We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place for Foodies”
Review of Aldo

Aldo
Ranked #12 of 86 Restaurants in Los Altos
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Place for Foodies”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I recently attended a business dinner at Aldo and was thrilled with the quality of the food. In addition to the food, the service was attentive and responsive. The only caution would be the noise level when the restaurant is full. If you need to be able to have a quiet conversation you might to ask for a table upstairs. The restaurant is also located in the charming downtown area of Los Altos so after a delicious meal it was nice to be able to walk and browse the charming shop windows.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
94022
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Lousy service - will not go back”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We came here couple times. The food is average but at least we don't need to cook. LOL.

However, the service is really not at a level that it should be. The waiter was rude and very very slow. Seems like they don't care for the business and they would rather just talk to themselves.

Probably won't go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank my8286432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Molto Buono!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visited Aldo on a Thursday night. Great ambiance, small, quaint and not to noisy or crowded. I had the lamb shank which was excellent, obviously their chef pays close attention to the selection as lamb can be grissly/fatty. We had appetizers of grilled asparagus and brushetta which were both delicious, prepared perfectly. Service was a bit difficult to pin down, our waiter seemed a bit rushed and impatient. In any event the dinner was a wonderful experience, we will return to Aldo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugemaniac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day at Aldos”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent Valentine's Day at Aldos.

Highly recommend the grilled Endive salad as an appetizer. Perfect to split between two people.

The duck in raspberry sauce on a bed of rosotti was very good except the portion was 2x what I needed. Hey, leftovers!

Angel hair with tomatoes and crab was very good as well. Angel hair was cooked al dente and the right temperature.

Server was wonderful -- young, enthusiastic and attentive.

Kudos for their water policy -- smaller glasses, ask if you want more water rather than wasting it. The card about water conservation was great. If only the chain restaurants could be as smart.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

You can have small plates to share or regular dinner service, or any combination. Our party tried the caprese and the grilled endive as a first course, followed by dinner plates. My gnocci was excellent, and we all licked our plates clean (figuratively). We called ahead and reserved an outside table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EBinLACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldo also viewed

 
Los Altos, CA
 

Been to Aldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing