We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Timaru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I just loved my night on the Queen Mary - staff were helpful and friendly and the room was excellent and so wonderful to see her how she was with the rooms being refurbished as close to original as possible. Also the haunted tour is a must as you get to see parts of the ship like the swimming pool that you wouldnt normally see.

Room Tip: As it is a ship and the hotel rooms are up where the first and second class sections had been then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Gillian C -

Thank you so much for the feedback and we are so glad you had a wonderful night aboard the World Famous Queen Mary.

Hope to have you aboard the ship again soon!
-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,952
    1,989
    831
    343
    270
See reviews for
1,289
2,399
215
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,756)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

It was all good being a wheelchair I was worried but over all it was a great night. The drinks are pricy the food well we did not eat there so cant say, but the twin size bed are huge so don't worry its more like a full size and the room was big we were able to meet people and go check out their room with the king size bed but the room was very small like you would imagine a crew ship room would be. The staff was great very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Fix the shower head :) for the ada rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Paul -

Thank you for the feedback and so glad you had a great experience. We are working diligently with ADA specialists on options for Americans with Disabilities to ensure that they have every opportunity to enjoy all areas of the ship including our world famous restaurants, bars, events, and attractions.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've lived in Southern California all my life, but never stayed on the RMS Queen Mary. It's was a great experience. I paid extra to have a family room and was worth it. The bathroom was original, for the tub was half the size of a normal tub. The staff were amazing, very friendly. I'm planning our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
lbelter -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you finally decided to stay aboard the ship!

Hope to have you aboard again soon!
-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
343 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Rooms are large and still as they were inthe 1930s, except for the tv!! So basic plumbing and poor shower and air con. Very noisy, you here everything in every room nearby.
I had breakfast in the a Promenade cafe and watched the sun rise over the water - magical.

A stay is not cheap, so it is a bit unnecessary to charge $9.95a day for wifi

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
HK -

Thanks for the feedback and so glad you had a nice stay.

WIFI is included in the facilities fee of $14.95 attached to your room rate which gives guests:

• Audio tours of the ship
• Children’s scavenger hunt
• WIFI
• Access to the fitness center
• 50% off of select guided tours and attraction tickets
• A portion of the facilities fee will be used for the restoration and preservation of the Queen Mary.

-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

I believe the trip to the Queen Mary exceeded my expectations. the knowledge of the staff and their years of service lends not Only to the personal experience but the overall trip tripand we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cesily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
cesily7 -

The Queen Mary - exceeding expectations since 1934.

-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed one night on the Queen Mary, taking the Romantic Package. Check-in was friendly and efficient but unfortunately we were assigned a room which had not yet been cleaned. We were very quickly assigned another room, and $30 knocked off our bill for what was a very minor inconvenience. A good hotel is not one which never makes a mistake, but one which knows how to deal with them when they occur.
The room was interesting and quirky, but clean and very 1930's, which is what we expected. The Romantic package included 'champagne' and strawberries which arrived when we asked for them. The strawberries were huge and juicy and covered in chocolate - what's not to like! The 'champagne' was horrible and I would have enjoyed a glass of something drinkable rather than a bottle of something which was, to my palate, undrinkable.
One word of warning - the ship was built in the 1930's when sound insulation was unheard of (pardon the pun!) and so if you are saddled with neighbours who are loud you will hear all their troubles, including the lady next door falling down in the bathroom at 2am and the ensuing chaos, phone calls, and the arrival of paramedics! It made for an eventful night - more so for the unfortunate lady concerned!
As for the Queen Mary, she is a grand old lady, with service to match. Excellent staff, good restaurants, nice shops, and interesting tours.
Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Chris -

This is the review of the year.

First I love the pun. Well played. I think I might steal that in my responses going forward.

Second this line: "A good hotel is not one which never makes a mistake, but one which knows how to deal with them when they occur." You don't see a lot of this anymore with sites like this one and yelp and what not. We even read reviews in real time before we get a chance to make it right - you know? We do our best to make great memories for each of our guests. We are so glad you had a great experience and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esopus, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay very much, you could feel the history. The service was very good, the room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant choices were good and the food was very good. Only issue was we arrived around 5pm on Tuesday and the exhibits and tours were closed for the day. We had to leave too early the next day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kscorpio47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
kscorpio47 -

Thanks for the feedback and so glad you had such a wonderful visit to the World Famous Queen Mary. Our tours and attractions close at 6PM.

-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Property: The Queen Mary
Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing