We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Value Choice in Palo Alto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Los Altos
Certificate of Excellence
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value Choice in Palo Alto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Residence Inn is conveniently located in the midst of Silicon Valley, The staff if well-trained and eager to help. A complete morning breakfast, a soon to be remodeled fitness center, pool and area to grill make this a well-rounded choice
Make your reservations early because it fills up..

Room Tip: Main building is convenient for breakfast...second building convenient for upgroudn parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDoorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    71
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
18
11
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for four nights to attend the Stanford reunion. Our favorite things were: great breakfast choices, spacious rooms, free wireless throughout the hotel, convenient drive to both Palo Alto and San Jose, covered parking, and pleasant decor. (there is even a gas grill if you want to cook outside) The first room we checked into had a leak in the shower (coming from the overhead room), so they switched us another room the first day and went out of their way to check the quality of our new location, leaving us a note and mini bottle of wine. We would stay here again! The manager shared with us that the property is getting a full renovation sometime in 2013, so expect future upgrades.

Usually this chain is a "category 3" hotel in the Marriott rewards system - this location is "category 5" because of its desirable site, which costs more points to redeem for a night.

Room Tip: The third (top) floor rooms had small balconies, just enough to step onto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAHWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

plenty of good reviews on the site, but skip room 245 as the room had a strong musty smell and the bed and fold out sofa were difficult to sleep on. Expected more from Marriott. breakfast was ok and check in was quick however

Room Tip: Skip room 245
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveinsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here while attending the Jason Aldean concert at Shoreline. The hotel is great other than it is missing the Marriott bedding that I have learned to look forward to in Marriott hotels. The bed was very firm. If staying here for a concert at Shoreline and are planning on taking a cab I would recommend having the front desk call a cab about two hours prior to the concert as the cab companies get pretty backed up. As for the hotel the room was great, the breakfast was awesome, the staff was very helpful. Once they upgrade the bedding (end of the year) this will be a great hotel.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pismobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a social worker at the nearby children's hospital as an alternative to the Ronald McDonald House. Medical reasons keep us in the area for several months, and I have had a room here for about 6 weeks now. I immediately liked this hotel because I was greeted by friendly and helpful staff, and I was even shown an empty room to see if it would suit my needs.
There are a ton of conveniences to point out:
*The hotel has hot free breakfast every morning.
*They offer "social hour" meals from Monday-Thursday with wine and beer included (almost unheard of).
* The hotel is close to everything in the valley.
*The kitchenette is fully equipped with dinnerware, utensils, and even a dishwasher. The fridge has an ice-maker, so you don't need to venture outside of your room for ice. The staff even replenish the paper towels, the dish-washing detergent (for the dishwasher!), and I love that they even have little recycle bins under the sink. The housekeepers will even put your dishes in the dishwasher and run it for you.
* The buildings are secure and the area is safe.
* The work out room and pool are also great.
*There is a cute little store in the lobby where you can purchase snacks, drinks and ice cream. You can charge it to your room.
* The thing I thought was the most convenient is that the hotel offers a shopping service FOR FREE! You write items that you need on your shopping list, drop it off at the desk, and the items will be delivered and charged to your room. What a great service!
*Lastly, I would like to acknowledge that the caring staff have gone out of their way to make sure my family is taken care of while staying with them. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't have a lot of time to think about all of the little stuff. Here, I can concentrate on the big stuff more easily.

Room Tip: Our room is on the third floor and we haven't had any problems with noise or other annoyances. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
453 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Large room with great kitchenette and work area (see photos). Pros: helpful staff, free breakfast with standard selection, free happy hour food (eg, chicken wings), free parking (including in underground garage), free internet, outdoor pool, great location close to lots of restaurants. Cons: pool was small. Overall, great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movieglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Booked three nights in June. The room and bathroom were clean, linens fresh , had daily service and breakfast was adequate. Parking was free and they actually had an underground garage. The terrible issue was being double charged for my already prepaid booking. The staff checking people out should be competent enough to check the records. After having to call five times about the refund, the three nights were refunded but there was a $40 service charge that they could not explain and did not refund. I just totally gave up after a week of trying and not getting a call back. I like the Marriott hotel setup and attention to comfort, but this is my third time dealing with staff issues (in Costa Rica and New York city). For the price, there are other competitive hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank racoontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Altos
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.6 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos

Property: Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos
Address: 4460 El Camino Real, Los Altos, CA 94022-1003
Location: United States > California > Los Altos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Los Altos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos Hotel Los Altos
Residence Inn Los Altos
Los Altos Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing