We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel was ok, dining service was lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Marriott
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Hotel was ok, dining service was lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is currently under renovation so hopefully this will fix some of the cosmetic issues.

The good:
clean
friendly checkin staff and bellman
the fitness center
indoor/outdoor pool
location
Bath and Bodyworks products
free parking

The bad:
the restaurant & bar food and service were bad
no hot tub
the toilets had trouble flushing #1(probably due to some stupid state regulation)
cheap towels
down comforters (too hot and bad on my allergies)
no fridge even though there was room for it
full beds rather than queens

Room Tip: You will probably get a choice of the airport or the parking lot, choose the airport side, at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljmzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    163
    44
    29
    24
See reviews for
74
60
36
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night, after a cruise. It was so close to Long Beach airport, at first we thought it was going to be noisy but it really wasn't. It was actually pretty cool to watch airplanes land right in front of our window. We walked a couple of blocks to a convenience store for snacks, which was nice. And the restaurant at the hotel is excellent. We had a late lunch & the food was great & our waitress was fantastic. We ate outside, at a table near the pool. Too cool to swim but we sat outside in the sunshine & visited. Very peaceful & relaxing. The room was nice & clean - going thru some remodeling on part of the hotel & all the workers were friendly & apologized for any mess & everyone was nice & professional - from the front desk attendants, restaurant, construction workers. The Housekeepers were obviously busy but one suggestion - whoever was cleaning the rooms in our hallway left their cart right in the middle of the hallway. I'm sure that's because they don't want to knick up walls, etc. but it's inconvenient & a safety hazard - perhaps leave it closer to the room they are cleaning? But that's the only thing I noticed that could be improved upon. And only 5 min. from the airport - which was very convenient when we had a 7:30 a.m. flight. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs someplace close to Long Beach airport.

Room Tip: If you enjoy watching planes take off & land - ask for a room facing the runway. Being an ex-pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

It seems that all my reviews have some good and some bad. I struggle with which will win out. The LB Marriott is no different. I stayed in Mar 2013 for three nights. So here goes. The hotel is located right across the street from the LB airport. The hotel in it's heyday was probably real nice. The good: lobby is nice; Starbucks in the lobby; workout room well equipped; bed in the room very nice; shower head was wonderful; Skylinks golf course half a mile down the street and staff was friendly. The bad: room microscopic; heat/cool controls from the 70's (I'll post a pic - though when you got temp dialed in it worked pretty well); carpeting in my room torn; sports bar at hotels got nachos wrong and sucked; bathroom set-up was weird - towels across the room; weird wood shutters to accent room (see pic); resturant on-site was vacant both times we tried to go; and Internet had various payment schemes for faster speeds. I stayed here for work and as you can tell it was a mixed bag. The proximity to the airport or Skylinks GC would probably be a determining factor for staying here again. Did I say they are building a brand new Courtyard down the street (hint,hint). Anyway, hotel was adequate and I'd stay here again. However, I'd explore other options first.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank travelramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
453 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 773 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had a package that was supposed to give free internet, free parking and a 20% discount on all food. They charged me for the internet, and they didn't give the 20% discount on food on three occasions. That's five overcharges on one bill. Additionally, parking is free at the hotel regardless, but they advertise it as being included only in this package. Same for the "airport transportation included" in the package, which is free regardless. Upon check out, they couldn't tell me why no discount appeared on my bill for three room service meals. The front office agent told me they would email me a corrected bill, but they never did.

I phoned the hotel directly the next day, and the director of guest services was completely incompetant. He wasn't able to even understand the issue. He repeatedly thought the issue was my knowing the name of the front office person that checked me out, conveniently forgetting the issue was all of the overcharges. He refused to put the hotel director on the phone, and told me he would not even give him the message. I contacted Marriott Customer Relations, who promised me a response from the hotel within five days, but that never happened. I called them four days later, and they offered no additional help, claiming they had no access to the hotel's accounting department. I have had to resort to disputing the charges with my credit card company.

The hotel is now in desperate need of some renovations in the rooms. Old furniture, outdated other things in the room, etc. Don't get a room on the side where the nightclub is, because they play very loud music well into the night. The parking lot is littered with broken bottles and cocktail glasses and other trash. If you get a room on the other side, you face the airport runway, and I didn't find the soundproofing good enough.

There is nothing walkable near the hotel, except a Starbucks in an office building, only open Monday to Friday. Other than that, you will have to drive at least a mile to any other business.

The room service food was very good, and served promptly, and all of the staff were friendly, except the ones that were incompetent at the front desk that cheat customers, and don't call back as they promise.

Room Tip: A good room would be in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

...was the service at the concierge lounge! Sara was very friendly and helpful, her fellow worker, Tracey was the polar opposite,stiff and cold! The young woman in the evening was delightful as well, (sorry I can't remember her name). Food was good for the most part, wish they would put greek yogurt and granola on the breakfast bar and have an option for turkey/chicken/sausage/bacon. Evening options could use some variety, guacamole(it is CA avacado capital!) would be nice, hummus and veggies.
As for the rooms, they were clean, as for quiet, not so much. I do realize it is @ the airport... but it is the inside noise that was more bothersome! Pilots leaving for early flights/Flight Safety training that let the doors slam, security on radios and the gurgling of water in the bathroom drains to name a few.
Internet was slow and a pain. They could use a longterm use option instead of daily log in. Everytime you leave the property you have to log back in as well!
The lobby/check in area was soooo cold!! The furniture was rather beat up but overall the area was clean and inviting. Starbucks needs to carry more breakfast options for the "Elitists" to choose from :)
Pool area was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaleLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The good news is the location and that the rooms are fairly well up to Marriott standard. Unfortunately, the list of stuff needing fixing is quite long. Super-slow internet, shabby lobby with furniture Goodwill would turn down and staff/management that are totally unresponsive. I could go on, but you get the point. Owners just don't care any more.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night for business and it was ideal for my needs. (Just a quick overnighter to the Long Beach area and super convenient access to the airport.) Clean, well-appointed guest rooms (Marriott rooms always tend to be reasonably spacious and very clean) and the workout facility was decent. The coffee shop off the lobby was a nice-to-have, especially not limited to just coffee/tea, but espresso drinks and pastries, fruit, etc. Staff (in my limited exposure to them) were professional and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.7 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,784 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Long Beach Airport
Courtyard Long Beach Airport
#14 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Marriott

Property: Long Beach Marriott
Address: 4700 Airport Plaza Drive, Long Beach, CA 90815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach Marriott Hotel is located in a very central location that provides easy access to both Orange and Los Angeles County. The hotel is located adjacent to Long Beach Airport with easy freeway accessibility to major attractions and corporate parks in the area. Our beautifully landscaped hotel creates a resort-like atmosphere with lovely indoor and outdoor spaces to relax or conduct business. The Hotel offers over 10,000 sq. ft of meeting/banquet space to accommodate any type of event. Mr. R's Grille, Garden Terrace Cafe & Patio, Corrigan's Sports Bar, Starbucks Coffee & Lounge are also available to guests. Long Beach Convention Center, Carnival Cruise Line Terminal, the Queen Mary, California State University Long Beach, the Pyramid, Glacial Gardens Ice Arena, Home Depot Stadium and Disneyland/California Adventure are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing