We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Attentive Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Los Altos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Like all Marriott owned or managed properties, this Residence Inn scores high on my checklist for "return visits." Yes, it is undergoing upgrading (during business hours) which will be beneficial for the long term. "Management Reception" from 6-9 p.m. is included---light meal including mid-quality wine which staff refills at your table without asking. Breakfast buffet is not cooked to order but is superior to other chains---real scrambled eggs, lots of freshly prepared bacon, and a genuinely interesting mix of ground sausage + potatoes + red peppers + seasoning. On checking out, I was impressed that the manager inquired about what we specifically liked about the breakfast buffet. How many times does anybody actually ask what a customer liked? Location is great---El Camino Real close to San Antonio Road. Note that Google Map instructions are one block wrong.

Room Tip: While the property is undergoing rehab, you might want to ask for a room where nobody will be above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambriariter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 180 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

That was the reaction of my 6 year-old when we arrived at the Residence Inn and it about summed up our stay. The garage and elevator were smelly and unclean so we had a terrible first impression. In April, the hotel was undergoing a lot of construction so our ground floor room seemed especially awful. In the end, the room itself, a small suite, was a good size and clean so we all made our peace with it. We were there only for proximity to an event. I am sure there are better options at this price point.

Room Tip: Do not book a room on the ground floor. You are facing the parking lot and it feels unsafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not make a good impression on you, especially with your 6 year old child. I have addressed the issue with our staff so we can monitor our public areas more closely, especially during the renovation process. There's a lot of traffic and moving parts, so we need to keep up with the cleaning as well. I hope that you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again so we can show you our newly renovated rooms.

Best regards,

Evelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We picked the Residence Inn for its location, close to a family gathering we were attending.

It was a very pleasant surprise. The recently decorated room is much larger than most comparably priced hotels and includes a kitchen with microwave, full-size refrigerator, and even a dishwasher.

Check-in was quick and easy.

Basic wireless or wired internet is free. Marriott gold members get a free upgrade to higher speed access. Otherwise, the upgrade is $5.95 daily, if I'm not mistaken.

We worried about noise, since the hotel is on busy El Camino Real. But it is tucked behind another building, which seems to block virtually all road noise. Our first floor room was quiet! There's ample parking at ground level, and in an underground garage with keyed security access at night.

The location is great. There's a CVS store and a Sprouts supermarket across the street, and lots of restaurants nearby. There are also several other hotels along the same stretch of El Camino, including a Courtyard by Marriott, a Crown Plaza, and a Hilton Garden Inn under construction.

It's very near Palo Alto and Stanford University.

The free breakfast includes both hot and cold items, fruit, eggs, juice, cereal, breads, etc. Very well done, with lots of seating. What's not to like here?

There is a minimal room service menu for lunch and dinner, although we were busy and didn't try it out.

We've been telling family and friends about our great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a very convenient location in Los Altos but is set back from the road so it is rather quiet. They have a great little pool area and barbecue area as well. What makes this place great though is the staff. I've never had a request turned down and they go out of there way to accomodate you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jskyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have stayed at the Residence Inn many times as my company is in Palo Alto and I go there once a month. Generally a very reliable hotel with friendly staff, good beds, and comfortable rooms. Consistency is good, and the evening "Happy Hour" with some basic food is appreciated.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lobby side to make it easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed there for a month. It's nice long stay hotel with attractive price. staff is helpful and you get breakfast as well as dinner (evening snacks with wine/beer, if you are in a group then it makes your evening lovely).. Ample parking space is available and it has a nice swimming pool. rooms in which i stayed was large with a bedroom and living area and modular kitchen. I'd surely recommend this hotel if you are staying for longer period. My office was 10 min drive so it was comfortable location for me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaveenSiLoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a long stay. My room was spacious and confortable, with a small kitchen.
The position is very good because, there are many restaurants around and also few supermarkets like Safeway or Walmart, and organic food shops, like Whole Foods Market, Sprouts or Trader Joe's.
The wi-fi in the room is free and also the in-site parking.
The breakfast was quite various and of good quality.
The price is pretty high but normal for the Silicon Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Federica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Altos
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View
1.5 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos

Address: 4460 El Camino Real, Los Altos, CA 94022-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Altos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Los Altos
Price Range: $124 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos Hotel Los Altos
Residence Inn Los Altos
Los Altos Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing