We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Original Fish Company

The Original Fish Company
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Los Alamitos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, Mi
Level Contributor
191 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everytime we are in town to visit family we eat here at least once. This time it was on New Years Eve. Now, they don't take reservations but they do have Call Ahead seating (which I highly recommend everyone using). They were Extremely busy as you might expect...in fact when we got there it was a 1 1/2-2 hr wait (30 min just to get a pager)...however we were seated in about 10 minutes.
Everything is fresh daily and prepared however you would like it. Despite being very busy our service was great (bread and water refilled promptly, dishes cleared, food hot and correct). Our meals were awesome...shrimp, tilapi, swordfish and liguine with clams...hubby loved the chowder too.
you definitely will not be disappointed with you meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elphie1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    79
    23
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent service and superb food-the clam chowder is the best in town, and their oysters rockerfeller are fantastic. It's a great place to celebrate a birthday!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladysailor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Oooohhh, the Clam Chowder and fresh fish -- Shrimp on a Skewer laced with Bacon or Swordfish and Salmon on a Skewer, absolutely delicious. My husband and I and our whole family have been going here for years and years and have yet to have a bad meal. My husband loves the Red Clam Linguine, and I love both the Shrimp, the Swordfish and Salmon and the Calamari Steak with Berre Blanc. Absolutely delicious. Over the years, they have extended their patio to include it more as part of the restaurant, and in the summer it is great to enjoy the outdoor ambiance. You can't go wrong here, that's for sure!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Starglow8946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, incredible staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Love everything about this restaurant! Best fish in OC/LA area. hands down. Love to go for lunch~ more food for your money, or for a special dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank the4blanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
217 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish in Orange County Strip Mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a great lunch of grilled fish here,seated outside, with great service, and lots of choices on the menu. Fresh fish is the highlight here, and halibut, dover sole and calamari steak were all prepared well, with good side dishes. We were not rushed here, and sat at the table for 2 1/2 hours without being pushed out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fooddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Fish Company also viewed

Seal Beach, Orange County
Los Alamitos, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to The Original Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing