We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“There's a wedding, and you are not invited” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
Level Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“There's a wedding, and you are not invited”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

This hotel is a good choice for value and location. It has everything you would expect from a full-service hotel - nice average hotel. The reason I'm giving it a 3 and not a 4 rating is because on Saturday night they had a wedding reception going on at the hotel. The reception took place by the pool, which is outside on the second floor just above the porch. However, the pool faces the hotel. The music was really loud and half of the hotel could hear the loud music and partying going on until they finished at 11PM. I don't think that the hotel should have wedding receptions unless they can be contained in a separate room without having to disturb half of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABitSpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    290
    92
    33
    12
See reviews for
102
136
38
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed one night at this hotel this weekend. Wow, what a mess. First we had to go to 4 rooms before we found one that worked. One smelled like 20 people smoked in the room the night before, the second was below the parking structure and at the time we checked in a car alarm was going off the entire 15 minutes I was in the room. The call to the front desk was answered with "Its not my car". The third room the toilet was in the process of flowing over and it was a good thing since it was flowing into the room already. The fourth was good.
The other major problem is the elevator. Figure I went up and down four times for a new rooms. Average wait time 20 minutes for the elevator. Really the trick here is to go up and then have fun stopping on each floor all the way down telling people your full.
There are no bell hops at the hotel and the valet parking is non existent. Staff really could care less about you and it really felt like a training facility for a junior college program.
Room are very very very loud and it really not up to par of the Westin and the Hyatt in the same area. For the price charged its really way too much.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificAndyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

This hotel is customer oriented. Fast check in and good room. There was three of us – king bed and one roll away and we still had enough room. At first it looks deceiving but the seats at the window help everyone to spread out. No more than three though in their standard room. They give attention to detail making sure that their services are highlighted and accessible.
This hotel sits close to the Long Beach Convention Center – LBCC - and is in a good location especially for a meeting in the conference rooms/ballroom. Good access to the arena too. The Westin would be better for the theater and same distance for the arena.

This hotel also provides excellent access to the Pine Street area. It should be noted that the very best Long Beach has to offer is this area and everything west of it – LBCC, the aquarium, Queen Mary, Carnival’s cruise terminal, the shore village, other hotels including Hyatt, etc.

Tip: Rather than exiting the hotel and crossing the street down toward the LBCC which is 2 blocks – going downhill and then up two flights of stairs to the center – it would be best to cross Ocean Blvd and head south just 25 yards and turn west toward the center – just one level on the promenade. Makes for a nice walk over.

Tip: The hotel charges for the internet access, $12.95, but if you bring your laptop down to the lobby, internet access is free for 2 hours!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gstabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Level Contributor
681 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

It's way overpriced for what you get. The people at the desk act like they really don't care...the rooms are getting to be a little out of date, and it's located in Long Beach which has seen better days. The hotel should charge about $80 less than they are currently charging. And...don't expect to enjoy breakfast here. Their hotel restaurant is trying too hard to be chic! Bacon, Eggs, toast, and coffee for $15!!!!! And the menu is loaded with breakfast dishes that no ordinairy breakfast lover would enjoy. The nearest normal breakfast place was four blocks away---The Omelette Inn. And the place was crowded because everyone from the hotel seemed to be there---expect to wait for a table!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed here two nights as a mid stop on our way to Santa Barbara for a wedding. Great hotel. Very clean, comfortable, and pleasant hotel staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvfuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva, ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

My friend and I were guests of the Renaissance Long Beach hotel in May. We were there to attend a festival. We chose this hotewl as it was in the center of all we had to do. Our room was nice and had a great view of Long Beach Harbor. Staying in a habor view room was a nice treat esp. at night when the surrounding area was lit up. The hotel was also near the shops, restaurants and clubs located on Pine Ave. This made for a myraid of choices for dinner and a night out. The city "Passport" buses stop right out front should you wish to visit the other area attractions. I found that since the hotel was in the center of everything it was just as easy and enjoyable to walk the area as well.

What made our stay the most enjoyable was the housekeeping department. They were most helpful and eager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. One can tell that they take great pride in their work. They always had a friendly greeting with a warm smile. When I came back to my room I found my bathroom items always organized and displayed so nicely. That was a nice touch that made me feel very welcome.

I have stayed at the Renaissance Long Beach hotel before and would do so again. If you want to be in the center of the city it is the best choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upstateny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed at the Renaissance for an overnight stay before our cruise down to Mexico. We arrived early thus, our room was not ready. No big deal as they secured our luggage and we headed out to explore Long Beach. We took a walk over to the Convention Center, checked out the docked Queen Mary and took in the touristy section by the bay. This is a very nice area with all the yachts, walkways and walking trails.
The staff was very friendly and the room clean, very comfortable and nicely appointed. We loved the window seats where you could stretch out and enjoy the view. We felt quite safe walking around the area.
One word of caution; and I believe this was my fault. Our ship was docked at the World Cruise Center. So when we got a cab to take us to the pier, I told the driver, “NCL Star at pier 92 at the World Cruise Center”. I thought that was enough information for a local cab driver however, he dropped us off at the pier where the Queen Mary was docked. A few questions to some of the construction workers yielded no results. Only after I told him, the pier in San Pedro; did he know where to go.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#5 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Property: Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Address: 111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802-4714
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Long Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let inspiration find you at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel. The artistic, urban Long Beach community resonates in our daily rituals and homegrown design, while the prospect of discovery lies around every corner. The Long Beach hotel's Navigators can be your guide to the unexpected pleasures of the downtown scene - art, culture, shopping, nightlife, or whatever stirs your soul. Open your senses and experience it all in our eclectic lobby including ocean-to-fork dining at SIP Bar & Lounge and incredible local musical talent. Unwind with a refreshing swim or craft cocktail on our third-floor deck, 111 Pool + Lounge, and enjoy killer views of the Pacific Ocean and the legendary Queen Mary from our Long Beach hotel. Come meet with success, celebrate in style and amplify your senses. Our hotel in Long Beach, CA offers an inspired experience for the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Long Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Long Beach
Long Beach Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing