We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful experience”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“What a wonderful experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We were traveling to Southern California to attend a wedding. I had told my cousin that I would like to stay at an "older" hotel as I find they have character you don't find in modern hotels. He suggested the Queen Mary. What a wonderful stay we had. We spent three nights and absolutely LOVED it. Now it is a ship so the walls are rather thin but that was the only thing that we noted. Wonderful service and very helpful staff. We took the free shuttle into Long Beach and spent the morning at the aquiriam. We lunched at Bubba Gumps Shrimp Company resturant - great food! While aboard we went on a ghost hunt but didn't find any. I would highly recommend this hotel for the experience on eating and sleeping on a most wonderful retired cruise ship!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeEMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,178
    2,198
    952
    376
    302
See reviews for
1,455
2,682
242
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,926)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Queen Mary is very interesting to look behind the scenes and take the tour. We had a great time walking around and seeing everything there is to see at the QM. Rooms were nice, bed was very comfy. Very quiet. Didn't try out the food on the ship, (got sea sick) parking is $15. And they have the scorpion sub right next door.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Travel2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My wife and i toured the Queen Mary in 1980 and were excited to stay there in 2009 before boarding a Carnival cruise ship. The location is fantastic for Carnival embarkation. We enjoyed wandering the decks and the shops. We had nice meals in the restaurant, but ...

Boarding was confusing when arriving after dark, and the public areas were dirty (hair balls on the couches). Our room had both hot and cold running air - the hot could not be turned off so we were forced to sleep with the porthole open. Our cabin was above a lounge hosting a high school party. We were told the music would stop at midnight (3AM Eastern time - where our body clocks were still set.)

I guess our room had not be updated yet because it had an old tube TV instead of the advertised. Wi fi reception was horrible and nobody could identify a good hotspot other than the dirty lobby. I lost connect three times before using the PC in the "business center". This caused an alert on our credit card. Ugh!

I understand there is a different management company in place. Read reviews of more current stays - hopefully things get better. The ship is beautiful and I hope she can continue to server guests as well as be a museum.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed it very much. Lots to explore and a must is to have a meal and or a few drinks in the bar at the bow of the ship. Also visit the bridge and engine room to appreciate what a massive ship this is.

Excellent bus sevice to downtown Long Beach which has plenty of excellent restaurants. Greek restaurtant (Georges I think) in Pine St right on a bus stop was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Staying on an old, elegant ship like the Queen Mary is an adventure! If you enjoy history, here's your chance to stay in, and explore, a museum! In addition to the wonderful tours (which we highly recommend), led by very knowledgeable guides, guests are free to wander throughout most of the ship. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The baths are mostly original so there is no counter space, but our room had a dressing table just outside the bath. The starboard side rooms have beautiful views through the large portholes of the Long Beach Harbor and downtown Long Beach. Bring your walking shoes to explore the many decks and long corridors of this stately ship.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is one of the best stays I have ever had in SO CAl We got three tours of The ship included in our stay along with breakfast, There is so much history here and the city of Long Beach is to be commended for preserving such a beautiful piece of history. Are room was clean and the staff is very friendly its seems like the love their jobs.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robinandstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Put an overnight here on your "ToDo" list. Our wood paneled room was lovely with a comfortable bed, and portholes that opened. (I wish the desk had suggested a harborside room for a sea view, as our view was not interesting.) Water in tub tepid and slow flowing, but that didn't matter for one night. Walking the ship and seeing the shining brass on the bridge and captain's quarters and other displays was great. Really missed the cabin they used to have that showed how the WW II soldiers were quartered. Don't know why that was removed. Sneaked into the ballrooms for a peek, and they are lovely. Food and view from the restaurant was great, but not as good as at Parker's Lighthouse Restaurant on the other side of the harbor with a GRAND view of the Queen at dusk. Go there, too. I get seasick on a real cruise, so this is perfect! Asked if they had any board games for kids, as our grandkids 6 and 8 are staying there this summer, but was told there are none. No shuffleboard, but that would be fun. Parking $15. Russian sub tour nearby very interesting. Nearby English village shops a disappointment. Closed when we were there and in need of paint and upgrade. Maybe a result of the current economy. Staying there was a very special treat, in spite of minor negatives. Stay there the night before your cruise! I loved the Queen Mary!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCalBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#4 of 57 in Long Beach
2,346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 57 in Long Beach
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
910 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 57 in Long Beach
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Property: The Queen Mary
Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing