We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Los Alamitos
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Perhaps almost too friendly. The hand-written welcome note was a little over the top. Well-kept property as well. Hit the Katella Deli if you stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistletoeArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
66
19
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

the good: breakfast, the short drive to disneyland, two rooms in one suite was good for grandma and kid

The bad: the beds and pillows were very uncomfortable, the rooms appeared to be clean however not good regular cleaning (washrooms were just tidied up daily not really scrubed. This location was close to disney but very far from LA (~1 hour) and other nice places.
probably wouldn't stay here again, wasn't impressed at the cleanliness. No bugs that I noticed which is a plus!
They make you sign a waiver for not making any noise and if so they will ask you to leave... my 4 year old jumped around for a min. before her dad asked her to stop...we got a call immediately that there were complaints. Meanwhile, the suite next to us had a dog that barked all night for 7 days... : (

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu82_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupont, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

They had baby roaches, climbing up the wall, in my granddaughters drink, walking on table. Needless to say we checked out right away. Screaming and hollering.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1stdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, General Manager at Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear 1stdiva – While I appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, let me reiterate to you how unusual this type of event is at our hotel. After you alerted my staff of the situation, we immediately contacted our regular pest elimination company to come in and rid the hotel of any remaining critters and they assure us that we are now completely pest free. Our follow-up discussion led me to believe you had been fairly compensated for your troubles when we not only compensated you for two nights at another hotel of your choosing, but also adding an additional 5000 Marriott Reward points to your account and made sure all credit card holds were removed. In addition, I hope that you and your family enjoyed the Edible Arrangement that I had sent to your hotel. However, should you feel there is anything further to discuss, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed here for a week while working in Los Alamitos. If you've stayed at a "redone" Residence Inn lately, you know exactly how these rooms look. It's the usual setup with microwave, cooktop, full-size refrigerator, sofabed, etc. My room was spotlessly clean, everything worked fine and the place was pretty quiet. The climate control worked great and was almost completely silent.
Breakfast was pretty standard--watery fake eggs, some cooked pork products, some mass-produced pastries, etc. The one night I went to the "social hour," the food was nearly inedible and the beer was Bud Light (gross!).
Five stars for the hotel, zero stars for the nasty "food". As usual, the Residence Inn doesn't disappoint for a week-long business trip, but this one needs a new cook.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 916Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, General Manager at Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Joe R - Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the hotel in general. It is our goal to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay and that we exceed in both service and accommodations. I apologize that you were unhappy with the complimentary food and beverage that the hotel offers. The hot breakfast buffet includes a variety of choices to suit every palate, including real scrambled eggs, prepared with whole pasteurized eggs, a variety of sausage patties and Turkey Canadian bacon as well as up-scale muffins that include both tuxedo muffins and blueberry muffins. In addition, we also serve “make your own” waffles, a variety of breakfast potatoes, yogurt parfaits, breakfast breads such as bagels and English muffins and hot and cold cereals. In regards to the evening social hour, we do rotate the menu every month to include a light meal and complimentary beer, wine and soft drinks. I am sorry that the items served during your stay were not to your liking. We appreciate the feedback from our guests on the food items that they find most enjoyable as well as those that are less desirable so that we can modify our menus to our guests liking. We do serve Bud Light as our complimentary beer of choice due to the overwhelming preference of this domestic beer by the majority of our guests. Please contact me at the hotel to share your personal preferences so that we can ensure your satisfaction during your next stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel looked lovely from the road, modern, clean, with plenty of free parking, about 7 easy driving miles from Disneyland. We were assigned a room on the first floor which was quite large and well-furnished. Everything looked nice and clean but the carpet was clearly dirty as our white socks changed color quickly! I let the manager know and she said she'd make sure it was taken care of before the next customer used the room- great responsiveness and no defensive attitude at all. Although the closet was big, there were not enough hangers for four people to put clothes and there were no luggage racks - even though they want a "residence" feel, since people do have short stays here, they really are necessary. Also, there are no safes in the room- only at the front desk. These days with all the electronics people travel with, that is also a necessity. I do not want to have to take all my stuff to the front desk to put it in a safe there. It was chilly the nights we were there and there was only one thin, holey blanket for the sofabed. When we asked for another, we were told we could only have one, but they would make an exception. Huh??? Also, there was a urine stain on the mattress of the sofabed and that needs to be removed and replaced as soon as possible since you couldn't turn the mattress over and use the other side. Fortunately, there was a thick mattress pad provided so it wasn't an issue and there was no odor - so our daughter didn't complain. The big bed was comfy and warm and the vanity area separate from the tub and toilet so that made it easy for a family to share the room. There was art on the walls and some ceramics on a shelf that made it feel more homelike. The little kitchen was a bonus although we only used the fridge for food and drink storage, no cooking on this trip. Free buffet breakfast included cooked items such as eggs, potatoes, sausage and bacon and lots of cold cereals and juices. One day oatmeal was offered as well with raisins and brown sugar - yum! A waffle maker with batter is provided every day and the waffles came out surprisingly crisp and tasty. The hotel has interior hallways and the ventilation system needs some help since the entire three days we were there, the hallways smelled like a combination of white vinegar and broccoli - not a pleasant smell!

All in all, this was a great place for a Disneyland stay and compared to what is being offered at other nearby hotels, a great value, since we didn't have to pay for parking, internet or breakfast. There is a Starbucks nearby and that was a bonus for us - but we only had to buy coffee drinks, not food. We will certainly return to the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed here Dec 2011 for a week on business visit in studio apt, Room very nice with comfy double bed, 4 ft sofa bed so easy take four people!, kitchen with cooker, fridge and microwave etc so a good self catering option. i always stay as high as possible and this was 3rd floor but place was quite at night in hotel, a little road rumble and the odd chopper from airbase over road, also a fair amount of US service people staying but i enjoyed talking to them. breakfast was selfhelp on fruit , cereals, porridge,toast, scramble eggs, square sausage and all good. eveing food basic but loads of places nearby (out of hotel turn right over road 1st place-Deli- great fish-chips) - Turn left walk 10 mins Redrobin - good chioce, Wed PM is bike night at bar over the road and noisy but best way to handle that is go over and join in as we did - great night!!)Nice pool + hot tub - Basketball - tennis etc, Staff are great and everyone polite so this is where i will come again next time in California.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, General Manager at Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments! We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I think we've stayed here at least 10 times in the last 5 years. It's our hotel of choice when visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneawesomescreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Alamitos
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Cypress/Anaheim
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Cypress Anaheim/Orange County
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Orange County / Cypress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Cypress
1.5 mi away
Best Western Los Alamitos Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
#2 of 3 in Seal Beach
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos

Property: Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos
Address: 4931 Katella Ave, Los Alamitos, CA 90720-2721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Los Alamitos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Los Alamitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos Hotel is located in the heart of California's Orange County and provides just what you need to maintain your normal pace when planning an extended stay. The Cypress, California hotel features a state-of-the-art lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces and complimentary WiFi, making it easy to hold impromptu meetings. Spacious guest suites at this extended stay hotel in Los Alamitos, California feature a sectional sofa, ergonomic desk, chic bathroom & a contemporary color scheme, which complements each suite’s separate spaces for eating, sleeping & working. Take advantage of the fully-equipped kitchen, but don't miss out on a free hot breakfast in the morning, featuring various fresh, healthy selections. Finish the day at the Cypress, CA hotel's all new evening experience; Mon. - Wed. “The Mix” offering guests a fun and relaxing way to unwind and connect. The Residence Inn by Marriott Cypress Los Alamitos Hotel gives you everything you need to thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cypress Los Alamitos Hotel Los Alamitos
Residence Inn Los Alamitos
Los Alamitos Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing