We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nostalga”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Nostalga”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Nice staff, time to stroll the beautiful ship with plenty of things to look at. Room was comfortable. Watch out for the bulkhead as you will trip and fall or kill your toes. Yea they do warn you, but old habits die hard at night. Meal was outstanding

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
bpi45 -

Thank you for the feedback and we are so thrilled you had a wonderful visit to the Queen Mary! Sorry about your toes - but you can always get a massage at the Queen Mary Spa!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,176
    2,197
    950
    376
    301
See reviews for
1,453
2,679
241
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,925)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and I booked a five night stay at the Queen Mary and were very excited about the trip. We checked in and went to our room, The Queen Elizabeth Suite. The room needed much repair, including broken windows, tattered carpet and to top it off, the HVAC did not work. After one night of freezing and many calls to try to get the room heated, we checked out.
The only bright spot was the Sir Winston restaurant, which was expensive, but the food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spoogdaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Spoogdaman -

Thanks for the feedback and we disappointed you were not 100 percent satisfied with your visit to the World Famous Queen Mary. Our 80-year old ship is a classic and doesn't she look good for her age? Our team works around the clock to keep the ship in, well ship shape. The Queen Elizabeth Suite is fantastic! And why yes, it might be do for some upgrades, it is not in need of much repair. :(

Glad you loved Sir Winston's! Five-star dining. In regard to the heat - contact the front desk - we will take care of you.

Cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Beds were a bit smelly...urine smell but other than that a pretty good stay. The staff In the Promenade were a little inexperienced it appeared. Thin walls and you can hear everything but they do warn about that in their pamphlet and provide ear plugs at the front desk. We had a good stay over all


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaJ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
TashaJ05 -

Thanks for the feedback...so glad you enjoyed the stay. I haven't heard any complaints about the smell of our beds in the two thousand plus reviews on here...Our rooms usually smell amazing!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

On our trip between Pasadena and Escondido, we decided to spend one night on the Queen Mary. We had a deluxe stateroom which was charming with the original built in burl-wood dressing table and cabinets. We had two large portholes with a lovely view of the Long Beach skyline across the harbor. The king size bed was very comfortable. They have keep the Art Deco ambiance while updating the room and bath for modern comfort. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the tearoom and a tour of the Princess Diana exhibit. We also took the self directed audio tour which is complementary to hotel guests. The other docent lead tours looked interesting but we didn't have time for those. We had dinner in the Sir Winston restaurant, where we were a bit disappointed in the meal and setting. All the staff that we interacted with--waiters, bell boys, maids and reception --were very friendly and helpful. This is really a unique experience and while it cost us about $500 for the visit, we feel it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimroseLlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
PrimroseLlane -

Thank you for the feedback and for your visit to the World Famous Queen Mary. Glad you loved your room and your meals aboard the ship as well as the wonderful views.

Please do tell your friends. Word of mouth means a lot to us.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed in conjuction with a business trip and enjoyed the accommodations and friendly staff. The only down side was the WiFiservice. It was slow and I had to reconnect often. All things considered I has a marvelous stay and look forward to future stays.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFDodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
JFDodson -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had a great experience aboard the World Famous Queen Mary. Apologies if the WIFI was not up to par - we are currently upgrading the speed of this. Keep in mind - it is a ship made of steal and when they designed it - they didn't take WIFI into consideration back in the 30s. :)

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our room was beautiful w/ a gorgeous ocean view. My Boyfriend and I, had a nice quiet lunch at The Promenade Café. The Queen Mary staff were very nice especially their Manager Mark, their reception desk staff Michelle and Mario, & our tour guide Danny were great!

Room Tip: If you get a chance to upgrade rooms with an ocean view, I highly recommend it! The view is gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
emi D -

Thank you for the feedback and happy belated anniversary/birthday. Glad you loved the meals aboard the ship and the Ocean views.

Please do tell your friends...and we hope you consider us for your future birthdays and anniversaries.

We cannot wait to host you again very, very soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The four of us, 2 adults and our two boys ages 10 and 12 really enjoyed our on board experience. It was a secret i planned and the kids were blown away that this was going to be our "hotel" for 2 days. The crew was ship were outstanding and there is plenty of historic sight seeing on board plus the Russian sub docked near by to see. Cabins are a little tight for 4 with a king bed and 2 twin beds but who stays in the cabin anyways. We used the boat for our home base while we ran around LA and area. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Get a waterside room and wake up to watch the pelicans dive for breakfast and the Long Beach watersi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwoorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
cwoorun -

You know what - Kids LOVE the Queen Mary! How cool is it? It is a giant ship? All the portholes? Things to jump on? A sub? I mean think about it from kids perspective...and then to stay overnight? It's like camping...on a ship. Really cool.

So glad you had a wonderful visit to the Queen Mary and we cannot wait to host you again very, very soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#4 of 55 in Long Beach
2,345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 55 in Long Beach
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
910 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 55 in Long Beach
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Property: The Queen Mary
Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing