We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stay in this hotel about twice per month the staff always welcome me back with tailored comments. The hotel is modern and the rooms have everything needed for a great stay. The pool area is nice however I must admit I'm not a fan of the new poolside sun beds I much preferred the previous ones.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedbirdheavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    296
    95
    34
    13
See reviews for
107
139
38
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have attended to a trade show in Long Beach Conventon Center last April so while searching for the closest hotel, I found out Renaissance is the one of the closest. As it is very conveniently located to the Center and the restaurants, we had enjoyed staying there. BUT, I would love to have free or less expensive internet in the room. Also, breakfast should be included in the room rates. Because, almost nobody ate the second morning. We all discovered other places to eat breakfast. Rock Bottom Brewery across the street is a must to visit and enjoy, so as the Pier area. Have a good stay :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here one night for a weekend getaway to visit Long Beach and the Aquarium, harbor cruise, Queen Mary. This hotel is right across from the convention center, close to the business district and walking ease for Pine Street and to Shoreline Village. You can also take the Passport Bus line which is free to the village, Queen Mary and the Aquarium. It picks you up right across the street. Don't confuse it with the regular bus line. Both types of buses are red so look for the word Passport on the free bus. Good location for business and leisure travelers. Had a pool but didn't check it out. Clean room. Had seventh floor room looking out toward the Queen Mary with a nice little balcony. We thought we were all set for a good night sleep until we heard the traffic below. We only heard the loud motorcycles or cars that had very loud engines..we didn't hear normal cars go by, other than that the room was very nice and the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Although the room with the view was very nice if you are a light sleeper, the loud motorcycles and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCTravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just got back from a 4 night stay for a conference in Long Beach. This hotel was very clean and recently updated. It was situated within walking distance to many restaurants and a few shopping areas (Pine Ave) . The hotel has a nice pool that gets the afternoon sun once the fog has burned off from the ocean. The daily cleaning service was good and replenished all items on a daily basis. The gym was great with very updated equipment and open 24/7. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
748 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I just checked out after spending 3 nights at this property. The first room I was offered had a beautiful water view but wasn't clean. Although the front desk offered to make an additional deposit into my rewards account I was surprised that the "replacement" room was on the Promenade side and without a beautiful view. hmm.

The location is great. The vibrant Pine Street and Promenade are literally just outside. The Long Beach Shoreline Village (touristy but...) is a short walk away and the Performing Arts Center is across the street. I did not eat or drink at this hotel.

I've traveled extensively and found that this hotel could be more accommodating:

Why not offer free Wifi on the 3rd floor pool area? Why can't guests use the luggage carts? Why isn't there an actual concierge?

On the plus side? - They offer a government rate.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are only in the corners of each floor. Quieter rooms will not be on the Ocean Ave side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeatOfMyPntsTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana H, Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent visit. We were glad to hear that our location was a benefit to your visit, allowing you to explore the downtown Long Beach area. We too feel the location offers our guest a great experience in Long Beach.

We have shared your comments about your room location and staff with our team to take corrective measures. We hope on your next visit to the Long Beach area you will stay with us again so we can show you an exceptional experience.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Diana H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed at the Renaissance for four nights for a recent convention. If you look at a map, it is not immediately evident just how close the Renaissance is to the Convention Center. But it is literally across the street from the convention center and much closer to all of the lovely restaurants and bars on Pine Avenue.

I was able to check in a little early and was given a double room on the 5th floor (I had a conference rate). The room had a refrigerator and a large desk area with plenty of outlets. The bathroom was a decent size, and they provided wonderful Aveda products. The room was also very clean and the bed was comfy. Housekeeping made up my room early each day. There are cushions placed on the large ledge in the window area which was a lovely touch if I wanted to sit on the ledge and enjoy the view.

My room faced the pool (which is on the 3rd floor). Because I was on the 5th floor, I could hear the people partying and pool noise at night. Since I was there on business, I was in bed most nights well before 11:00 when the pool closes. If you need to get up early, ask for a higher floor or a room facing away from the pool.

I used the pool and large jacuzzi most mornings (the pool opens at 6:00). I quickly realized why there was so much pool noise when one morning I found beer bottle caps EVERYWHERE along with cigarette butts (I stopped counting at 30 butts) everywhere, but especially near the jacuzzi. Technically, the hotel is non-smoking, and there were certainly no ashtrays in the pool area that would lead guests to think that you could smoke there. But every day I saw people smoking near the pool. Either enforce the non-smoking rule, or provide ashtrays for these folks.

I used the fitness center every morning and was grateful that it was open 24/7. Being from the east coast, I never did get used to sleeping in and was frequently at the center before 6:00 each morning. There were 4 ellipticals, 2 bikes and 5 treadmills, along with weight machines and free weights. I liked the Techno Gym equipment, especially the ab machine, which is unusual to find at a hotel fitness center. There were plenty of towels, sanitizing wipes, bottled water, headphones, and fresh fruit.

Since I lost my Marriott Gold status because I "only" stayed 30 nights last year, I had to pay the $9.95 fee for daily internet access from my room. The connection was very fast, though. I believe that Wifi was available at no cost in the lobby.

There were so many fabulous restaurants within an easy six block walking area that it's hard to name them all. Suffice it to say that there is a restaurant for every taste and budget. I do have to mention the Truffle Burger at The Federal which was one of the best burgers that I've ever had. Rock Bottom Brewery is also directly across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nittany&Fargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Beautiful, clean, friendly and courteous staff! A great experience overall. Close to Shoreline Village, the Aquarium, and many restaurants and attractions all within walking distance.

The room was excellent, very clean and nicely updated with LOTs of charging ports for our computers, phones, etc. Nice soft beds and very soft and clean pillows, sheets, adn soft fluffy towels. The hotel was as spotless as was our room.

The only drawback was housekeeping did not arrive on our first day until after 5:30 p.m., the second day housekeeping did not arrive until 6:30 p.m.

All of the staff in that cafe and lounge were terrific. I highly recommend this hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniLerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#5 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Property: Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Address: 111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Long Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let inspiration find you at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel. The artistic, urban Long Beach community resonates in our daily rituals and homegrown design, while the prospect of discovery lies around every corner. The Long Beach hotel's Navigators can be your guide to the unexpected pleasures of the downtown scene - art, culture, shopping, nightlife, or whatever stirs your soul. Open your senses and experience it all in our eclectic lobby including ocean-to-fork dining at SIP Bar & Lounge and incredible local musical talent. Unwind with a refreshing swim or craft cocktail on our third-floor deck, 111 Pool + Lounge, and enjoy killer views of the Pacific Ocean and the legendary Queen Mary from our Long Beach hotel. Come meet with success, celebrate in style and amplify your senses. Our hotel in Long Beach, CA offers an inspired experience for the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Long Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Long Beach
Long Beach Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing