We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buisness stay May/June 2014”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buisness stay May/June 2014”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great Hotel, - should provide better information on events taking place surrounding the hotel premises. Saturday (31st May) we were not informed of the activity going on in the surroundings of the hotel which disrupted the Passport Shuttle, with poor information from those conducting the events, many of us had to walk very far and finally were compelled to hire taxis to get to the convention centre and as a result were late to attend the sessions.

Room Tip: though we appreciate the representation of a bygone queen of the sea, it will absolutely add more wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Ravi -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. All of our events are posted on our website. The Passport service was not disrupted during the event on May 31.

Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,201
    2,218
    959
    381
    303
See reviews for
1,472
2,706
247
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norton, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight 5/29-30/14 & had dinner at Sir Winston's. it was so wonderful! From the moment we arrived the bellhops greeted us with smiles and pointed us the way to the elevators & once on the hotel level we were greeted by more smiling helpful faces. The man who served us at the counter (I didn't get his name but he was the handsome black gentleman) was so courteous and answered questions with an endless smile. We were in A34-a room with portholes that faced the parking lot but even so the lights of the shipyards were so pretty to look at through the evening. Our room was clean and cozy and just perfect for us. We loved the famous long hallways too-spooky but so great at the same time! Sir Winston's felt so glamorous and elegant; pure class all the way. Our servers (two amazing Latin men) catered to our every need even taking pictures of us and choosing the perfect sweet white wine for me. We started with Shrimp Cocktail for my husband and Bocconcini & Vine-Ripe Tomato for me-delicious! Then my husband had the Seared Ahi and I had the Pistachio Crusted Rack of Lamb-even MORE delicious!! And if that was not enough we had Godiva Chocolate Souffle and coffee for dessert. Even MORE delicious STILL! After dinner we strolled the quiet decks and marveled at the ship and all its splendor. We had a night cap at the beautful Art Deco Observation Bar-Grey Goose for my husband and my fave Amaretto Sours on the Rocks! There was nice music playing and the ambiance was so marvelous-wow. Room service breakfast came right on time the next am served by the most courteous waiter we could ask for. We enjoyed coffee, juice, a croissant, muffin & waffle. They were warm and delicious and we were ready for our days tours. First we enjoyed the headset tour which is a MUST. You see so much and learn so much and all at your own pace and convenience. I loved the cut away model of the ship so much and my husband and I loved being in the boiler rooms alone carefully making our way and looking at all the fascinating things. I loved seeing the ships helm with the perfectly polished brass wheels and fixtures, the captains quarters, & Remembrance Chapel-so moving. Then the headset tour ended in perfect timing for Haunted Encounters-so cool! our tour guide let is take our time, pictures, and enjoy each stop. Then the Scorpion! WOW was that neat! We loved the Russian voice guiding us room to room while we explored on our own. Thank you so much we cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Celaine G -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a wonderful stay with your husband aboard the World Famous Queen Mary. We are so honored you decided to stay with us during your visit to So Cal. Sounds like you had the best the Queen Mary has to offer - a nice meal, some tours and a wonderful overnight stay.

We do hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I enjoyed the stay. The ship was clean, the staff was friendly, the experience was fun. Would definitely go back. We also walked the decks of the ship, and wow, what a view! We did the paranormal investigation they off on Saturday nights, and it was amazing. We got to see places of the ship that the general public doesn't get to see like the swimming pool area that hasn't been used in decades and decades.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Brian -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a wonderful visit to the World Famous Queen Mary. The Paranormal investigations are awesome!

So glad you had a nice visit...please do tell your friends and we cannot wait to host you again soon.
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had a business conference on the Queen Mary. The meeting room was beautiful, the staff were courteous. We spent one night there and we all commented on how comfortable the beds and the linens were. This is a Stately grand Lady with tremendous history, don't expect it to be the Hyatt. There are many quirks to the older staterooms that add to the charm. It also is supposed to be haunted and there are some ghost tours you can take.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
PMstein -

Thanks for the feedback and so glad you handled your business aboard the QM. :) Very cool visit and we hope to have you aboard again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you appreciate a one-of-a-kind classic experience you can not help but enjoy dinning and staying on THE Queen Mary. No longer subjected to class division, everyone travels First Class with this elegant hotel experience. Perhaps the best aspect of it is simply that it's THE REAL THING !

Room Tip: Go for the original First Class accommodations. They are the roomiest and equipped with the original...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
WB -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a wonderful, unique one of a kind visit to the World Famous Queen Mary.

We hope to have you aboard the ship again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked a room for my daughter's Senior Prom. Everything was beautiful. Coming back with the rest of my family for sure. A memorable experience. We were able to see the Princess Diana Exhibit (highly recommend) and the Spirit Walk tour late night. Was a little long but very interesting.


Room Tip: Room service was quick and efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Leanna -

Thanks for the feedback and so glad you daughter enjoyed her Prom - we love hosting those dances aboard the ship. Glad you enjoyed your visit and the Princess Diana exhibit.

Very cool.

Thanks again for the feedback.
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We came off a Carnival Cruise next door and walked over; could not have been any easier. Loved the ship and the room. We actually enjoyed the Queen Mary more than the cruise. The front desk was very accomodating and the food on board was excellent.

Room Tip: Bathroom is very nostalgic but a little run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Rocco -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so thrilled you had such a wonderful visit to the World Famous Queen Mary after your Carnival Cruise. We share a parking lot with the Carnival Cruise port - and its a great way to extend your vacay by a day. We also have some Carnival Cruise packages available on our site - check out our website for more info.

Thanks again for the feedback and we cannot wait to host you again soon.
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,385 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
915 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 58 in Long Beach
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Property: The Queen Mary
Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing