We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful time staying in one of the suites at the Renaissance in Long Beach and thoroughly enjoyed the room's balcony and view of the harbor. The staff was terrific and the location couldn't have been better. Parking was sufficient and the offerings in the concierge lounge were excellent. We did use a rollaway bed during our stay and it was not up to the Marriott standards. You could feel the springs and I believe it's time for the hotel to purchase new mattresses for these so guests can sleep comfortably.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    267
    89
    31
    12
See reviews for
96
126
34
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gruver, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here July 2012 for the J.O. T&T Nationals. We stayed five nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. I could have spent all day laying by the pool. The view from the elevator was amazing! Great location close to the Harbor, and close to tons of restaurants. The rooms were clean, and the staff was very accommodating. We ate breakfast at the hotel and were astounded by the ridiculous cost of the breakfast buffet for a family of five. We only ate their once and the rest of the time, we ate down the street at an amazing little family owned restaurant with reasonable prices. Was a little disappointed their wasn't a guest laundry in the hotel. Was very thrilled that the L.A. Metro stopped right behind the hotel. We were able to ride the Metro from Aviation LAX to the hotel, which saved us a bundle on a shuttle service ( We were advised not to ride the Metro at night, it goes through some rough neighborhoods). We would definitely stay at this location again, if we ever make it back to Long Beach!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammy_k17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana H, Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your reservation experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having your reservation in order. We have taken steps to ensure our Hot Wire reservations are properly set to prevent this from recurring. We hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to redeem ourselves. Thank you again for sharing your feedback.
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent four nights here on Memorial Day weekend. Our room was clean. We had a view of the ocean, it was a great view! My husband requested a items from housekeeping, Concepcion the head of our floor was very quick and helped us out.

The staff was very kind and helpful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Customcruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

You will love the Renaissance Hotel, located in downtown Long Beach. Besides having an outdoor pool on the 3rd floor, it has probably the nicest workout room I've seen in a hotel. Staff is accomodating, rooms are comfortable and quiet, and we had a magnificent view of Long Beach Harbor, with the Queen Mary! What a sight! Right next to wonderful restaurants, this place is worth it!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of Long Beach Harbor, and the Queen Mary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumproof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business. I felt VERY comfortable with the environment and cleanliness of the hotel. They have good tech support for any WiFi issues you may encounter (the WiFi was good/consistent/fast, but in the end it ended up being a problem w/ my laptop). In any case, I liked the size and lay out of the room. I was thoroughly impressed by the interior design and amenities in the hotel. They have a nice gym, a beautiful lounge area and restaraunt/bar options. I had appetizers and drinks at their bar, "Sip" and was very impressed. The only issue I had was that the meat they served was not as well done as I like, however I am not like most people who are okay with rare or medium rare meat...I like things well done. The lines at the Starbucks are long in the morning, but the breakfast is Fantastic and the servers provide good service. My primary pet pieve w/ this hotel is that EVERY service has an accompanying fee, e.g. the WiFi (VERY overpriced). I enjoyed the WiFi only b/c my company paid for it. In addition, the internet lounge charges an UNGODLY amount to use the desktop computers and it really made my blood boil. The parking is overpriced...don't get me wrong the parking prices match those of the hotels in the area, but I still think it's an obscene amount to pay to park your vehicle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prophesee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
234 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As I checked out and again had three employees greeting me and asking about my stay, I simply had to acknowledge them and tell them how wonderful the staff had been. Every person was friendly, warm, engaging and attentive. I thought their service was in the top 5 of all hotels we have visited, and that is clearly a long list.

As for the hotel, it was clean and location within a five minute walk to the Pier, shopping all around, and the aquarium. When I asked my breakfast server about discounts at the aquarium, he took it upon himself to find a book that gave us a coupon for saving. Really? That's above and beyond.

The rooms were super clean, and the bathrooms showed no wear. We had connecting rooms and everyone slept well. The gym is large, by hotel standards, and the equipment was excellent, although they are lacking machines, especially for leg work. Plenty of water, towels and fruit.

Food was generally good over the weekend, and we utilized the outside area of Sips to dine and drink in the great weather.

Not going to complain about parking and internet fees; it's just the way it is sometimes.

Overall a great experience and would recommend highly for convention center attendees, or anyone else visiting Long Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ-Traveler85253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at my hotel and I am grateful for your kind comments. I will pass on your feedback to our team.
Looking forward to see you back at the Renaissance Long Beach Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg,
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. Things went well, rooms were nice, but there were a couple of service hiccups. One included the fact that our conference guaranteed us free Internet during our stay. At checkout, the front desk staff acted as if they knew nothing about it and conveniently couldn't get in touch with Management to verify this. Just the day before another front desk staff told me that she had to look it up but saw that indeed we were supposed to get Internet free. She stated it wouldn't be a problem at checkout, but it was! To booth, upon my departure at 5:30am in the morning - the young man at the front desk took so long to check me out that my shuttle left me! . Thank goodness I was able to get a friend to drive me to airport in town to catch my flight. And - shame on SuperShuttle who saw me in lobby waiting to be checked out but left anyway! Sheesh!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sg2011523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the feedback about your recent stay at my hotel. I sincerely apologize for the service hiccups you experienced related to internet charges and slow check out. I possible can you contact me directly so I can seek more details and resolve your concerns to your satisfaction.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#5 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Property: Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Address: 111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802-4714
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Long Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our NEWLY RENOVATED downtown hotel in Long Beach is ideally located near the Long Beach Convention Center, Pine Avenue, Queen Mary, and the Aquarium. We've recently unveiled our newly designed guest rooms, club lounge and fitness center, and our newly refreshed lobby will reflect the inspiration of Renaissance Hotels by offering unique discoveries including emerging music, culinary, film and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Long Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Long Beach
Long Beach Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing