We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pre cruise stay, and paranormal tour.”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here prior to our 16 day Hawaii cruise. We really liked it after a cross country train trip. For some reason we had to book the hotel with Orbitz as through the hotel website it was not available. We ate at the cafe and had a great meal. In the evening my wife and I did the paranormal tour. Tristan could not explain something I caught on my camera, and my wife has a tendency to see things. It was down in the old engine room we encountered something.

It was quite the highlight of our trip.

I'd give it a full 5 stars if it wasn't for the prom going on until midnight that you could easily hear in the rooms as well as some slightly missed dust/dirt in the corners of the room.

However to see a type of luxury liner that was similar to what my great grandparents came over on was pretty cool and unique, and we will be glad to stay here again when we have more time.

Room Tip: Lower in the ship might help if there are events going on. We had great sleep once the bass from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skuttduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

skuttduck -

Thanks for the feedback and brilliant idea staying at the Queen Mary before or after a Carnival Cruise - I mean we share a parking lot...Why not extend your vacay by a day (I like the rhyme there) and stay (oops I did it again) ...in fact we have a park and play package - where you get your room and parking here at the Queen for the duration of your cruise at a discounted rate ...not too shabby.

Well we are glad you got some cool photos (post on our facebook page - we love to debate these paranormal sightings)...Glad you had a nice stay - apologies on the Prom - it's that time of year.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,232 - 4,238 of 6,483 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Loved our stay on The Queen Mary. Having a drink at the Observation Bar was fun. Dinner at Sir Winston's was outstanding. The only complaint is the noise level at night in the hotel room, but we were warned! Great visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatMom32174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

CatMom32174 -

Thank you so much for the feedback and we are so happy you had such a great visit to the World Famous Queen Mary. We could not agree more about the OB - a great place to grab a classic cocktail, take in the views and enjoy the wonderful beauty of the Art Deco the ship boasts.

And Sir Winston's - definitely our elite restaurant - the bestest restaurant aboard this ship. :) So glad you had a wonderful visit and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

She's old and rough around the edges but undoubtedly she's still a sight to see.
It is an experience to reminisce in the glory of an era long-gone.
I suggest to anyone to familiarize themselves with the ship both before and after she was converted to get a true sense of how she was.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

JoeyManhattan -

Thanks for the feedback and for the five stars....She is a treasure - about to turn 80 years old...and she looks pretty good for her age - don't you think? Check out our website to learn more of her history and how you can help keep her history alive!

We cannot wait to host you again soon! Please do tell your friends - word of mouth means a lot...

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

So we went to The Queen Mary to go to the Chill Experience, but found a pleasant surprise that we were also given free admission to the Queen Mary, with your ticket purchase. To the delight of me and my lady, my daughter couldn't wait to walk around on the ship.

We were a little beat from our time at Chill, but still found time to walk around the entire ship's many decks. The view of Long Beach is breathtaking, and if nothing else, worth a trip up all the stairs to the top level. Then there is all the history there. You get to see what the Captains Quarters looked like, as well as how small the workers quarters were. My daughter looked at all of the old telephone and telegraph machines, and told my niece they are really old, they must be from the 90's or something. Kids do say the funniest things. They were in amazement of the size of the ship, and wanted to know when we can go on one and go on the ocean. I told her we can try and go on a cruise next year.

There were a lot of parents and kids on the ship while we were there, and it seemed all the kids had the same questions. None of us could really answer them, but I was able to find out that the ship was built in December of 1930. If we wanted to, for $5 extra, we could have added on a guided tour, but I don't know if the kids would have been able to take walking around at a slower pace for a full hour, rather than run around the whole ship for an hour like we did.

They do have guided tours, and night tours. My girl asked if we could come back and take the nighttime paranormal tour? I saw they have 4 or 5 different options, and told her I think that would be cool. We can have dinner on the ship, and they tell you all about the hauntings, and even try and attempt to contact the dead on one of them. It's $75 without dinner, $129 with dinner. This comes with 2 hours of dinner, and 2 hours with the dead. Scary...

I really did like going to the Queen Mary. It was my first time actually going on it, when it wasn't for their Halloween Scary Mary thing. I told my daughter I would bring her back and we can all take the guided tour, that way all the questions they have can be answered. I told my girl, within the next few months, I would really love to come back and take the Paranormal Tour. Actually, I would love to spend the night in the hotel, and see what actually goes bump in the night...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Adam -

Thanks for the feedback and we are very glad you loved CHILL. All of our special event tickets include access to the ship except for Dark Harbor. So keep in that in mind going forward upon return visits. :)

Glad you loved the views and hilarious comment from your daughter. Kids do say the darndest things. We are a great family venue - educational and historical and a lot of fun...Those Paranormal Tours are excellent - I would highly recommend.

Cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was a memorable and unique experience. Transported us back to the days when the ship sailed across the ocean. Service, rooms and all were excellent. We did part of the self-guided tour of the ship - lots of stairs! - had a drink in the Observation Bar, dinner in the Chelsea Clam house and even bought a few souvenirs. And there's a Starbucks for early-morning coffee.





Room Tip: We upgraded to a room with windows and a king sized bed. It was great for an extra $30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Californiagirl857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Californiagirl857 -

Thanks for the feedback. We are so glad you had such a wonderful visit. We love making memories....

OB - that is one of my top - five favorite places on Earth. Classically cool and hip bar - serving those delicious old school cocktails...so glad you had a nice visit. And Chelsea Chowder House too? Awesome..

Please do tell your friends. Word of mouth means a lot to us.
We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a great time on the Queen Mary! The staff was great and the ship was beautiful. Lots of activities to choose from also. The only thing I would change is there needs to be more bars/restaurants open after 10 pm. A lot of people were wandering around after 10 pm looking for things to do and nothing was open. Other than that, we had a great time on the ship and would recommend it to anyone! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Sonya P -

Thanks for the feedback! We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience. We love those explorers after 10 pm...looking for ghosts. :)

So glad you had a wonderful experience.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have visited the Queen Mary many times when I lived in Southern California and stayed there several years ago. This hotel has made some definite improvements over the past five years. The linens are top quality, the pillows are amazing, the mattress is very comfortable and I was in one of the standard rooms! I had one of the best night's sleep I have had in a long time. The bathrooms could be cleaner, and are in need of updating. I love that they have kept the original fixtures, tub and sink, but think they could revamp the flooring and the tiles that are starting to lift of the walls.
The art deco bar is great for a night cap and there are plenty of things to do on board. Dinner at Sir Winston's is a must! They did make a mistake on my meal, but more than made up for it with the service. The extended tour I took was not as good as others I have taken in the past and think maybe they need to retrain some of their tour guides. I found myself giving more information to other guests than the guide did as I had been on so many tours. Enjoyable none-the-less, but I am used to more informative guides on board the Queen Mary.
I think the only thing that could improve the Queen Mary is if they convert the theatre back into a swimming pool for guests. A replica of the second class swimming pool up to current codes would be AMAZING and could in fact be done (I know some historical societies have advocated for them to do just that)
You really do feel transported back in time on this ship and I hope they continue to maintain the integrity of the vessel while making necessary updates.

Room Tip: Get a harbor side view and upgrade if you can to the former first class cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendGetawayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

WeekendGetawayJunkie -

Thanks for the feedback and thanks for noticing all the changes. We have been working very hard as a staff to restore the Queen Mary - I like to say we work around the clock to get this ship - well in ship shape. We have started a very determined preservation effort as well - log on to our website for more info on that! Glad you love the Observation Bar and Sir Winston's...a Pool addition might be tough - but we appreciate the suggestion...our last pool is you know haunted. :)

Please do tell your friends...word of mouth means a lot to us!
We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
2,595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
1,002 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $125 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing