We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another "You get what you pay for" Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Chanhassen
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another "You get what you pay for" Motel”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here attending a convention and like others reviewers indicated it is a 10 block walk to the Convention Center. So you will have to cab over if you have lots to carry. Hotel is cinder block with all the doors facing out into the parking lot. It seems there are longer term patrons, and many of them are comfortable keeping their doors open and lounging on the outer walkways that serve as their "patios". Room was tired, but clean. The bed was comfortable and there was a choice of pillow styles. In room fridge is nice, but there is no desk only a table and two chairs. The phone was under the TV vs. being next to the bed. So this is an awkward room arrangement for business travelers. The lone desk person is always locked into the tiny lobby, so you get a few for their safety concerns. However the neighborhood feels safe.

Room Tip: First floor rooms will have cars parked in front, all rooms face parking lot and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mntravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    38
    22
    36
See reviews for
19
31
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here one night prior to departing on a cruise. We were with 3 other couples and they all felt the same as us about the rooms. We initially checked into our room and went to freshen up after our flight, the rooms were old, run down and dirty. We noticed that the soap in the bath tub was used from the previous guests-initially we laughed about it as we'll as noticed a big bugger on the wall above the toilet paper. As we were going to dinner one of our other couples stated there bathroom was buggery also this made for another good laugh but that was the last of the fun. After returning from shopping and dinner, we turned the bed down and checked the sheets- here we found used toilet paper on the sheets. This confirmed my suspicion that the room had not been thoroughly cleaned. The gentle man at the front desk did apologize and moved us to a different room but my mind was not as ease. The other couples traveling with us had backed up toilet/sink that never did get resolved, non working internet in the room, as we were leaving on our shuttle one room key would not work and the staff could not get the door open. The pool is disgusting at best and looks like it may be a bath for the homeless that roam the area. If your looking for this kind of adventure then this is the place to stay-I have stayed at worse places only because I was too young to voice my opinion and my dad was on a very tight budget. I would not recommend this place, especially if you have children.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruzin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodgelongbeach, Webmaster at Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following step was taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the Soap in the bathroom of the room assigned to you and instructed to see to it that the soap are well stocked before assigning the room to our valued guests.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the toilet/sink, Internet connection and the pool in and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge. I think you will be greatly pleased. We shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

Virginia City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ok, should have known as other reviewers said; this 'motel' is not that close to the Convention Center. Bad back, had a hard time walking so ended up cabbing to and from Convention Center and dinner appointments. Building is cinder block, room very clean and lobby staff indifferent. What I did like, the very nice maid knocked on my door shorltly after check in asked if the room was okay. Large Sony flat screen great but hardly any choice of stations. Attached restuarant, Galeanas Grill, don't bother! And like other reviewers, lloved that a huge Vons grocery store is one block away. Will not stay again, bought my package on Hotwire, plane, hotel and airport tranfers. For just a bit more I could have stayed at a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crookedhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My stay was brief but without any Drama. Check in was a breeze and the Front Desk Staff was very friendly and efficient. The Rooms had a nice large flat screen TV which worked well. The hotel had a Von's Full Grocery Store next door. The Rooms were spotless and cleaned very well and I give the cleaning crew 5 Stars. The Beds were very comfortable. The surrounding area while not the Best Neighborhood I experienced no problems but did not stray to far away from the Room at night. As in other reviews for this Hotel the Hallways do echo somewhat but I am a sound sleeper and not a big distraction. I did not try the Restaurant. Wifi worked great no problem. Parking is free and my Auto was not disturbed during my Stay. For the Business Traveler on a Budget this Hotel would be perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyMiles2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Travel lodge is close to the convention center you can walk and this is a plus if you want to avoid parking problems and fees. I found the location so good it is close to the beach and the pacific coast highway.
The room was clean with a small fridge , a coffee maker and 32" lcd tv. Everything is ok for the rate you are paying.
The only thing that was a problem was the wifi it was super slow and hard to connect, but there is a starbucks just around the corner if you need to use internet

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank vincent0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This travelodge is not as close as I thought to the Convention Center but it's ok, the room was clean and in general the staff was helpful. The bed however was too soft, after three nights my back was hurting. The small refrigerator in the room was very useful to have cold drinks ready any time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodgelongbeach, Webmaster at Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Thanks for the nice comment and I am glad that you found our room clean and staff very friendly.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
#15 of 55 in Long Beach
403 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#5 of 55 in Long Beach
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
1,210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 55 in Long Beach
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge

Property: Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge
Address: 80 Atlantic Ave, 1st Street & Atlantic Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802-5202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in comfort and convenience deep in the heart of world-renowned Long Beach, California. With majestic beaches already within walking distance, we're conveniently located just minutes from Catalina Island, Los Angeles and a wide assortment of activities, attractions, golf, shopping and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Convention Center Travelodge Hotel Long Beach
Long Beach Hotel Travelodge
Travel Lodge Long Beach
Travelodge Long Beach
Long Beach Travelodge
Long Beach Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing