We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made Me Feel at Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Bowie, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Made Me Feel at Home”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

From the phone call I made prior to check-in until the moment I left the hotel on my way home - the staff made me feel welcome and at home.

Adrien, the gentleman at the Front Desk, was very professional. He spoke very clearly and was always helpful and ready with information when we needed it. When we checked in, he provided us with a coupon that gave us a discount at check-in for being an Elite Priority Club member.

Parking was free, which is a nice perk for a hotel with "downtown" in its name.

We only stayed one night, but enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel if and when we found ourselves back in Long Beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to mention Adrian, he is one of our supervisors and set's a great example for our staff. As a manager it is very gratifying to hear "the staff made me feel welcome and at home". we appreciate that you found Free parking of value. I hope if you are ever again in the area you will give us the opportunity to provide you a great place away from home.

Regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    122
    106
    38
    23
See reviews for
93
93
24
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Caney, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

even requested and received confirmation for smoking room - checked in and they do not have any smoking allowed

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deniseciah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, June 1, 2012
I want to ask forgiveness for you not receiving a smoking room. We do have some smoking rooms so I can only presume it was because they were sold out. If you will contact me direct I would be happy to investiage further. Again please accept my apology I hope you will give us an opportunity to make it right the next time you are in the area.

Thanks for taking time to inform us and the travel community of your experience.
Regards
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2012

liz the driver to the cruise port was soooo wonderful!! she made us feel welcome. she rocks. the hotel was great, we will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to praise Liz and our hotel. It is our pleasure to be of service. Our shuttle is provided as a courtesy to our guests so it is great to know it has value. The highest priase we can hope for is "the hotel was great, we will stay there again! " So thank you for very much for sharing your experience. I hope we will indeed have another opportunity to be of service.

Regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is rated 4 star by hotwire. Indeed it is spacious and quiet for a bargain price from hotwire. Make sure you sign up for priority club from holiday before you checkin to get a free upgrade to there superior room. the amenities include wifi which is very slow constant disconnect. inhouse fitness room and breakfast restaurant which you will get 10 percent discount for PC member. Beds are big and linens are clean. Bathroom is clean with basic supply. Upgraded rooms comes with coffee maker, persobal red and flat screen tv.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcdalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, May 17, 2012
I am so exicited about having a new PC member this IHG program is a great way to increase your value. Thank you for mentioning our superior room amentinites, which are available in all rooms. The upgrades do include a microwave and refrigerator but all our rooms have the flat screen, coffee maker, etc. I was concerned to hear about your slow internet, I will address this with our provider to determine how we can resolve this issue in the future. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope you will visit us again soon.

Regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

2 miles from main attractions but hotel has a responsive shuttle service and is MUCH cheaper than the "big" hotels - if you fly to LAX consider renting a car (depending on length of stay) because hotel parking is free and public shuttle is $20 per person - we were here for a convention and I was impressed with cleanliness of the downtown area and not much traffic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, May 1, 2012
I want to thank you for your comments. If you are coming to town for a convention our free shuttle and parking are two of the many reasons why we are such a value. Also keep in mind, If you have the opportunity to return to our area, we offer shuttle service to the Long Beach Airport and it would be our pleasure to be of service and save you the car rental or cab fare fro LAX. Many thanks again for taking time to share your experience with us and the travel community. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just needed a one night stay before our cruise. Included in our price was parking for our car for the week AND shuttle service to and from the cruise pier. Friendly staff, great food in the restaurant, clean and comfortable rooms. Will stay again if we cruise out of Longbeach area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zippycomehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for the great summary of your experience with our property and the staff. As you mentioned The Park and Cruise Package is the perfect match for guests who are cruising out of Long beach. I appreciate your praise of the staff and will pass it on. Thank you again and I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel itself was in good shape, having been renovated. I certainly can't complain about the rooms - they were very nice and clean. Dining room and room service good, when available. Spa and pool great, and also enjoyed the free shuttle service in the surrounding area. However, the place was not in a good area. Be prepared for this. We went out walking at night for about 5 minutes, and that was enough. We complained about having to move rooms after the first night, and got alot of flak from the staff, until we spoke to the General Manager, Sharon Bateman. She got everything straightened out and was able to "fix" any problems we had after that. Sharon was fantastic, and made us feel we didn't have to fight with the staff over every little thing. We also had problems at the restaurant with some of the staff's attitude. One server, Katrina Perez, was wonderful and easy to deal with, every time. I'd say both Sharon and Katrina went above and beyond the usual customer service here. I would definitely stay here again with these two wonderful ladies onboard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street. Otherwise you will be facing the hospital next door (loud sirens a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TinatheSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, April 20, 2012
I am so appreciative of the time you took to inform other travelers of the experience you had at our property. I am especially thankful for the mention of Ms. Perez, my server. She has always provided great customer service and it isgratifying to have it expressed in writing. It is unfortunate that you had any issues that required "fixing" but I am glad we were able to make it right. The fact that you would stay with us again is our best endorsement. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. I will use all of your feedback as an opportunity to train the staff and improve guest services for all of our guests'.

Warm regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 57 in Long Beach
1,231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Long Beach Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
#15 of 57 in Long Beach
403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 57 in Long Beach
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)
Address: 1133 Atlantic Ave, Long Beach, CA 90813-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Long Beach Hotel, Located just minutes from the Long Beach Convention Center, Carnival Cruise Terminal, The Aquarium of the Pacific, The Historic Queen Mary and much more. We offer complimentary shuttle services within 3 mile radius, free high speed wireless internet access, 24 hour fitness center, and a heated pool/jacuzzi. Your Constant Caring Friends at the Holiday Inn Downtown Long Beach Hotel are dedicated to providing you with extraordinary service assuring safety and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) Hotel Long Beach
Long Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing