We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if with good friends, give it a try” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alamo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alamo Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Alamos
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“if with good friends, give it a try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

It was a motorcycle trip with three of us looking for a place in Solvang. No places available and ended up at the Alamo Motel instead. Upon driving up, we were a bit surprised, and the women were shocked. We met with Mr. Patel who I think is the proprieter, and is exceptionally kind. I think he made the trip for us. He even gave us a bottle of wine and asked us over for dinner! Very nice man. If you go, there is a pizza place of the street, with excellent pizza, and a good looking girl with an attitude and a half. But the pizza's good!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twoweeled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
17
32
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Motel has been brought back to “like” new by new owner Dan Thompson. This is a slice of Americana history that can't be missed. One of the first motels in America the property is built in a u shape. The original motel had a one car garage next to each guest room. These “Motel's” were designed to house the guest & their car. At some point it became obvious that the guests car didn't need to be garaged & the garages were converted to rooms. All except one which Is still in it's original state for all to see. Everything in our room was clean, fresh & operational. The best part was how accessible, friendly & knowledgeable Dan was. The location was great, walking distance to the Union Hotel where we enjoyed a great evening in the “Saloon”. The service was great & we played shuffle board & shot pool.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cptjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

A friend booked this hotel because it was inexpensive. However, upon entering the motel, we saw immediately, how disguusting this place is. I would have to assume that it's probably used as a "daytime" hotel, for nefarious activities. The room stunk with a chemical (not a cleaning chemical) smell, the carpet was damp and mildewed, the "kitchenette" was a wreck with a non-working stove and a rotted refrigerator that was filled with mold. There were loose wires hanging, a non-working phone, broken furniture and to top things off, when we opened the medicine cabinet, we found no backing. You could look into the adjoining room. Of course, there was nothing to keep an intruder from climbing through.

The place was extremely dangerous, dirty and what's worse, the owners could care less. The woman we spoke with pretended not to speak English and would not refund our money. DON'T STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PLRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Alamos hotels

ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

The detail's said their was access to kitchen witch there was a door that was locked, the room smelled like body fluid's, the full size fridge which was not plugged in was full of mold and mildue, had to go on safari to find AC under the dresser. This room is not ideal for handicap person's at all. The bathroom was not built to accomidate different sized people, the toilet is crammed between the bathroom/shower wall 3 ft wide maybe. If you absolutely have limited fund's and no other place to lay your head then YES i recomend this place because more than likely they'll always have room's. Head's up bring your own cleaning supplies and bedding.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bignasty7307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

I ignored the bad reviews and stayed here because it is cheap. Be warned! You should only stay here if you absolutely cannot afford anything better.

I booked two rooms on Expedia, each with a queen size bed because there were four of us. When we arrived, the man at the desk tried to convince all of us to stay in one room instead for the same price. This room was unacceptable for four adults and definitely not worth $110. It had a king size bed and two queen sized beds behind another door. There was no air conditioning and it was very stuffy, warm, shabby, and dirty. It was very difficult to understand why he didn't want to give us the two rooms that we had booked. So be warned that if you book a particular type of room, it may not be available when you get there.

I usually have quite low standards, and I have stayed in a lot of cheap hotels in the past, but this place was the worst I have ever seen! For example: it was very difficult to get the doors open because they were either jammed or had bad locks, the curtain rail in our room fell off the wall completely, the walls were full of holes and patched badly and stained, the curtains were stained and moth-eaten, the bedside lamp didn't work, the lampshade was very dirty, the bathroom was tiny, the toilet was not properly attached to the wall, there was dirt in all the corners, there were no towels provided, there was mold on the ceiling, there was no air conditioning, etc etc. Also the breakfast was a joke. The coffee tasted horrible and the only food available were some packaged cookies and small apples. Fortunately, there is a grocery store next door to the hotel where you can buy some better food.

Another warning is that if you book this hotel on Expedia, you will have to pay for your room in full upon arrival. Expedia only take your credit card details in order to make the reservation, they do not actually charge you in advance when you book. I wish I had known this before arrival, because it would have saved a lot of confusion.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llp12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

This place is VERY old, the office stank to high heaven and the room was worse. They cleaned our room when we arrived while we WAITED even though we had a reservation. We slept with our clothes on, afraid of what critters were in the bed. We went to a nearby town to eat (Los Alamos was deserted) and i worried the entire time becuase there was a screw in front window to prevent you from locking the window! Ammenities listed online are a joke. Stay away from here!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turtlegirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

After reading the two latest reviews I thought this would be a good place to stay on our way to Santa Barbara. Unfortunately the review from 2006 was more accurate. There are NO air conditioned units so when it gets really hot in the day the rooms are not aired and things get stinky. It's a very old motel that had some cheap refurbishing, I think the TVs are from the 70s or 80s. There was a light in the bathroom that was turned on by screwing in the lightbulb. I think sometimes some rooms don't get used for awhile like the one we had so it was dusty, smelly, and some dead insects lying around. At least the sheets and towels were cleaner, they put extra linens on the bed to hide the mattress stains. If you don't have to stay here then don't.

  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Augie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Alamos
12.9 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
14.6 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
10.1 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
10.5 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#5 of 8 in Buellton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel

Property: Alamo Motel
Address: 425 Bell Street, Los Alamos, CA
Location: United States > California > Los Alamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Alamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, newly renovated motel in the heart of Los Alamos, located between San Francisco & Los Angeles. Enjoy fabulous local restaurants, a variety of tasting rooms, and impressive antique shops. Great hiking, a community fire pit, and all just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Alamo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Los Alamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing