We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sushi”

Akane Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 85 Restaurants in Los Altos
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Mountain View, California
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We brought our sushi-loving friends to Akane to try one of our local faves, and were not disappointed. Consistently very fresh fish, excellent presentation, and some imagination with the rolls and specials were high points. Service has been spotty in the past, but was very good tonight. We stuck to the sushi menu and special board this visit - hit the spot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
“Extensive Japanese menu”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Akane offers a very large menu with many varieties of appetizers, sushi, sashshimi as well as main courses, noodle soups. It is one of the most extensive Japanese menus that I have ever seen. All the food is very, very fresh and well seasoned.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSD608638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Just OK, nothing extraordinary”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Ample selection with nice atmosphere In an upscale plaza. It's priced right for the area with lots of restaurants to compete with. The Los Altos Grill, around the corner, was packed with an hour wait list so we came here instead. No wait here, so we were promptly seated. The service lagged a bit although there seemed to be plenty of help incl three sushi chefs and the restaurant was only about two thirds full. Had a selection of appetizers topped with the chirashi sushi bowl. It is one of my favs, displaying the chef's selection of raw fish and condiment on sushi rice. It was very ordinary and unmemorable. Nice menu and selection, they need to execute better. They could do so much better with a little more attention to detail, there's a big pool of customers outside the front door that they could bring in with better food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very fresh and tasty”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Went to Akane based on a friends suggestion. We tried to call ahead to make reservations but after a few tries and no answers we decided to just show up and hope for the best. When we arrived we stood at the front desk for about 5 minutes waiting for help. No one was at the front desk and waitresses just walked by. It was a bit odd.

The decor in the restaurant is a bit cafe style, no real Japanese ambiance. Not off putting just stark.

Getting a table wasn't a problem once the hostess returned and our waitress was friendly, helpful, and attentive. We tried a variety of sushi rolls and all were very well prepared. The fish was VERY fresh and full of flavor. Moreover the pricing was quite reasonable. There are other Japanese restaurants around the area but for the quality and the value Akane is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank borad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Best sushi for your money in Bay Area”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Both real authentic sushi and fusion sushi roll are available.
For best sushi experience, you want to select sushi bar and ask omakase selection to chef.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldnavigation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akane Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akane Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing