We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Long Beach
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Although I have not stayed at all of the hotels in Long Beach, my experience is that this location is a very good value indeed. It's based on the price vs. the size of the room. You could easily fit 3 beds. The room also has a small kitchenette with a recliner, and a 32 in. flat panel tv. What appears to be a 42 in. flat panel tv in located in the bedroom. Although I did not use a black light, the room was clean and comfortable. A very nice and well-kept swimming pool was also available at this location, something many Super 8 hotels do not have. The staff was very friendly and helpful, confirming what other reviewers have said.
The only negatives are that the bathroom was small and outdated bedspreads are still being used.

Room Tip: A room in the upper level may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rds4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    391
    146
    46
    30
See reviews for
375
268
106
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egaa, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We needed a safe place to stay for one night on our way back from Arizona in order to deliver a rental car at LAX the next day. This motel served that purpose very well. It has free parking and is not far from the Long Beach coastline of Belmont Pier where we also spent some time in the ocean. Our room was big and quiet, despite the motel's location just beside a roundabout with heavy traffic. The people at the front desk did their best to make our stay enjoyable. The pool area was closed when we arrived, but it opened later in the day. The drive on highway 405 from nearby the motel to LAX went well, despite the hard-driving traffic that characterizes L.A. freeways.

Room Tip: Better atmosphere in rooms on same level as the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaldEgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, and were out most of the days. Great breakfast included. Rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable - only drawback was in the bathroom. The showerhead was so low, we all had to duck to wash our hair ( we are 5'7-5'9 - if you are over 6' you will have some issues! ) and the water temperature fluctuated from hot to cold all through the shower. Definitely need to upgrade the plumbing. Also, they had 'low-flow' toilets, which took 2-3 flushes most of the time - defeats the purpose of the water-saver. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mollywog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We checked into the motel at around 9:30pm. The clerk up front was nice and gave us our room and explained where it was. We went to our room with all of our stuff and immediately wanted to turn in for the night. We at first were surprised there was a Jacuzzi tub in the room. The problem was that the plug did not work and the bath tub was cracked and broken in multiple spots. So, no Jaccuzzi or bath. We decided to take a a shower and again was pleasantly surprised that the shower head was removable and on a pole to slide to different heights. Promptly into our shower however we discovered that the water would go burning hot and then very cold repeatedly to the point we had to end our shower as soon as we were able to wash the soap off. When we were done we wanted to check into the airport online since we were flying out in the morning. At the front desk when we came in, we were handed a card that had the username and password for the free Wifi. However when we tried to use it with the Laptop we could not connect. Nor could we connect with the Iphone or Galaxy 3S. Giving up on trying to check in we decided to hit the hay only to find out that they instead of hay used a rock slab for the bed. Ok it was not really rock, but you get the idea. So in the morning when we checked i told these things to the new guy at the front desk and he acted surprised and asked if we had called anyone about them. If they did not know their bed was hard, the tub was cracked/broken and the water went hot and cold, i would say they are lying, or never clean that room. You pick. One issue, fine, no biggie. Lots of issues? They know. It is just sad that you have to pay more than $100 a night to get a decent room.
Daniel M.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Only needed somewhere to crash for the night. This place has most amenities, except an iron and ironing board. The room was spacious and the two flat screen tv's were great for us and our 2yr old.

Pool area looked family friendly. (We didn't visit the pool) The continental breakfast was delightful. Waffles, cereal, bagels, coffee, fresh fruits. (If only they had some cold water available!)

The manager was pleasant and helpful. The lobby area should not be used to store hotel supplies, however.

This place is worth what you pay, considering its location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Traveled to California for orientation at USC in LA. My flight came into Long Beach so I booked one night at this hotel with the intention of traveling to LA and finding a hotel there. Ended up staying here 5 nights instead of 1. The staff were friendly (first night was overbooked so they gave us a suite for the price of a regular room). The location was out of this world - walking distance to In N Out (ate there every night!) and Ralph's (grocery store - needed beer) and Enterprise Car Rental (rude location, avoid it). I think they had a shuttle to/from the airport, which is how I ended up at this hotel in the first place. The pool looked great, although I didn't get a chance to hop in and enjoy it. Long Beach was supposed to just be a pit stop, but this hotel showed me what a nice little area it is. I'm really glad I stayed here and would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra $10 or $20 - so much room for activities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

It was pretty far from the metro but it was a perfect place to unwind far from the excitement of Anime Expo. The room was super clean and the manager always cracked jokes. The breakfast was a wide selection of bread. It is also a great hotel because of the peace and quiet. The pool is really nice. No bleach and it was an outdoor pool but it still seemed pretty clean. Check in took a long time. But then again, the housekeeper is very detailed and not a single stain, crumb or speck of dust was found.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#7 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,382 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Long Beach

Property: Super 8 Long Beach
Address: 4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804-2113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the 405 Freeway, the Long Beach Super 8 allows easy access to Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Aquarium of the Pacific, Knottsberry Farm, Universal Studios, Queen Mary and many other activities and attractions. The Super 8 of Long Beach offers SuperStart Breakfast that includes - Assorted Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Orange & Apple Juices, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Oatmeal, and self serve Waffle Bar. Nightly Evening Refreshments - Red & White Wines, Sodas, Popcorn, Chips & Party Mix. Large Heated Pool, Sauna and Spa, In Room Coffee, Daily Paper - Delivered! Free WI FI throughout entire property. Guest Business Center, Complimentary DVD Players and Movies available. Expanded Cable TV w/ HBO, CNN, ESPN. Many eateries nearby catering to all tastes. Kids 17 and under stay free with paid adult. Allow us the pleasure to make your stay in Southern California a comfortable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Super 8 Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Super Eight Long Beach
Long Beach Super Eight
Long Beach Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing