We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for the hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Skyview Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Alamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Skyview Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Los Alamos B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thank you for the hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stopped in here last minute as part of our road trip from LA to San Fran, room was clean and spacious, staff warm and welcoming. Breakfast the next morning was great, big selection of toasts, waffles, fresh fruits etc. the place is kind of in the middle of nowhere but a great overnight stop off! Would recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraggle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
17
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

While this motel is definitely not for everyone, we stay here from time to time. It has a quirky country theme to it, with country images painted on some of the furniture in the room and clouds on the ceiling. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The motel has the original club house where they host the continental breakfast. There is also a big screen TV, couches, a pool table, etc. While we have never swam in the pool, there always seems to be someone in it - so it must be in good shape.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander_Designs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a cool place. Stayed here for a long weekend while cycling throughout the area.

Comfortable rooms. Excellent location for cycling. Beautiful hilltop views. Great continental breakfast. Very nice rec room with views. Friendly, helpful staff. A unique place. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broadleaf111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have been staying at this place 1-2x per year for the last five years. It is a very affordable motel, with a throwback feel, and the price is definitely right......what is not to like about that!! We had a nice vist with Scott and commented on some recent face lifts that had been done around the place and he seemed very appreciative with the compliment and said the place was under new management. It's a good place to stay and pet friendly, yeah. The Good: location for wine tasting, price, clean rooms, quiet, the bed sheets smell great, shower water pressure, complimentary continental breakfast, pet friendly!! The not so Good: As previously stated it is a little worn, furnature is adequate but it's inexpensive (but set your expectation to the price). I guess the bottom line is the place is adequately priced and if you set your expectations to that you will be pleased with a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The clerk at the desk, I believe she said her name was Valerie.The first impression was slurred speech, unkept, and unprofessional. Door was impossible to close, and carpets dirty. The rooms smelled musty, and the water was yellow. Only 1 star for the scenery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Good - The maintenance of the exterior was very good. It is a ranch-theme and I thought they executed that very well. It is located on a hill so you get some good views. You could walk to Bell St., but it is a little scary at night because it is so dark. The room had very good A/C & mini-fridge and was also decorated in ranch-theme.

The Bad - The pillows were lumpy. The water took a long time to get lukewarm. And the shower had more broken tiles and worn stains than I was comfortable with.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongBeachJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Spent 3 nights here using the hotel as a base for daily long distance bicycle rides in the surrounding mountains and valleys. Checking in the staff was very nice and efficient as were all of the staff I had contact with. I tend to be a person who looks for detail and the following is just my observations. Upon getting to my room I found that the door lock was very hard to operate and the door was stuck in the door frame requiring a lot of body force to open. Then I couldn't get the key out of the lock. The door was next to impossible to close from the outside. Upon entering I noticed that the windows were all open yet there was a strong musty smell. I figured it was just from the age of the place and since I had stayed in worse places it would be OK (more on this later). I went to open the front curtains and saw there were no rods attached to open the curtain with and one had to grab the curtains to open them. It appeared that this condition was long standing problem as the curtain was heavily soiled in this area and the vertical finished edge was almost completely torn off leaving a fraying edge. I saw this in several of the other rooms the group was staying in as well as blinds that had pieces broken out or did not work at all. I went to use the glass in the room and upon looking at the glass it was very dirty with lip marks on the rim and stains inside. The other glass had a dried dark substance in the bottom of it. The light next to the clothing rack had a bare bulb in it and the switch in the bathroom was upside down. The rest of the room looked clean and was stocked with motel soaps and towels but no hair drier, no extra blankets or pillows. Not prefect but but acceptable for the price of the room. After finishing the ride the next afternoon and returning to the room, it had been made up but the dirty glasses remained. Returning from dinner I walked across the carpet in socks and found that my socks had gotten soaked from the walk. Looking around I found a 3 foot circle in front of the bathroom door where the carpet was soaked with standing water. As it was late the hotel office was closed and I found no information in the room of who to contact if there was a problem. By morning the wet spot had increased to 6+ feet. Upon reporting the problem in the morning the staff quickly checked the problem and said it appeared that a pipe was broken under the cement floor and said it was from the age of the building. They reassigned me a new room but made no offer of any compensation for having to stay in a flooded room. The new room was clean including the glasses. The carpet in the new room was frayed and torn at the entry to the bath which could cause a trip hazard and the toilet seat was broken.

The place looks like they have been trying to fix it up but it looks like a very slow process, with more as needed maintenance being done than fixing up/remodel. The pool is unheated but after getting numb to the cold (low 60s) water, I was able to get a good swim in. They serve a continental breakfast on weekends which had the standard assortment of bread products, cereal juice and coffee.

It needs a lot more attention to detail. I can understand the pipe breaking as there is no way to know a pipe is about to break under the cement, but the musty smell might have been a tip off. The other detail problems should have been noticed by housekeeping and either were not reported or not fixed. Management should be doing daily inspections of the rooms from a guests point of view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter from freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mans265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Alamos
0.4 mi away
Alamo Motel
Alamo Motel
#1 of 1 in Los Alamos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
14.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#4 of 8 in Buellton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
12.7 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
12.9 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skyview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skyview Motel

Property: The Skyview Motel
Address: 9150 Highway 101, Los Alamos, CA 93440
Location: United States > California > Los Alamos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Los Alamos
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
The Skyview Hotel Los Alamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing