We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Presidential Suite at the Long Beach Renaissance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Presidential Suite at the Long Beach Renaissance”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for three nights this last week and (thanks to my Plt Premier status) was given their Presidential Suite. I've stayed in numerous of these expansive suites in the past and in comparison, although it was nice, it only rated a 'C+'. Some details:
- Although the suite itself is the size of 5 combined normal rooms, the bathroom was only a standard hotel bath with a jacuzzi tub (small) and a smallish shower enclosure.
- The entry door, although an impressive double-door, would not close on its own and I had to be careful to pull it closed each time I left.
- It had rained very hard that day. The carpet was damp around the sliding door to the deck and towels had been placed under each of the windows throughout. Clearly, management knows this room leaks.
- Balcony had not been swept recently
- The suite does not have a separate 'business center' type room as many others do - there was no printer and the chair at the desk was standard furniture - not a business chair.
- Concierge Lounge is *very* small compared to the size of this hotel. On two occasions, during my morning coffee run, I noted completely full tables and numerous guests eating standing up.
- In room dining. Oddly enough, this hotel's in-room dining menu is about as limited as I've ever encountered in either a Reniassance or Marriott.

That's about the best I can do for criticism. Other than those minor bits, the exeperience was very nice, (thank you, Renaissance!).
- The room itself was well-appointed with nice furniture and the bed was, as usual, extremely comfortable.
- In-room dining orders were delievered promptly and the food was very good quality and hot.
- Staff were very helpful and friendly.
- The facility is located close to all the 'action' in Long Beach - is convenient to get to and in a nice location
- Valet parking was very prompt. Every time I called down for my car, it was there waiting for me

To the management: The Suite is a great 'gift' for those of us who are fortunate enough to stay in it - and I certainly don't wish to 'look a gift horse in the mouth' - but this one doesn't meet the same level of quality as say the big suites I've stayed in recently [Renaissance Providence (Outstanding), Chicago Blackstone (perfect and historic), or even the big room in Des Moines]. Fix the leaks, upgrade the bathroom, place the workdesk in a more sensible location and give us an Aerion Chair to sit in and I'd recommend it to, well, The President!

Room Tip: Rooms on the West have a good view of the harbour area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sensei52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    319
    107
    38
    13
See reviews for
117
151
38
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel is a pretty standard Renaissance, but the bathroom was pretty plain Jane, so to speak. Check-in was a snap; check-out was easier. The location is about a block from Restaurant Row in the redevelopment district, and rooms facing Ocean Blvd. have a view of the bay, Queen Mary, and any ships that are loading/unloading at Long Beach. Senior rates are good.

There were two downsides, as we saw it: 1)the entrance is not easy to find and we had to go around a few blocks twice to enter the driveway; 2) either the carpeting was dusty or they put us into a room where pets are allowed--and my husband suffered a terrible allergy attack.

We stayed the night prior to a cruise out of San Pedro, which is easily reached via bridges through the Port of Long Beach and on to San Pedro.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCruisin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 6 Contributor
895 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed here for a meeting. Its a nice hotel. The rooms are pretty standard for this kind of hotel. Nice beds, flat TVs, nice amenities in the bathroom, which has some marble. It looks like this place has been recently remodeled or updated, or maybe it is newer than some of the downtown hotels. There are lots of places on the first and second floor to sit and hang out. The bar downstairs and small and expensive. The location of this hotel is very central. There are some good restaurants right near this hotel. It is very near the metro light rail stop (Metro Transit Station?). And it is an easy walk to the aquarium, three blocks away or so.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed at the Renaissance for a conference held at the Westin and the conference center. The room was fairly large with a desk and sitting area, and it was clean. There is a chiller (not refrigerator) in the room which worked just fine for pre-chilled items over 3 days. The bed was comfortable, with lots of extra pillows, and the towels were quite a bit thicker than I'm used to in business hotels.

The rooms facing the harbor are definitely a bit noisy - Ocean Blvd is right out front and it's a busy street until quite late. Internet access at $12.95 a day seemed pretty steep on top of an already fairly expensive room, but at least it was fast and reliable.

The best thing about the hotel is its convenience to the convention center and other convention hotels. Both the conference center and the Westin are basically across the street - no more than a 5 minute walk even with waiting at crosswalks. The area is well-lit and has a much safer feeling than it used to have even 5 years ago.

Room Tip: Harbor view, particularly low floors, are going to have a lot of street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I recently stayed here for a business trip with a tradeshow located across the street at the Long Beach Convention Center. The location was great; walking to the convention center took just minutes, the hotel is close to a wide variety of great restaurants suitable for all budgets, and it's close to the water (although I didn't make it down to the beach I could see it from my hotel room).

The service was impeccable. Best of all, I was able to leave my Hertz rental car here at their drop off location at the hotel, after unexpected changes would have made returning it to LAX a pain.

The lobby is very modern and fresh; it flows into the modern bar/lounge area, where the food is fantastic.

I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water, and a higher floor since the noise from the street picks up during morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Renaissance Long Beach Hotel is a place with tastefully decorated rooms, upscale amenities, and a very friendly conference staff. The front desk staff is helpful and friendly. The food we had at the conference was good, too. Nothing fancy but tasty and filling. This hotel is within walking distance of restaurants and other forms of entertainment in Long Beach. The only downside of my room was that it was on the third floor and faced the parking structure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

A very nice hotel. Our room was very well furnished, bright and clean. The only possible moan was that the copffee machine had only 2 sachets of coffee supplied but no doubt more would have been available from reception if we had asked. The swimming pool and whirlpool were nicely located on a terrace with a good number of sunbeds. Pool towels were also provided. The Breakfast buffet was first rate, plenty of choice, hot or cold and the waiters kept us well supplied with juice and coffee. The location of the hotel is superb. It is a short walk to the "Pike" area, where there are many restaurants and bars, so all tastes are catered for. Boats leave for trips round the bay from this area and there is a pleasant park from which you can see the old Queen Mary. The only downer in the hotel was the lifts. There are 4 but they are slow and on one occassion we had to wait 15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
1,232 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Property: Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Address: 111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802-4714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Long Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let inspiration find you at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel. The artistic, urban Long Beach community resonates in our daily rituals and homegrown design, while the prospect of discovery lies around every corner. The Long Beach hotel's Navigators can be your guide to the unexpected pleasures of the downtown scene - art, culture, shopping, nightlife, or whatever stirs your soul. Open your senses and experience it all in our eclectic lobby including ocean-to-fork dining at SIP Bar & Lounge and incredible local musical talent. Unwind with a refreshing swim or craft cocktail on our third-floor deck, 111 Pool + Lounge, and enjoy killer views of the Pacific Ocean and the legendary Queen Mary from our Long Beach hotel. Come meet with success, celebrate in style and amplify your senses. Our hotel in Long Beach, CA offers an inspired experience for the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Long Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Long Beach
Long Beach Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing