We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warner Bros VIP tour & Stars homes tour”
Review of Starline Tours

Starline Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus Tour
Ranked #34 of 249 Tours in Los Angeles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Warner Bros VIP tour & Stars homes tour”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were picked up from our hotel on time and taken to the depot near Chinese Theatre where we were transferred onto the appropriate bus to take us to Warner Bros. When we got on this bus, we waited 20 mins before the driver got on, causing people to become irate and we had no explanation as to the delay. However, the drive out and back was fine, drivers were friendly and jovial. (The tour itself is run by W/bros and was terriffic! Seeing backlots, inside studios, museum of props etc). The Stars homes tour was great, our driver was very informative and included some of the sights of LA along the way, even stopping for a photo opportunity at the Beverly Hills sign! This was enjoyable and a bit of fun, and I think the tour driver makes all the difference. Feels like a must-do when in LA, and the chance to spot a celeb. Overall, an enjoyable few hours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sf6984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    724
    494
    357
    480
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Starline Tours Hop On Hop Off Bus”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This tour is fun and good value ($55 for 48 hours) but the tour itself and the audio accompaniment is long winded and outdated. The quality of the buses is also hit and miss...sometimes we got on buses that we brand new while others were old, flet like they were going to tip over and the audio system in the bus was high pitched static...when this happened we got off at the next stop. When we told the driver he was less that concerned. Also, on one tour the prerecorded audio was not even played...I know the drivers must get sick of hearing it but how about just giving everyone cheap headphones and plugging in to the audio outlets that are already on the buses.

The tours are good and and you do get to see a lot of attractions so while it is not the greatest thing you will ever do it is convenient and worthwhile. Just make sure you give yourself lots of time when you go to Santa Monica and The Grove..both great stops.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Megt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grand LA tour was grand”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Took the grand LA tour for 5-1/2 hours. It was exactly as promised. Rob our tour guide was very informative and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Great way to see LA, Hollywood, etc.

Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureBoundNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best tours I've ever been on!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The #25 tour- L.A. City, Movie Stars' Homes & Beach Tour (Mid-Morning Tour)- was recommended by our hotel concierge, and was so worth the money! My mom, aunt, and I had all been to LA before, but didn't do the touristy things the first go-round. This is the perfect tour to hit most of the touristy high spots, get information from a local, and do it all in one day without renting a car.

I've taken tours with different companies all over the world, and the tour always depends on your driver/guide. Brandon was a hit! He personalized the tour based on questions we asked, what we had interest in, and where we were from. The bus was small, comfortable, and air conditioned, an essential in LA in January with 80-degree weather, and we had people from Canada, America, and Ecuador. Brandon made the tour so much fun for us all.

I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone except families with small children because of the on-and-off nature and the small bus.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tour of Malibu”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Small groups only. Lots to see. The drivers certainly know their 'stuff'." Maybe a little on the pricey side..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pixie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starline Tours also viewed

 

Been to Starline Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing