We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here for a conference, which was directly across the street at the convention center- very convenient. The hotel is beautiful- well cared for, modern, clean, and the staff is excellent. I had a room overlooking the water - great view. Beds were very comfortable, rooms were clean and well maintained. The only meals I ate at the hotel were breakfast, but they were very good. I would definitely stay here again in the future- for business or personal travel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    302
    96
    34
    13
See reviews for
108
141
38
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Best for business, best room service in town. The balcony rooms are extra but worth it. Starbucks on the first floor. Most convenient self-park on the Boulevard. Most convenient to the Aquarium and the Auditorium. All three of the best restaurants downtown are on Pine two blocks from the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 918PeterT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for four nights.Rooms are big and very clean.Quality of service from front desk to house keeping is impressive. It is located in downtown area with many restaurants around.
Bus terminus and train station is just a one minute walk.This hotel is also located near beach and aquarium of long beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor and above with seaside facing are with better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSRIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have consistently patronized Marriott brands for the excellent level of service they provide, from Fairfield Inn to JW Marriott properties. As a Platinum Premier member, I recognize an excellent value, especially when its combined with the standard of service that business travelier like myself depend upon everyday.
In my experience over the first 36 hours of a two day stay, the Renaissance Long Beach Hotel has failed to manage my expectations. Since checking into the property, I had technical problems with the internet connectivity in the room. I spoke with a Front Desk associate and was told that cusomers who use Apple products (iPhone, iPads) often report issues at the hotel. I phoned technical support from my room and was told they would call back, which never happened. I did, however, call them the next day, to no resolution. The Front Desk sent up someone from engineering, and I was able to intermittenly get a signeal, but that too failed. I again reported it to the Front Desk, and an engineering supervisor was sent up.

At no time did a Renaissance front office manager contact me to ascertain the level of satisfaction with an on-going issue that a Platinum Premier guest had on numerous ocassionas brought to thier attention. I expect more from Marriott and its partners. I spoke to the manager on duty today and indicated my displeasure and indicated that I would be contacting Customer Service at corporate Marriott. In the meantime, the engineering staff finally established a consistent internet connection in the last 12 hours of my stay. Finally, I could get my work done.

In summary, the hotel is perfect for the casual traveler, but for business guests needing service, this is not the property to patronize as the front office is overwhelmed with airline flight attendants who stay here regularly, many tourists and a general malaise in attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocytien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My first impression was of worry when I arrived at the Renaissance. But, I soon learned not to judge a book by it's cover.
I drove up to a very small and crowded entrance to the hotel. Valet is $20 and self parking is $16. The first 3 floors of the parking structure is reserved for valet. The structure seemed outdated because it was very tight and not suited for large vehicles (all parking spaces are compact).
The lobby wasn't fancy but it was nice. It's connected to the hotel bar so it had a casual feel. Btw, the bar is great and very popular at night.
I was pleasantly surprised with my room. I got a corner room on a high level, so my view was fantastic. My corner room had a wrap around window facing the beach! My room was large and newly decorated. It included a fridge, desk, 32" flat screen, and two person living area (see pictures I included). Oh, and the two things that I must have in a hotel room were fulfilled, which are a large comfortable bed and strong water pressure in the shower.
Location was awesome. Only two blocks from the beach and restaurants all over the place. I was attending an event at the convention center just across the street. So convenient and value could not have been better in this area.
Didn't have much interaction with staff, but I had very good maid service and bartender was good.
Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend it to tourists.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room facing south. This will give you bigger room with a wrap-around window. Choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maikolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a city view room which was very comfortable, but the ocean view would be wonderful if you were on a high floor. The valet parking was great and check in went smoothly. Wish we would have stayed more than one night. The Convention Center was directly across the street, so if you had business there, this hotel would be perfect. We were in town on vacation, heading to the desert. We had some nice meals in Long Beach, but never ate at the hotel. We did, however, love the Starbucks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stay one night before traveling the next day to Catalina island, hotel is in the harbor near all kinds of restaurants- it's located in a " nice central tourist area", very safe, staff will comply with your last minute changes. Our room was on the 10th floor and we asked for a room in a lower lever, we've got 3rd floor,. Except the closer u get to the street level the noisy it will get.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#7 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Property: Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Address: 111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802-4714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Long Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let inspiration find you at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel. The artistic, urban Long Beach community resonates in our daily rituals and homegrown design, while the prospect of discovery lies around every corner. The Long Beach hotel's Navigators can be your guide to the unexpected pleasures of the downtown scene - art, culture, shopping, nightlife, or whatever stirs your soul. Open your senses and experience it all in our eclectic lobby including ocean-to-fork dining at SIP Bar & Lounge and incredible local musical talent. Unwind with a refreshing swim or craft cocktail on our third-floor deck, 111 Pool + Lounge, and enjoy killer views of the Pacific Ocean and the legendary Queen Mary from our Long Beach hotel. Come meet with success, celebrate in style and amplify your senses. Our hotel in Long Beach, CA offers an inspired experience for the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Long Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Long Beach
Long Beach Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing