We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for Unwinding”

Katella Deli Bakery and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Los Alamitos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Okay for Unwinding”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Most folks call this place the Katella Deli. The service was fine; folks are very polite and it appears management pays attention to this aspect of the operation. We used the sports bar to watch the World Series and had no complaints. I don't recommend the wings if you expect Hooter's style food, but they were still okay. The place looks like a retro establishment because it's been around for so long, and I personally like that about California: plenty of locally-owned eateries that aren't being forced out of business by Applebee's and their ilk.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMysteriousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    70
    18
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Katella Deli/Bakery - Oldie but Goodie”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've been coming to this place for about 40 years - they were located down the road a bit at first.

The bakery is awesome, just can't beat it. I like their older things - lately they added cupcakes and cake pops which are trendy, but I don't think Katella's are the best. Go with the old standards at this place (danish, bagels, zucchini muffins).

The restaurant is also very good. I've been going there so long, I have to say occasionally the service is off. The food has always been fantastic. If you get marginal service, give the place one more shot, usually its very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlsybrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
563 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Best bakery secret in OC. And they sell macarooons!!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Real deal bakery and authentic Jewish deli
Bit pricy but worth it especially macaroons ans cakes. They offer cake pops and cupcake treats to die for.. seems the only the locals know about this place. Best bakery around for the real.deal old school style.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k123-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My daughters favorite place ..”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We grab stuff to go all the time. Their portions are pretty big, and definitely recommend the german chocolate (or double decker chocolate) cake for dessert. enjoyable to the last bite.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanna067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“real comfort food treat”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

this was recommended to me by a friend after i had told her about my unforgettable experience of Katz deli pastrami in New york that is made famous by Anthony Bourdain and the movie Sally (something ... can't remember the title ,, sorry) AND it surely is a comparable alternative to flying to New york if you live in LA...
The open face beef brisket sandwhich is the bomb...
And, their SOUPS ... it is very good to have especially when you are kinda' sick ... comforting.
It does not have the ambience of a glitzy resataurant ... the service could be nicer... BUT.. it is worth driving 1 1/2 hours for me and my hubby.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetheartofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katella Deli Bakery and Restaurant also viewed

Los Alamitos, Orange County
Los Alamitos, Orange County
 
Los Alamitos, Orange County
 

Been to Katella Deli Bakery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing