We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, economical business hotel, but somewhat noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Los Altos
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Decent, economical business hotel, but somewhat noisy”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My colleague selected this hotel for a business trip as being a little cheaper than the normal business hotels we stay in. Hotel had ample parking, a nice lobby with popcorn and donut holes available free in the afternoon/ evening, and a big breakfast area with omelets cooked to order as well as all the standard cereal and fruit fare for mornings. I flew in on an early flight from the East Coast but my business meeting for that day was cancelled so I asked if I could get an early check-in, planning to get some work done in my room (using the free wi-fi). After some hassling around, the desk staff found an available room for me way at the end of a corridor, which they described as "very nice", but unfortunately it was right next to the pool. By that I mean the pool was floor level with my window and there were families with kids running around out there screaming and splashing just a few feet from my room, with all the noise coming right through the window proximious to the work desk. I didn't mind having to close the drapes so as not to see all this directly out my window a few feet away, but I did mind the noise. I considered asking them to move me but given that I would be spending the next few days mostly out of the room, decided to just take a nap instead (fortunately, I can sleep through loud noise especially when jet lagged or that would have been a problem too). I don't know how the desk clerk could think a room next to a noisy pool would be "very nice" for a business traveler and I got the impression they just stuck me where they had an empty space. The furnishings in the room were functional, but seemed to go back to the Nixon era as far as datedness.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or food service, except for breakfast. The breakfast was very good but a little weird in that it is not a fixed price and you have to wait to get the check at the end of your meal, so I never knew how much breakfast would cost (a different and odd amount each day) AND I had to wait around for a check at the end when I was needing to dash off to a business meeting. They need a better "charge to room" arrangement for the breakfasts. The free wi-fi is functional but very slow at times, which is not what I expected from a place in Palo Alto where everybody is glued to their computers.

Aside from all that, my room was reasonably clean and had all the amenities I expect such as ironing board, etc. The bed was comfortable and the lobby was nice, although in the evening the huge unused dark breakfast area seemed weird. No lunch or dinner service but there is a little "convenience store" in the lobby where you can buy things like sandwiches as well as candy and sundries. The breakfast omelets were especially good, compliments to the chef. Parking was ample and secure and there is a fitness center as well as a pool. Overall, I might or might not stay here again, as the value for money paid is good but I would prefer a place with more food service, faster Internet and less kiddie noise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnydots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    123
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
70
30
15
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Well appointed, comfortable, accommodating. Close to the center of Los Altos, Palo Alto and Mountain View. (located where all three upscale communities converge on the El Camino strip mall area).

We had a king room with a sofa. The sliding door opened to a narrow balcony (not big enough to put a chair on really) overlooking the courtyard/pool. The updated, well kept room was a bit small, but well appointed and fine for a couple. Breakfast was not included with our rate ($109), but there was always complimentary coffee/tea/lemonade, donuts and popcorn available in the lobby. Wifi connection was good and complimentary.

The desk staff in the bright, spacious lobby is professional and accommodating. They switched our room when we weren't happy with the location of the assigned one, and also extended our check out time when we asked, without a fuss. They smiled at guests in the lobby and looked attentive and ready to help. The lounge and dinning area are inviting with plenty of comfortable seating and tables. There's a large computer area with Macs and Pcs . The courtyard is very pleasant, again with plenty of seating, both poolside and away from the pool area. This hotel would be comfortable for business travelers as well as families or leisure travelers. Didn't use the exercise room, but the equipment looked current and well kept. There's also a mini kiosk at reception with snacks and sundries. An

The hotel is walking distance to Whole Foods and restaurants (strip mall variety) among other things. There is a gated underground parking garage with complimentary parking.

Really, everything was very clean and well managed.
They only things I could pick on would be the somewhat noisy AC (typical in almost every hotel) and the crazy carpet design in the stuffy hallways (the most oddly aggressive hallway carpeting design I've ever seen!). That and the Marriott style of using flat sheets instead of duvet covers with the bedding (I always wake up tangled with an exposed duvet).

For the money, one of the better bets on the El Camino Real in that area. We'll be back.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pickyplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I was in group with 2 adults and 2 children. We were initially concerned about the size of the room but the refrigerator and microwave in addition to the amount of room we had was more than adequate. We were not in the room much since we spent most of our time touring the countryside and San Francisco but while we were there, felt very comfortable. We only used the pool and hot tub once but it was very clean and warm and the children loved it. We were just too busy to stay at the hotel for long periods of time! The small bar was a nice treat in the evening (quiet, professional crowd) although we didn't eat at the restaurant. The underground parking was very nice, always had a spot next to the entrance. I loved having the computers/interent available downstairs. Convenient to Stanford, downtown Palo Alto, Hwy 280 and the airport (only a 20 minute drive anywhere it seemed). Lots of restaurants and Starbucks a few blocks away including several Whole Foods and other grocers. Oh, and the maid service was really nice. Every night we were welcomed "home" by a very neat and tidy room (sometimes our clothes were folded on the bed and the stuffed animals tucked in, ready for the kids). Thanks Marriott!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

A wonderfully clean and convenient hotel. I was visiting a family member at Stanford Hospital, and found this at the last minute one night. Easy 12 min. drive door to door from Courtyard to Hospital parking lot. Rooms are simple and very clean, w/ crisp white sheets and clean white duvet.Mattress very supportive, 4 pillows each bed. Small fridge under TV is a big bonus. The bathroom was spotless and large and lovely. Highly recommend, and price for 2Q room was excellent for the area:$109. Stay here and drive 5 extra minutes S on El Camino Real, rather than spend 3 times as much at hotels closer to downtown Palo Alto, like the Westin or Sheraton.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BerkeleyBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This hotel is a typical Marriott Courtyard. It does not have room service or a restaurant but there are many in the area close by. It does serve a full breakfast so there is a chef and a kitchen for that. The food that they did serve was very good. We stayed in a suite and had a large living room and separate bedroom. Both rooms had flat screen televisions and adequate storage for clothing. I accompanied my husband and he was doing business in the area which is why we chose this hotel. We used to live in Los Altos so the location was very good for me. The decor is very basic but clean. They did laundry in a timely manner. The staff was extremely friendly which made for a nice atmosphere. The parking was underground and secure. I felt safe returning there in the evenings when alone without my husband. The view we had was of the courtyard and the pool. We did not use the gym. My friends wondered what we were doing there but it really was fine.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Openstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

I recently stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel was clean. Parking is underneath in a garage. Hotel lobby is nice with a tiny bar. There is no restaurant for dinner - just for breakfast. Room was ok but working at the desk was a little tight. Wireless internet was terrible. Dropped my connection contstantly. I used the wired connection, but that was painfully slow. Staff wasn't too knowledgable of local restaurants.

Overall, it was a pretty good place to stay but could be improved.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notredamemom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I traveled to Palo Alto with husband and kids to watch the Stanford-ND game. The only good news out of that trip (as our ND lost) was the hotel! This hotel caters to the guests by providing some very nice touches -- including free coffee and treats in the lobby (24/7) a tiny but quaint bar to unwind from 5-10pm (the bartender stayed open a half hour later for us, and the manager even comped a round of drinks for everyone at the bar) Rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet -- and I am very picky about cleanliness. Only 3 miles (straight down the main road) to Stanford. If visiting Stanford, stay here!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notredamemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Altos
0.2 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
1.3 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos

Property: Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos
Address: 4320 El Camino Real, Los Altos, CA 94022-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Altos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Los Altos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated among landscaped gardens, this hotel features an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and a gym all within 3 miles from Stanford University Campus. All rooms have work desks and free Wi-Fi. The Courtyard Palo Alto’s units are all air-conditioned and fitted with a coffeemaker. Inquire about our newly updates suites today. Each room has a sofa bed and a 43” flat-screen TV with digital channels and an iPod docking station. The hotel’s lobby offers computers and printers available for guests’ use. It also offers free coffee and newspapers. Conference and meeting space is also available with an option to have any event catered to your preference. At The Bistro, our full service restaurant, guests can order a classic breakfast in the morning, or casual American cuisine for lunch or dinner. You may also enjoy a refreshing glass of wine or cocktail at our bar and lounge after a long day of work. Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos is 3 miles from Stanford University and 12 miles from San Jose Airport. Free on-site public parking is available. This property also has one of the top-rated locations in Palo Alto! Here at the Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos guest satisfaction is our number one priority. Please let us know if we may be of any assistance, and we hope to see you very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos Hotel Los Altos
Courtyard Los Altos
Los Altos Courtyard
Los Altos Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing