We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pack a lunch, but take a look before you go!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Quackenbush - CLOSED

Cafe Quackenbush
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Valley Village
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pack a lunch, but take a look before you go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

They pack lovely sandwiches if you are out and about driving and tasting - - and the artwork here was great. Vibrant oils and acrylics - - fun relics. We enjoyed meeting "John" - one of the owners, and our eyes were happy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Artzgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Amazing food, creative touches on some basics, then some that are just out of this world! Pulled pork is wonderful, best blue burger I have ever had. The innovative specials never fail to impress, and have always had good service! A MUST when in Los Alamos or passing thru the area!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast in an Art Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

About 15 years ago my husband and I stumbled on to the Quackenbush Cafe because the local restaurant that we normally had breakfast had closed its doors. At this time it was just a coffee shop ajoining an art gallery. There were only pastries and coffee. When we stated that we wanted more of a breakfast, the chef said he could make us a breakfast sandwich. That items was the first addition to menu that now includes many selections for breakfast and lunch.

The breakfast sandwich has an egg, bacon, avocado, grilled onions, lettuce and tomatoes served on toasted sour dough bread. It is large enough to serve two and, oh, so good.

Now there is a small dining room right in the gallery. Cafe Quackenbush is a delightful place for breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

They have delicious food and a great atmosphere. The sandwiches are really good and large.
My daughter took me here for lunch when I was visiting her and the food and service were great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcialu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great road trip stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped during long drive home. Awesome pulled pork and cole slaw sandwich with apple cider vinegar BBQ sauce. 4 out of 5 is as high as I go -- unless it's El Bulli. Worth getting off 101 for a visit.

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Quackenbush also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing