We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tours were good”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We took the guided haunted tour and the self tour of the Princess Diana exhibit. The Haunted tour has a lot of steps to navigate and dark places but was good. The ship is interesting and has little shops and restaurants. Great? No. Interesting enough to do once.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank denjolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hey Denjolu -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the World Famous Queen Mary and took in some of these fun tours.

We do hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,991 - 3,997 of 6,411 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent one night aboard the Queen Mary on a trip to Southern California. Our first experience was the unusually long wait to check in. They need more front desk staff. A number of attempts to reach the front desk on the phone went unanswered. You need to remember that you are really not staying at a hotel, but on a tourist attraction. The Queen is getting literally threadbare. There were several places where the carpet had been worn through. The afternoon of our first day the ship was packed with tourist taking the audio tour. The shops on the Promenade Deck are tacky at best. Taking the time to tour the rest of the Queen was well worth the effort. It was very interesting to see how the history of the ship has been preserved. As to our stay there were several things that require comment. When we were in our room getting ready for dinner, a couple checked in to the stateroom next door. They placed an order with Room Service and it was not at all difficult to hear not only their order but their entire conversation. The walls are as thin as paper. Fortunately, as a result of my now intimate knowledge of the couple next door, we changed staterooms. By the way, don't even consider booking anything less than a deluxe king on the starboard side. Our new stateroom was slightly smaller but still comfortable, The bathroom was original equipment which was interesting. The bed was very comfortable. It is a must to have lunch in the Tea Room. It was great. The food, the service and the room were outstanding. We had dinner at Sir Winston's. Again, good food, good service and a great room. Have the beef Wellington. Breakfast at the Promenade Cafe was also good but the service left a something to be desired. It was slow and I feel that you really should not have to raise your hand to attract attention to get a refill on my coffee. Checking out was it's own experience. I don't think that anyone checked out without a complaint of some sort or another. Having written all that I was very glad that we stayed. It was a good value, the food was good, and it was an experience that you can not reproduce anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkTwain1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Mark Twain -

Thanks again for the feedback and we are so glad you decided to stay too. Sounds like you really enjoyed yourself with some incredible dining, some fun tours and a once-in-a-lifetime stay aboard the Queen Mary. It does appear that experienced a few hiccups, however. We have complementary ear plugs available at the front desk (free souvenir) for any guest that might experience noise issues - we do get this complaint from time to time as the ship is obviously 80 years old and was made at a different time and designed to be at sea - and with that came a lot of white noise - like wind, water, walruses and whales (I like to use those four examples of sea noises because of the alliteration...Log on to our website when you get a chance and check out our preservation page - where you can see all of the projects we are currently working on, that we are planning and how you can help preserve and maintain this historic vessel. (a little birdie told me we have some carpet replacements planed - just saying). And finally - thanks for the feedback in regard to checking in and checking out. We are continuously working to improve this aspect of our business and will take your words to heart.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed with my grandchildren and great niece ages 7,11 and 12 who choose to stay the night on the Queen Mary over a day at an amusement park.We absolutely enjoyed the audio tour, buffet breakfast, The Scorpion and the room! They did not want to leave and cannot wait to come back and visit Nana and Papa so they can spend the night again., The view from the porthole at night was amazing. I actually live across the bay and see Queen Mary day and have always thought she was beautiful but now I have a whole new adoration for the beautiful lady!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blissnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Blissnana -

I think your user name gave away the fact that you were a grandparent! Glad you were able to treat the grandkids to a great experience here at the World Famous Queen Mary...kids love the Queen Mary...good food, portholes, and we are a ship...oh yeah and the sub...what more could a kid ask for...

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had read previous contributors comments about the QM and I was somewhat concerned before we arrived. However on arrival I asked to see our twin stateroom and was pleasantly surprised. If anyone is expecting a modern five star accommodation, then don't stray on the QM. It is after all a ship built in the last century and retains many original features. The current owners have tried to keep the décor as true to the original as possible. Our room was wood panelled and had two single beds which isn't my favourite type of bed but it was fine. The walls are very thin and I could hear the person in the next room snoring but when this ship was operational, the noise would have been drowned by engine noise. Housekeeping was good.
We took afternoon tea which was expensive but very nice in the newly renovated tea room. We ate dinner on board and that was very good. Service was very variable - excellent in one restaurant and then off hand in another. The bar man was miserable!
All in all it the experience of staying on a cruise ship that you are paying for and we enjoyed it

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper - take ear plugs or keep the TV on low!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

C P -

Thanks for the feedback - you know what they say about opinions...everyone has one. We are sometimes shocked just as much of you by some of the comments that show up here and on Yelp...some people have great imaginations and some are just looking for something when they arrive. Anyway - you have to take it all with a grain of salt and average it all out. Most people have a great experience here...but only like 1-2 percent of those people write reviews. of the 2-3 percent of people that don't enjoy their stay here - you can bet that 100% of them write reviews. Its just the way it is.

So glad you had a nice visit and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I took my two children to the Queen Mary and it was amazing. The self-guided tour (with audio) was included. It was amazing and my two little one's were able to walk around the ship for 3 hours. The Promenade cafe was terrific and very kid friendly. We had high tea at the "Tea Room" and the food was great and the waiter (Tony) was very accomodating to my children's particular tastes. Tony (the waiter) was so friendly and made great recommendations on what to order. The room we stayed in had two queen beds and the room was clean and "awesome" (my son's words). We are already thinking about when we can make a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Lloyd B -

Thanks for the feedback and the five stars. So glad you had such a wonderful visit to the World Famous Queen Mary. Glad you enjoyed the audio tour and the Tea Room! Awesome. Promenade Cafe is definitely some family friend grub!

So glad you had a nice visit and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Overall a nice visit, however the room was very cold, even though we turned up the control knob, still too cold. The hotel also charges a $14.95 extra fee, supposedly for the audio tour, tour discounts, Wi-Fi (free at most hotels), etc., none of which we used. There are no reasonably priced places to eat on the ship, bar prices are $10 - $12 per drink. Parking is $17 per day. The ship is interesting to explore.

Room Tip: Room was very cold, floor felt damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Bruce B -

Thanks for the feedback and for the four stars.
We are glad you had a nice experience.

Yes - we charge a $14.95 facilities fee which entitles guests to
• Audio tour of the ship
• Free local and long distance calls
• Children’s scavenger hunt
• WIFI
• Access to the fitness center
• 50% off of select guided tours and attraction tickets
• A portion of the facilities fee will be used for the restoration and preservation of the Queen Mary.

I think that last point is the most important. Thank you for your help and support in preserving the World Famous Queen Mary.
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had long wanted to visit the Queen Mary(QM). It was a great experience; but sadly the QM is getting very tired!!! First off the iconic 3 Cunard red funnels were a very faded orange. If you choose such a feature as an icon you should strive to keep them true.
Check in was reasonably prompt and welcoming. Sadly though staff also tend to be 'tired'. They reel off the information at airport announcement pace. It needs to be understood that even if the guest's native tongue is English, the guest may not be used to the American brogue. Please folks slow down.
The port side room was welcome and comfortable. Again, I have to say a key word here is 'tired'. The pillows were clumpy. The room lacked any charm one would expect in a first class room. No colour (yes that is the British spelling). A tatty stackable ballroom chair was the only seat provided. The old fittings could have been accentuated; but alas pictures and frames were more suited to a lower scale motel. Curtains were vividly mounted on plastic tracks. Bookcases were bare. Modern accoutrement like the refrigerator and television set stood out harshly. One wonders how much ingenuity would have been needed to replicate first class ?
Despite the signage our neighbours (another English spelling) tiraded us with an overloud television from their arrival until they chose to go to bed. As well as non smoking, could her majesty also have non television rooms. The telephone alcove would have been a more discreet place for the refrigerator.
The port holes gave great bursts of Pacific air. A refreshing change from a vacation of noisy air conditioning. The only downside there was the horrendous Carnival cruise ship next door with its (almost) non-stop blarring announcements. Their advertising did them justice. I would never venture on such a plastic experience. Thankfully they departed in the evening; but returned way too early the next morning.
The bed was fantastically comfortable. King sized and what a royal treatment.
The bathroom was a mish mash. Some great old fittings interspersed with cheap new fittings. The new fittings had been hurriedly attached with no finesse. The soap dish was wobbly and the towel rack was not straight. The toilet roll holder was a do it yourself affair - left by the telephone for the guest to attach oneself. Such a novel experience. I hope we attached it to your satisfaction? Next time please remind us to bring out own screwdriver.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingkiwiOamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

FlyingkiwiOamaru -

Thanks for the feedback...how could the Queen Mary be tired - she has been retired since 1967...just resting I suppose. This year the Queen Mary turns 80 - and she looks pretty darn good for 80. Our staff works around the clock to keep her, well in ship shape. Carnival comes through here pretty regularly, that port is right next door and is now the busiest on the West Coast. I think it is incredible to notice the differences between the two ships and two eras. Pretty artistic really when you think about it.

Log on to our website and check out our preservation page for some of the exciting projects we are working on - future projects and most importantly how you can help keep those iconic Cunard stacks bright and shiny red!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,319 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
2,553 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
989 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $122 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing