We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed May 8, 2006

After reading some of the earlier reviews, I was hesitant about our stay here. It was just for an overnight before a Hawaiian cruise. The hotel staff was very helpful, the front desk accomodating, the waitstaff cheerful, room clean, and looked newly renovated, food was good. The free transportation was a plus, both to visit the Queen Mary, and then on to our cruise ship. As priority club members, we got late check out enabling us to see a little of Long Beach before leaving, a discount on the next morning's breakfast, and a bag of snacks. The surrounding area is a little dicey- but for our purpose, the hotel was just fine.

Helpful?
3 Thank cruzr4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    120
    104
    38
    23
See reviews for
92
91
24
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 31, 2006

Unfortnately my corp travel agent put me in this hotel which will be eliminated from our database!!! The employees are uneducated rude and unwilling to help with smallest request. The neighborhood is terrible and the hotel is not close to anyplace safe! The odor of febreeze does not cover up the stink of old and moldy.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2006

There isn't really much night life around this hotel and transport is necessary to get to any bars or restaurants. The staff in general are very friendly except for one arrogant staff member who was very unhelpful when simply asked to help me locate a bank so that I could cash travellers cheques. Also they had very few safety deposit boxes (located only at reception) which meant I had nowhere to store my valuables. All in all are very unmemorable hotel.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2006

We went on a Mexican cruise departing from the LA Cruise Terminal in San Pedro on 19 Feb 2006 and flew in the day before. We chose to stay in Long Beach since it appeared they have better facilities to spend the day. We found the Holiday Inn downtown quite satisfactory, having been recently renovated. The front desk at check in and out (same crew) was excellent. They provided recommendations for dinning and arranged for the complementary shuttle to take us about town. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle to the San Pedro cruise pier. The room was clean, beds comfortable, and quiet. Although the location is not downtown, it was in what appeared to be safe area. And like I said, the hotel shuttle can run you any where within 3 miles. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank thebigd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 21, 2006

We stayed in Long Beach for a high school sailing regatta at the Alamitos Yacht Club. There were 24 people in our party. All of us were pleasantly pleased at everything and wish to return next year. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, pool/hot tub was clean and working, and the rooms were spacious, clean, and attractive. The surrounding area was a bit dicey, but we learned to just stay on the hotel grounds. Another thing we loved was the shuttle service. What a treat!

  • Stayed January 2000, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 20, 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for 4 days around Jan 14, 2006. This is a smaller hotel - 4 stories. The rooms are medium size and very clean (Hotel seems to have been redone recently). Our room did not have a refrig and micro, but some rooms did. There was plenty of parking in the lot or underground parking lot. The coffee shop / restaurant was open for breakfast and dinner only. The food was good, inexpensive, and the service was above average. The entire hotel and restaurant staff was very friendly. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. They gave me excellent directions to the Long Beach Airport and Disneyland (better directions than the maps). The hotel does have a small workout room.

The shuttle does NOT go to the airport, but it will take you all over Long Beach (within 3 miles). It does go to the Queen Mary, and all the hotels & attractions by the waterfront. The hotel location is good but not within walking distance to the waterfront. If you want to be right where the action is, stay downtown. Of course, it is much more expensive. BTW, our rooms were $101 per night in January.

There are lots of nice restaurants downtown (there is nothing by the hotel). The fancy places are nice but expensive. For a fun place with great food & drinks at reasonable prices, checkout The Rock Bottom Restaurant at the corner of Ocean and Pine. We had a large family dinner there and everyone had a great time. During the day, there are beautiful areas to explore around the waterfront. Great walking trips. Bring your camera.

Overall, this is a great value for $100 a night. EZ location to downtown and Disneyland. Recommended !!

Tom and Mary.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2005

Great value, great reception staff, very clean and well decorated hotel, with reasonably spacious rooms. Ours even contained a coffee maker, a full-sized fridge and micro-wave cooker!

The area where the hotel is situated is not so nice, so it is not ideal for walking. In fact it would be a long walk to actually get anywhere. However a free shuttle will take you anywhere within three miles.

I did not try the hotel food.

If you want great value, and don't mind the location, go for it!

Helpful?
3 Thank TheLondonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
#15 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)
Address: 1133 Atlantic Ave, Long Beach, CA 90813-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Long Beach Hotel, Located just minutes from the Long Beach Convention Center, Carnival Cruise Terminal, The Aquarium of the Pacific, The Historic Queen Mary and much more. We offer complimentary shuttle services within 3 mile radius, free high speed wireless internet access, 24 hour fitness center, and a heated pool/jacuzzi. Your Constant Caring Friends at the Holiday Inn Downtown Long Beach Hotel are dedicated to providing you with extraordinary service assuring safety and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) Hotel Long Beach
Long Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing