We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel especially with a north view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here for a week and it was quite nice. Rooms are up to date, clean and with modern conveniences. The kitchen had a full size fridge, 2 burner stove and dishwasher. King size bed in separate room was comfy and bathroom was quite large although I would prefer a walk in shower instead of a bath tub. Had a room on the 9th floor looking north towards the downtown area of Long Beach and the Queensway bridge. Also bedroom windows looked north and east with a view of the Queen Mary. Double glazed windows to keep the outside noise down but could still hear kids down at the pool at times. Did not eat the breakfast but it looked better than many other free ones I see. Desk staff was helpful; I asked for a replacement non stick fry pan as mine had big scratches in the teflon and it was brought right up. Also, they use a lighter duvet which was nice as I find the heavy ones way too warm for my liking. I liked the location even though it is a bit far from the tourist areas but I prefer that and had a car to get around. The views are nice from the upper floors.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor looking north since the south view is just the industrial area of the port...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review for our Residence Inn here in Long Beach, we look forward to having you back soon!
Best regards.
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 479 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here for a day before sailing out on a Carnival Cruise in Long Beach. We thought the location was great- it was near the port and also within walking (but we never walked always too the free bus service provided in the Long Beach Downtown area which stops right at the hotel) to the business district. Located right on the water it had wonderful views. The staff from the moment we arrived until we left were top notch in customer service. They helped us arrange transportation to the port in the morning- a private Cadillac SUV which was great and as cheap as a taxi. Breakfast in the morning was great. Rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. Workout room provided standard equipment but got the job done. We did not get to use the hot tub as it wasn't functioning :( but the pool area looked very nice. All in all a wonderful stay and we will definitely stay here next time back!

Room Tip: Don't worry about the location- the city operated free bus service is great, clean, and safe- ev...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoveToRoadTrip99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about our hotel! We agree that our location is absolutely perfect to at before a Long Beach Cruise departure.

Come back and see us again soon,
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

My first time at a residence inn but won't be my last. Full residence accommodation. . Kitchen. Dining room. Fireplace. Free parking and wifi and managers evening welcome, hot full breakfast, gym open 24 hours, clean and great staff. This is value for money. Im a fan.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank KarenB_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Karen,

I was so happy to read and share your note with our team!

Thank you and best regards.
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

this was a 3 day weekend for us, being that i have a 6 yr old daughter that has autism, my husband and i dont get out much so i was a lilttle worried about doing this, to my suprise it went great! from the receptionist cassie avila, getting us checked in, to room service & the view was amazing, my daughter could not keep away from that window (which was very much secure) especially at night, check out time was a a lil sad which only means we will be returning, cant wait to go back ;)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

I'm so pleased to read your review about the stay you recently had at our hotel here in Long Beach.

Can't wait to welcome you back!
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Me and my family stayd here valentine's weekend n it was the best experience it started when we walkd in we were helpd by cassie n she was awsome she was a huge helpd n gave us so much information on places to go n things to do it was our first time stayin in long beach but we had a blast we were so happy with our room we didnt want to leave cant wait to plan our next get away cuz we are coming back :) !!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvonneelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The staff was so happy when I shared this with them, thank you for acknowledging our friendly and helpful associates. Here at the Residence Inn Downtown Long Beach we strive to exceed all expectations. I do hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed in this hotel overnight after attending a business meeting in the morning and taking a brief tour of the Aquarium of the Pacific in the afternoon.
It is located "off the beaten path" so to speak, far from the madding crowd.
There is no restaurant in the hotel but there is a "mini grocery" section located near the front desk, stacked with various beverages, beer, wine, chips and candies. Food can be delivered to the hotel after an hour's wait through labite.com. The room where we were billeted had a fair sized bed and a pull up sofa bed. the little kitchen is provided with a two burner convection stove, microwave, basic kitchen utensil, punctuated by a big ref.
The 32" TV with an HD HBO channel was a welcome amenity.
Overall, it was a pleasant, comfortable, and restful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferdinand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband, two daughters (ages 4 and 5) stayed at this hotel one night this past weekend and had a great time.

Pros:
• Waterfront with great views of the Queen Mary, lighthouse, Long Beach Aquarium, and marina.
• Fairly new property (5 years old) so everything is pretty clean, modern look, nice lobby to lounge at with TV's, pool is facing the nice views, rooms are cozy and cute with a small kitchenette (which includes a fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker, glassware, silverware)
• Free Wi-fi
• Free breakfast
• Free shuttle service to Aquarium, Shoreline Village, Pike, etc. pretty much all day until about midnight.

Cons:
• Parking is $17/night
• Sofa Bed is uncomfortable

As you can see, the pros outweighed the cons. My husband wasn't feeling well when we arrived, so I decided to take the shuttle service with my daughters and was dropped off at the Aquarium. We walked along the marina towards Shoreline Village and had ice cream there. There are some really great waterfront restaurants (Yard House, Bubba Gump, etc) as well shops, an arcade with a carousel, etc. We had such a great time. In the morning, we went back to Shoreline Village and had lunch at the Yard House. We thought about renting a boat for an hour but decided not to this time around.

I've lived in Los Angeles my whole life and I'd never spent this much time in Long Beach. I was pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: High room so that you can enjoy the views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaq4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown

Address: 600 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802-6341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $205 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience gorgeous waterfront views from the Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown Hotel. We are minutes from the Long Beach Port, Convention Center, pristine beaches and just over the Gerald Desmond Bridge from the San Pedro cruise terminals and the Port of LA. Experience a superior location among hotels in downtown Long Beach with easy access to fabulous dining/nightlife, distinctive shopping and famous attractions including the Queen Mary, Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach Arena and Pine Ave. Keep up your fitness routine at our Long Beach all-suite hotel with a state-of-the-art gym or the shoreline trail. A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served daily, and a 24-hour Market offers snacks and drinks whenever you want them. Our stylish suites feature luxury bedding, fully-equipped kitchens and a large desks with free Wi-Fi throughout. Our extended stay hotel in downtown Long Beach offers a central location near LA's top attractions and the business centers on the I-405 corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Long Beach Downtown Hotel Long Beach
Residence Inn Long Beach
Long Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing