We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice breakfast”
Review of Caffe Primo

Caffe Primo
Ranked #1,132 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West Hollywood
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ate here with a small group for breakfast on a Saturday morning in October. We walked the couple of blocks from the Westin. Many items to choose from. Had the special, a large slice of quiche with greens. It was very reasonably priced at only $5! Most of the items seemed to be fairly inexpensive. Had a large nonfat mocha which was delivered to my table in a large mug; great taste. The others in my group enjoyed their food and coffee as well.
The restaurant did not seem very busy; this was around 8:30 am. The gentleman who brought us our food was polite. The woman/cashier who took our orders was sufficient but seemed impatient and was not as friendly. Nice atmosphere; I enjoyed the variety of alternative music that was played!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CD19823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
466 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good food, sloppy service”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Certainly a good place to stop on Sunset Strip, along with other beautiful people ready to spend their dollars on the way or in a break from the near-by gym.  Food is good and portions are generous.  Sunrise juice is great.

We did not like the fact that you have to choose looking at the board and staff presses you to order as well as the fact that food is brought with the wrong attitude, but tips are considered a must.

In one occasion the fire alarm rang for a long time, but nobody seemed to care about it, even if it was disturbing everybody.  Also, a course on espresso preparation is a real must for the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Zia_Angelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Most employees are not friendly!!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The one thing that makes me dislike this place is their lack of customer service skills. The cashiers never says thank you or smile. As they are helping you they are having personal conversations with each other.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Still hoping the service improves”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were excited that this restaurant opened in the downtown area after hearing about the wonderful gelato. On our first visit (for breakfast), we found the restaurant to be a bit filthy (food and paper on the floor and many tables uncleared). We returned, hoping that the staff had a chance to get their acts together to try the gelato. It was quite good! And, the restaurant seemed to be a bit more tidy. Then, we returned again for coffee. My cappucino was good, not great, but my husband's espresso was undrinkable. First, he asked the server if his order was correct as he had ordered a "double" and the drink only filled the tiny cup up a few centimeters. The response was a quick "yes", followed by an eye-roll and an abrupt turn-away. But, perhaps this was fortunate, given the sourness of his drink. One expects espresso to be a bit bitter, but the sour taste left one wondering is the cup had not been cleaned. However, a second "try" produced the same horrible liquid.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmom01958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fresh & Delicious Food”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Caffe Primo is a great restaurant with endless choices. Salads, smoothies, pastas, sandwiches, brown rice bowls, wraps, soups, crepes, desserts, pizzas, gelato etc. etc. I ordered a custom savory crepe: mozzarella, spinach, and asparagus and it was delicious. The ingredients were so fresh and it came with an incredible green salad (with really good dressing). For dessert I ordered their bread pudding: WOW! I live in San Diego but I could imagine driving all the way to LA just for this bread pudding. It's big, warm, moist, and memorable. It is gew-y without being soggy, it has delicious flavorful chocolate chunks mixed in and the bread is superb. I will never forget it. It is a must when you go here.
Note: you order at the counter and take a seat anywhere and your food will be brought to you when it is ready.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Primo also viewed

 
West Hollywood, CA
 

Been to Caffe Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing