We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Peace of mind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Long Beach
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peace of mind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2005

Was on a tight budget for a quick 1-night stay on Long Beach .. however, on the other hand, couldn't be in too rough-it a situation. The peace of mind element. Well, this hotel, and yes, Edwin, whom so many write about on this forum, and by which I guided to make my hotel choice, this did it. He even was on the phone with me talking me thru my being briefly lost on the local streets of Long Beach, just shy of racing to my appointment there. I arrived middle of the night, was checked in with an alert and friendly manner by the night desk person. Breakfast options great, room very clean, spacious. Would definitely stay here again, will definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    391
    146
    46
    30
See reviews for
375
268
106
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2005

I just spent 2 days at this hotel and am very impressed with the manager, Edwin. I'm a frequent business traveller who typically stays at Radisson-type hotels but stayed at the Super 8 during some personal travel. The rooms are very 1970's but are clean and well cared for. Everything others have written about the quality of the staff is correct. This hotel is a real bargain.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TX_Champ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2005

We were shocked by the service that we recieved from Edwin, the manager. This man goes out of his way to accomodate his customers. Our room was very clean. Wine, sodas and chips were included in the evening snack, along with a continental breakfast that had bagels, toast, muffins, fruit and cereal. All at a budget price, especially for Long Beach. We would definitely stay here when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2005

I spent two nights at this hotel and chose it based on previous reviewers and mapquest's estimation that this hotel was two miles from downtown Long Beach and the water. It's not. It's more like five miles and you go through a lot of lights to get there. Make sure you rent a car if you're in Long Beach for the downtown clubs or if you're interested in taking a morning jog on the boardwalk. This hotel borders a so-so area of Long Beach and the suburbish towns of Bellflower and Seal Beach.

We booked this room through orbitz for $67 a night. That's a lot cheaper than the hotels closer to downtown Long Beach that are a lot less clean, safe, and accomodating. If you need a budget hotel for a limited time, the Comfort Inn, Days Inn, etc., near downtown are overpriced for what you get! Unless location is your SOLE priority, consider this Super 8.

I took the advice of a previous review and called the Super 8 ahead of time to secure a room that did not require stairs for my dad. I spoke to Edwin the manager who was super friendly. Although he upgraded our room to a mini-suite (extra TV, microwave, mini-fridge, and sink), we still had to trek some stairs - which were only a flight, so we just shrugged. I did mention offhand that I had read his name on an Internet website review of the hotel, which I think helped with the upgrade. I did notice that Edwin had a good memory, often greeting guests by their first names.

Continental breakfast was a notch above good with bagels, doughnuts, OJ, coffee, pastries, and cereal. Housekeeping was super friendly. The pool was small but the kids seemed to enjoy it.

A short thirty minute drive to Disneyland (on the carpool lane), and another twenty minute drive (through town/stoplights) to get to Target and Costco for snacks or that toothbrush you forgot to pack.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2005

I spent four days here in February and plan to return any time I need accommodations in the area. This is a terrific place for someone on a budget who is looking for great value. The lower level, where the pool and hot tub are located, is beautifully landscaped and surprisingly attractive. In response to other reviews: My room and the lobby area were clean; there was no odor other than that of a cleaning product, which was not offensive. I had no difficulty accessing the motel despite its proximity to a traffic rotary.

Examples of great value: The price of the room includes a decent continental breakfast (coffee, tea, juice, apples and oranges, assorted cold cereals, bagels, bread, cream cheese, margarine, jam, peanut butter) and the unexpected luxury of flavored syrups for coffee. Pretzel-type snacks, soda, and wine are served in the evening - also free. Guests have free access to a computer and printer in the lobby during the day and evening; the computer has high speed Internet access. Local and toll-free calls can be made at no charge. Most (maybe all) rooms have refrigerators; some also have a microwave and coffee maker.

What makes this place exceptional is Edwin, the manager, who is delightfully charming and attentive. He provides the kind of personal hospitality you might expect at a luxury hotel. When you're far from home, it's so nice to be greeted by name by someone who seems genuinely happy to see you and who is eager for you to have a pleasant stay.

It's difficult to give a star rating to a place like this, which is wonderful for what it is - but still, basically, a budget-class motel. I wouldn't want anyone to come here expecting the Four Seasons! After all, the furnishings are simple; the bathroom amenities (e.g. shampoo in foil packets) are not fancy; the hangers had imperfect plastic fittings that meant anything heavier than a blouse - such as a raincoat - fell on the floor; the desk doesn't have the nearby phone or electrical outlets you'd need to use a laptop comfortably.

If you plan to come here, I suggest you call Edwin ahead of time to discuss your room preferences. Important: If you would have difficulty carrying your suitcase up and down a flight of stairs, be sure to get a room on the parking lot level, not on the lower level where the pool is.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank traveler1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2005

I stayed here in early February, 2005 for four nights and found it to be one of the most pleasant, accommodating, friendliest motels I’ve ever stayed in. A generous continental breakfast and the wine in the evening is a fine touch! As a guest mentioned in a past review, there is an unusual odor in the lobby. However, I recognize it as residual pine oil cleaner! I will definitely stay there in my future visits!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2004

We were very pleased with the accomodations and service at this Super 8.
Staff was courteous, friendly and helpful.
In the evening they had a wine and snack get together for the guests.
The setting was tropical and certainly made us feel like we were on an exotic vacation.
Definately not what we expected at a Super8 and we will happily be staying there again next time we're in Long Beach.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#12 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#7 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,378 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Long Beach

Property: Super 8 Long Beach
Address: 4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804-2113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the 405 Freeway, the Long Beach Super 8 allows easy access to Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Aquarium of the Pacific, Knottsberry Farm, Universal Studios, Queen Mary and many other activities and attractions. The Super 8 of Long Beach offers SuperStart Breakfast that includes - Assorted Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Orange & Apple Juices, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Oatmeal, and self serve Waffle Bar. Nightly Evening Refreshments - Red & White Wines, Sodas, Popcorn, Chips & Party Mix. Large Heated Pool, Sauna and Spa, In Room Coffee, Daily Paper - Delivered! Free WI FI throughout entire property. Guest Business Center, Complimentary DVD Players and Movies available. Expanded Cable TV w/ HBO, CNN, ESPN. Many eateries nearby catering to all tastes. Kids 17 and under stay free with paid adult. Allow us the pleasure to make your stay in Southern California a comfortable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Super Eight Long Beach
Long Beach Super Eight
Long Beach Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing