We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning View, Yummy food”

West Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #401 of 10,087 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Westside
Cross street: Where Sunset meets the 405
Description: Atop the Hotel Angeleno, penthouse-level WEST Restaurant & Lounge is a favorite among locals. Celebrate the best of California, from the distinctive growing season to the many boutique local wines. WEST Restaurant and Lounge offers delicious Californian cuisine and wines paired with unparalleled views of the LA city skyline. Perched atop the Hotel Angeleno on the 17th floor penthouse level, WEST is the perfect place to relax and dine on your visit to Los Angeles.
Vandenberg AFB
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning View, Yummy food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I love the vegetarian dishes at West. It's one of my favorite things about staying at the Angeleno Hotel. And if the food isn't amazing enough - the view is breathtaking! They do an excellent job at setting the lighting and mood of the restaurant with the time of day (bright and fresh for the morning, a more romantic soft lit feel in the evenings). Staff is very responsive!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoseVandenbergAFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    47
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The food was vary good. The price was good. The view was great you can see the ocean and downtown Beverly Hills. I wish we would of had a chance to eat here for dinner to see the all the city lights from here. The West is on the 18th floor so you get to see a nice view while eating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wesley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponte vedra
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great views, lousy service”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed at the hotel and had breakfast (good but a bit expensive) and dinner (ok food, but the some of the worst service I have ever experienced). As a frequent solo traveler, it is not uncommon in my experience to receive a lower level of attention than a larger table of guests, however, in this case, I continually had to stop the waiter to ask him to take my order, refil water, exchange the incorrect entree and finally to receive a check. I complained to coordinator at door who said "ok, thank you". Maybe for drinks, to avoid traffic or watch sun set - but I wouldnt risk a meal here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flawanderingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Way to Avoid 405 Rush-Hour Traffic”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just off the freeway where 405 crosses Sunset (in the old Holiday Inn tower), West is the restaurant at the top - with a great view, an absurdly cheap rush-hour happy hour, and an easy escape from the freeway. If you want to stay through dinner, be prepared to pay a bit (and be rewarded with excellent fare), but the real attraction is the happy hour.
(CLARIFICATION: Prices are really low for happy hour, pretty high for the restaurant. I've sort of averaged these in rankings below.)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eshelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good food and service.”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The food here was very nice, there were limited choices, but sometimes that is a good thing! The steak and salad were very nice, as were the desserts. The staff were very attentive and kept bringing us bread when we had finished it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank miss_kd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to West Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing