We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicioso!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol y Luna

Sol y Luna
Ranked #313 of 9,847 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This Mexican restaurant was recommended by our desk clerk at the Hotel we stayed at down the street. It was GREAT! We were eating "light" and ordered Fish Tacos. Our waiter, Jose suggested the guacamole in addition to the entree. It was a large bowl made fresh at the table and we thought, "How can ever eat all of it?" Well, once we dug in with the nacho chips we knew we could if we only had enough room in our stomach. We are accustomed to Tex-Mex and my spouse had been reluctant to try a fish taco, but she has been converted after tasting these! Great atmosphere, although the room is a bit dark. Room is very colorful decor --of course!, it's Mexican. What would you expect? and they serve a great margarita. Moderately priced and great service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Mexican we have in San Fernando Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We love the choices, the ambiance, the staff & the food. Salsa is spicy, chips are crisp. Margaritas could be better if made with pure ingredients such as lime juice; not a mix. Can get guacamole prepared at your table.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mabemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“GREAT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

fun fun fun. Guacamole made table side outstanding. Great food large portions. Fish salad was delicious. Tacos were shredded beef. Wonderful salsa. Busy

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lk2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great food and food choice, atmosphere was great as was service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EDK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
416 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 813 helpful votes
“The BEST in the area!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

The best place to eat in Tarzana. The atmosphere is awesome and the food is DELICIOUS! If you ever make it for happy hour, all the dishes are half off and yummy $3 margaritas. get the shrimp quesadilla appetizer! YUM!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol y Luna also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Sol y Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing