensive, but Tasty”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I enjoyed Katsuya, but I would have enjoyed it tremendously more if it didn't cost me my first born child.

They validate though, which is great!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curious1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Ever!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great place to entertain clients! They were impressed. The food was superb, the service quick and attentive. Possibly the best Sushi we've had anywhere. Selections were plentiful and unique; delicious!! Will definitely return!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great food and nice service. We would come again, a heads up though, they say the Studio City restaurant is the best. We would recommend this one, OK atmosphere or we would have rated it a 5 Star.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Just not that great”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Katsuya's location at LA Live is really convenient. Service was very friendly and good, although our poor waitress had far too many tables for a busy Thursday night. It was incredibly noisy but we knew it would be energetic so we didn't mind too much. Lots of obnoxious and loud people at the bar. Food was good, but I have to laugh at the reviews saying that the sushi is "great" at Katsuya. It is good but I've had far better and more creative sushi at other places in LA, as well as in NY, DC and Atlanta. Perfectly good and basic sushi and rolls, but nothing special and some of the rolls were just too much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lllaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Came with a group of 10 and they handled us with no problem (we had reservations). Wonderful experience, great food and the service was even better. There are several Katsuya but this is the original and by most accounts the best.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsuya also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Katsuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing