We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hmmmmm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Long Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

So, first of all this is not a 4 star hotel!

The room's shower exploded when we first turned on the water (they came to repair but I assume people check these things between guests)

The sink faucet also leaked when turned on, but at that juncture we didn't want to have the repairman come again.

What I didn't like were the following:
No hey we are sorry that this is happening to you, here's a free drink or something
also no free Wifi in rooms! (what or where are we? it is 2013 get over it)

The good:
good location. and parking not bad for $18 a night.

Would I stay there again? maybe, but for the same money I would try my luck elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Victor,
Thank you very much for selecting my hotel for your recent trip to Long Beach. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had at the hotel related to needed maintenance item in the bathroom, we definitely should have corrected it prior to your arrival. Based on your comments I have evaluated our process and made neccessary corrections to our current procedures to make sure it does not reoccur. If your schedule allow please contact me directly at the hotel so I can further share our actions based on your comments.

Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    267
    89
    31
    12
See reviews for
96
126
34
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a Saturday night in order to be close to the Catalina Express ferry dock. After reading some of the previous reviews, I was a little concerned about staying there on a Saturday night, but we asked for a room on a high floor (9th floor) and were not bothered by the street noise. Our room had great views of the harbor area and the Queen Mary. One of the clerks at the hotel desk informed us that there was a free shuttle to the Queen Mary that left across the street. She also said it was fine to leave our car in the hotel garage while we visited the Queen and toured the harbor. The breakfast buffet included in our rate was good. All in all this is a good place to stay in Long Beach Harbor.

Room Tip: To avoid street noise, ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaestraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie A, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review us! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your view of the harbor and found our location convenient to the Queen Mary. We hope you will join us again, should your travels bring you back to Long Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Please view my Westin one to compare however this is purely to help you if your stuck between the two. To save the bore of reading my usual lengthy reviews i will recommend the Renaissance with a massive win. The food is good value and lots to choose from even in the dine in room service. Wifi is Free ;) beds are comfy and rooms are nice. Good views of the harbour and the queen Mary ship. Recommend winter wonderland in the Christmas period. Great location, very friendly staff. Overall I recommend this hotel and a 4.5/5 is my recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewpot1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie A, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for joining us at the Renaissance Long Beach. We are very pleased to see that you recommend the Renaissance so strongly, and that you enjoyed the dining, views, location and staff throughout your stay. We appreciate your review and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just had a nice weekend in Long Beach! The hotel is in a convenient location. Close to restaurants at Shoreline Village and movie theaters. Nice maids and bell men. Comfortable bed! Big flat screen tv with HD. The carpet in the room could have been a little cleaner. The Starbuck's in the lobby is very popular! The tic-tac-toe blocks too!

Room Tip: Was on a lower floor. The hallway seemed to be a bit noisy around check in times and around bar clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie A, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Long Beach for your weekend stay! We are very happy to hear that you found our location convenient and our beds comfortable. We also appreciate your feedback about the carpet, and will certainly pass this along to management. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Long Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The location is the key here. The night life is only steps away with lots of voices to eat. The hotel cafe is very pricey but there is a bar/lounge with an excellent happy hour and great bar food. Housekeeping was not good they forgot wash cloths coffee creamer sugar bath towel soiled roll away. All on three did dent occasions. Rectified each time very quickly and with a smile but I was frustrated every time I had to call. Staff is very friendly though and I will stay agaun

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiianbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie A, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that our location worked out so well for you, and that you enjoyed happy hour at Sip Lounge! We also appreciate your comments about the housekeeping issues. We are always looking for honest feedback from our guests, and will certainly pass this along to management to ensure that this will not happen again. We look forward to the pleasure of your return next time you are in Long Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you want to stay somewhere close to all Long Beach attractions, then this is a fair place to consider. We were there for 2 nights because my wife wanted to attend the Joyce Meyer conference at the nearby Long Beach Arena; basically a short walk across the street. I took in the Aquarium of the Pacific, conveniently reached by taking the free shuttle directly across Pine Street, but less than a mile away walking distance. Its also located next to the Promenade restaurants and shops (Ross, WalMart, Nordstrom Rack). The free shuttle service will also get you to The Queen Mary. There are also numerous other dining and entertainment choices just a short walk down Pine Street at The Pike and Shoreline Village.

The Hotel its self had several things pro and con I can mention:

Pros:

Excellent location to everything

Extremely friendly staff

Clean rooms

Very comfortable pillows

Good water pressure when taking a shower.

Cons:

After self Parking in the garage and taking the elevator to Level G to enter the lobby for check-in, I had already read about the flight of stairs one has to then take

Friendly staff that's sometimes a little overbearing. It seemed that on nearly every return from an outing, I would be greeted by 1, 2, or sometimes even 3 smiling staff members almost purposely blocking my way to the elevator; a bit over zealous to say "hello sir!"

On reaching our room and not being able to enter after several attempts with my card key, a female staff member appeared, almost out of nowhere, and requested that I let her try the key...she was unsuccessful on her first few attempts as well. It took a certain feel for it but we managed after awhile during our stay

The bed was nothing to write home about, a little too hard for me

Our room faced the historic Bell Tower, and yes, it tolled every hour on the hour, day and night

From early morning (5AM) till well into the night, there is some type of work going on that sounds like a trash truck picking up dumpsters but never moving on

And on the first morning there, I was delayed some 45 minutes when I discovered that the room safe wasn't working. It turned out the battery had died.

Overall it probably comes down to "location, location, location." And with the online deal I found for our 2 night stay, I would definitely consider coming back.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for a room that doesn't face the historic Bell Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcron55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie A, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience both favorable and unfavorable, as the feedback we receive is a priceless tool in enabling us to improve upon our guest experience. Additionally, we do apologize for the inconvenience experienced with the room key. We hope to have the pleasure of your return one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monbulk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked into the Renaissance Hotel because it was right next door to the Exhibition Centre. The room was very good and the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. We would stay there again if we were back in Long Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonMonbulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie A, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled that all aspects of the hotel from your room to the restaurant exceeded your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again next time you are in Long Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#5 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#7 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Property: Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Address: 111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Long Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our NEWLY RENOVATED downtown hotel in Long Beach is ideally located near the Long Beach Convention Center, Pine Avenue, Queen Mary, and the Aquarium. We've recently unveiled our newly designed guest rooms, club lounge and fitness center, and our newly refreshed lobby will reflect the inspiration of Renaissance Hotels by offering unique discoveries including emerging music, culinary, film and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Renaissance Long Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Long Beach
Long Beach Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing