We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite detour on 101”
Review of Cafe Quackenbush - CLOSED

Cafe Quackenbush
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Our favorite detour on 101”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is a real find. Where else can you dine surrounded by artwork, or enjoy an outdoor patio looking out on a small town with historic buildings? And it has the best giant roasted pepper salad served with tapenade and their home made balsamic dressing. On this visit, they had just run out of their excellent salmon which the people at the next table raved about, and we have enjoyed on our last visit. We make a point of stopping here on our jaunts on Highway 101 for the friendly service, the pleasant setting, the delicious bakery items, nice wine and beer selection, and fresh brewed iced tea.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkayrenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Must-Stop Cafe”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I just had a piece of the most delicious Carrot Cake I've ever tasted, brought home in a small take-out box after a lunch at this amazing little cafe/art gallery in tiny Los Alamos (look for the painted wooden duck over the cafe door, her name is probably Jemima, don't you think?) I reviewed this MUST-STOP off of US 101 between Buellton and Santa Maria back in 2009, and I just have to say it is still the best Roadside food in Southern CA. Los Alamos is a one-street village just west of the Santa Ynez Valley and is worth a stop anyway for its art galleries and old-West atmosphere. Every lunch I've ever had in this place has been outstanding. Their Roast Beef and Bleu Sandwich on sourdough is a beef-eater's dream; the "Schnitzel on Foccacia" (a chop-sized slab of lightly breaded and juicy boneless pork loin ) is dressed with mixed baby greens, sliced red onion and dill pickles and a spicy mayonnaise. But the Carrot Cake! If like me you can't find room to wolf it down on the spot, it's worth taking home for later (not much later, as it's too wonderful). It is superbly moist, with a fresh-crumbed texture -- made with real shredded carrot and superb spicing, all gilded over lavishly with a smooth, sweet, rich cream cheese frosting… well, words fail me, so I MUST STOP now.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrannieFrannie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City CA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“what a find on a detour”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stumbled upon this place, with help from the GPS, as we were looking to get a bite to eat while on a road trip up the coast of California. What a find!! The cafe is connected to an art gallery and we sat there among various art and craft pieces. Initially, we had just intended to get something light, but when we looked at the menu and were told of the special, we had to have a meal. I had the fried green tomato BLT and that was absolutely heavenly. The tomatoes actually outshined the bacon. The service was wonderful. We plan to make this place a stop whenever we are on a coast roadtrip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mxm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Delicious!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I drove to Los Alamos wanting to have lunch at Full of Life Flat Bread, but it was closed for lunch. Disappointed, we walked down the street and went into Cafe Quackenbush. Wow, what a wonderful surprise we had. Our meal was delicious, the service personal and friendly, and we loved the art shop next door. Kuddos to the chef and staff on a fantastic place. Loved that everything was local and/or organic, super fresh and healthy--ie, the food was the star not butter or salt or other distractions. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“excellent every time...best cookies ever baked filled peanut butter”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

you won't be sorry having the specials and wander in the alley attached

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank joaneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Quackenbush also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing