We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hated it 2 years ago, much better now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Los Altos
Certificate of Excellence
reno,nv
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“hated it 2 years ago, much better now”
Reviewed May 29, 2007

I stayed here a couple of years ago...had to change rooms 3 times in one night....management unresponsive. poor planning, countless things wrong.

I just stayed there again and found out the secrets to a better stay.

one...get the "executive" rooms....stay on the side of the hotel where room 109 is. for some reason this is the better side of the hotel.

room had a nice bed, nice pull out sofa, nice desk chair, mediocre sitting chair. (PLEASE GET A LA-Z-Boy recliner) mediocre tv set and choice of channels. ATTENTION management....for a silicon valley hotel get MORE cable channels (like TCM please) and a flat screen tv...even if not LCD or plasma)

staff was much better than last time. amici's east coast pizza is great for delivery....one mile south of hotel on el camino is a very nice "whole foods market"

nice little "pantry" with salads and sandwiches, yogurt, wine, etc.

breakfast available, afternoon bar.


I would stay here again, but be very careful about which side of the hotel you stay on. the other side seems to have noise and mechanical issues. don['t know why but I think the side I just stayed in was better built than the other side.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jondc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    122
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
70
30
15
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We checked on 03/17 for one night. The reason we chose this hotel was because I wanted to use up some Marriot cheques that I received from my employer and we used to live in Palo Alto and were familiar with the area. We checked into room 246...one king bed that overlooked the El Camino. The room was very clean and the street traffic was not a bother. Though I had no problem falling asleep on the bed...I woke up with a slightly sore back because it was somewhat firm. My wife loved the hot water pressure in the shower and because of that, we would stay here again. Parking is secure and free underneath the hotel...just don't be there during an earthquake.

During checkout we did notice one customer who had a room on the 3rd floor complaining about guests in the room next to theirs. They was a domestic argument going on that was keeping them up during the night. After reading some other reviews about the 3rd floor, we will request rooms on either the 1st or 2nd floor only :-)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no complaints at this time...
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank melargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

Not a very nice property. Has everything you need but like so many places in the area, it's a glorified (barely) motel. More expensive than most Courtyard Marriotts, again because of the location. If you absolutely have to be near Palo Alto and you can't swing a nicer place (like the Four Seasons), stay at the Creekside Inn, another glorified motel with a tad more charm. This property does have self parking with keycard which is quite convenient.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Sworn2Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

I stayed here for 4 nights while on business. The hotel interior is very similar to the Courtyard I stayed in in Ottawa, Canada. In fact they must have used the same decorators as carpets and wallpaper seemed exactly the same though this may be done to appeal to more seasoned road warriors. I just had breakfast there one morning and it was fine. Free in room high speed and wifi in the common areas is very useful. Didn't get a chance to use the fitness centre (which seemed well equipped) or the pool. There was plenty of space in the underground carpark while I stayed there. There are a few reasonable places to eat nearby and a late night pharmacy/supermarket a few minutes walk away. It's position on El Camino is very close to both 101 and Palo Alto downtown and the Stanford Shopping Centre.

  • Liked — You know what to expect from a Courtyard
  • Disliked — Uninspiring decor
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gallaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 6, 2006

Overall this hotel turned out to be fine, with a comfortable bed, good exercise room, complimentary newspapers and free parking. However, I was first placed in room #315, which was obviously next door to or under some sort of generator or compressor. There was an ongoing electrical hum, and every once in a while it would switch fully on for a few minutes--resulting in loud noise and substantial vibration of the room. If you want 'magic fingers' for your entire hotel room, this is the place for you! But otherwise it is really unacceptable that they even make this room available. I noticed from another comment that they found the same thing to be true in another room--so it is clearly something to beware of with this hotel.
When I first experienced the noise and shaking, I called the front desk and was assured the room was not near any sort of compressor or generator. But after the second time experiencing this, I had no doubt what was going on and the hotel did then honor my request for a different room--which was as quiet as the first one was noisy.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 19, 2006

Great Service, Great Rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great fitness center, nice little store with fresh foods. Wired an Wireless Internet. I am a frequent traveler to the Bay Area, and find it ti be the best bang for the buck.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, SC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2005

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel in the past few months. It was nice. The bedding is new and the hotel was quite. The rooms were clean and nice. Not much bad to say about this hotel. Also, the parking is FREE!

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonesytv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Altos
0.2 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
1.3 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos

Property: Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos
Address: 4320 El Camino Real, Los Altos, CA 94022-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Altos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Los Altos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated among landscaped gardens, this hotel features an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and a gym all within 3 miles from Stanford University Campus. All rooms have work desks and free Wi-Fi. The Courtyard Palo Alto’s units are all air-conditioned and fitted with a coffeemaker. Inquire about our newly updates suites today. Each room has a sofa bed and a 43” flat-screen TV with digital channels and an iPod docking station. The hotel’s lobby offers computers and printers available for guests’ use. It also offers free coffee and newspapers. Conference and meeting space is also available with an option to have any event catered to your preference. At The Bistro, our full service restaurant, guests can order a classic breakfast in the morning, or casual American cuisine for lunch or dinner. You may also enjoy a refreshing glass of wine or cocktail at our bar and lounge after a long day of work. Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos is 3 miles from Stanford University and 12 miles from San Jose Airport. Free on-site public parking is available. This property also has one of the top-rated locations in Palo Alto! Here at the Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos guest satisfaction is our number one priority. Please let us know if we may be of any assistance, and we hope to see you very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos Hotel Los Altos
Courtyard Los Altos
Los Altos Courtyard
Los Altos Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing