We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn of Long Beach
Ranked #7 of 11 Long Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We got in this Inn with a traveler's coupon to get a cheaper rate. Our coupon was refused and we got a normal rate. Anyway, we were on the road, it was late and we accepted. The room was barely ok: the bed was decent as well as the bathroom but he couch was torn and the carpet was stained! The worst part was the breakfast, well, what they call breakfast: an awful orange juice with tiny industrial muffins and not tables to sit! Run away from this place, it's not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Misssteph28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 49 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

So on the internet the pictures make The Inn of Long Beach look like a decent motel. Their amenities include a continental breakfast. But when we arrived we realized that the pictures are either old, or photo shopped to look better than real life!! The kind of people that were there, were a little scary and the "continental" breakfast included little powder sugared donuts like Hostess kind, and little store bought packaged mini muffins. The "juice" was Sunny Delight! Needless to say we went over to the very nice Vons across the street and got some decent breakfast! The clerk was nice, but that was about all that was good about this hotel. Well, that and the fact that it was close to downtown. It was not worth $80/night!!!! I would not return to stay there!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank n60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The good:
front desk david, I think was his name. Great hospitality! Pool large and theirs a spa. Free parking, vons across the street---nicest vons I have ever been to!!!! Small porch.
Fridge in room. Micro and coffee in lobby. For new years eve $90 total cost. Tv had lots of channels. Close to nightlife

Cons. The room is as dilapidated as it gets. Terrible beds. Very very worn and cheapest linens and towels u can ever use.
Wifi works in lobby. Easily the worst room I have ever been in! Coulda been cause it was a smoking room and I don't smoke.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oneeddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A 50's style motel with exterior walkways and doors from the outside straight into the rooms. Just like you see in the movies, usually being used by fugitives from the law / mob / aliens / wronged spouses / supernatural horrors etc. . Very basic, decor a little tired, shower a little tempremental but it had a central pool and a hot-tub and the air-con, though ancient, did the trick well enough. Taken altogether it was fun but not for those who insist on luxury or sophistication.
Very conveniently located opposite a new 'Vons' supermarket (open 'til midnight) just a few minutes walk from the beach, the Pike for restaurants, cinema and marina, and the downtown shops and restaurants. The metro Blue Line is only a couple of blocks away and takes you right into downtown LA in about 55 minutes.
One for young and youngish travellers with a laid-back attitude.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing east as westyerly facing ones get HOT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pavelnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

A dirty run down motel with arrogant rude owners has no business advertising itself as an "Inn"!

There are so many nicer places to stay in this neighborhood than this; sad because it has potential to be a great place

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeInCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The service was excellent. The rooms do need upgrading, but they are excellent for the price. The pool And spa were a bit cold. The location is great, it is close to the free bus lines. It is easy to get where you want to go.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheeput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I visited Long Beach for a Conference at the Convention Center, and the Inn was recommended by a friend of mine. They are about 7 short blocks from the Convention Center (walking distance.) The woman at the front desk let me leave my luggage in the employee storage room after checkout, so I could explore a bit . There are several restaurants that are close. The rooms are slightly dated, but they were clean. It has better rates than most places in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,300 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Long Beach
Super 8 Long Beach
#11 of 58 in Long Beach
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#1 of 11 in Long Beach
106 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn of Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn of Long Beach

Address: 185 Atlantic Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-5121
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range: $89 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn of Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn of Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Of Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing