We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Super property for the value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Long Beach
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super property for the value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very easy to find, spacious room (we had 2 queen beds), coffee maker and small fridge in the room, tv worked, a desk, sitting chair nice for reading, plenty of lighting options, nice sized bathroom, towels with some thickness to them, super continental breakfast option (from cereal, to fruit, waffles, coffee, tea, or hot chocolate, juice, pastry - along with opera playing in the background at the front desk - and cnn on the tv as well). Inner courtyard area seemed very well maintained though we didn't use the pool or jacuzzi.

The only possible negatives would be the somewhat strong cleaner smell in the room, so if you have sensitivities to that you might mention that when you place your reservation. And the ac/heater unit in the room is somewhat loud, but certainly worked.

I recall I stayed here some years ago and was very happy; stayed again this last weekend, and very pleased with the decision again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your coming back to stay with us while on business in Long Beach. Thank you for the review and I will be sure to share your comment on the "cleaner smell" from the room with the manager, when we meet tomorrow morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    392
    146
    46
    30
See reviews for
375
269
106
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is awesome! Rooms are huge and very clean. Was on vacation with 3 other people and did not feel cramped in the room in the least. We stayed on the ground floor which is nice if you're going to frequent the pool/hot tub area. The complimentary breakfast is delicious and they also have complimentary evening snacks! The manager was very, very friendly and you could tell he took his job seriously. Would most definitely stay in this hotel again if I'm ever back in the LA/ long beach area! Would recommend to anybody!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesslou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the review on TripAdisor and sharing your stay while on vacation. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the breakfast and evening refreshments. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 4 night before cruise. Room was very spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful.We had to stay one night more and the manager did everything so that we can stay in the same room. Internet was fast and work with no problem.in the room is a desk where you can work. Breakfast was super .Location fantastic. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property prior to taking your cruise. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs for the extra night. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We travel to Long Beach a couple times a year for trade shows and this is our favorite place to stay. Although the motel does seem to be caught in a 90's time warp, we enjoy the large rooms and friendly service. We have stayed room 101 a couple times, and it is right underneath the breakfast area. At 6:00 am you will be awakened by the pitter patter of feet constantly walking back & forth on the ceiling above you. The beds also seemed to slope down towards the headboard, so we turned the pillows & blankets around and slept with our heads at the other end. This place is a little quirky, but we still enjoy it.

Room Tip: Avoid 101 and 102 because they are underneath the office and breakfast area, and you hear feet walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhillut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwinv2, General Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure having you as our guests. We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms, and hopefully get out of the 90's time warp! We look forward to seeing you in Long Beach again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#12 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,390 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Long Beach

Property: Super 8 Long Beach
Address: 4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804-2113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the 405 Freeway, the Long Beach Super 8 allows easy access to Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Aquarium of the Pacific, Knottsberry Farm, Universal Studios, Queen Mary and many other activities and attractions. The Super 8 of Long Beach offers SuperStart Breakfast that includes - Assorted Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Orange & Apple Juices, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Oatmeal, and self serve Waffle Bar. Nightly Evening Refreshments - Red & White Wines, Sodas, Popcorn, Chips & Party Mix. Large Heated Pool, Sauna and Spa, In Room Coffee, Daily Paper - Delivered! Free WI FI throughout entire property. Guest Business Center, Complimentary DVD Players and Movies available. Expanded Cable TV w/ HBO, CNN, ESPN. Many eateries nearby catering to all tastes. Kids 17 and under stay free with paid adult. Allow us the pleasure to make your stay in Southern California a comfortable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Super Eight Long Beach
Long Beach Super Eight
Long Beach Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing