We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queen Mary”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Nice but a little to pricey in December. I would wait til they have better deals. Otherwise nice and romantic.
The beds are a little hard. Good restaurants. Nice ambiance. Beautiful view. Went and had a massage and facial with a royal bath. Again a little pricey and definitely wouldn't get another royal bath. It's just a bubble bath in a small tub with candles. Don't waste your time. Facial and massage good but over priced. The service every where was good. Went to the chill, sculptures were amazing, I would do it again. Over all we love to go and get away there, it's not to far but far enough to feel like we really got away for a weekend.

Room Tip: Better lighting for women to put their makeup on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Linda V -
Thanks for the feedback...what a brilliant idea...a little get away at the QM? LOVE IT.

Glad you enjoyed a nice evening, some meals, a massage and got some good rest...

We hope to see you aboard the ship again real soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,539 - 4,545 of 6,413 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

The service and personal were are just fabulous. I would recommend it to all of my friends and family to at least experience a stay on the boat once and they will probably enjoy it as much as I did. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Adriana F -

Thanks for the feedback and the FIVE STARS! We are so thankful you had a wonderful experience.

Please tell your friends and help spread the word: THE QUEEN MARY IS BACK BABY!

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Enjoyed an overnight stay and the Sunday Brunch. Got a good discount on the tours by staying at the hotel. Ate in a couple of the restaurants and to food was very good and very reasonable. Note: Lots of stairs to climb getting around the ship.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVCA0Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

MVCA0Traveler -

Thanks for the feedback...so glad you enjoyed the Sunday Brunch! It's my favorite too. Great for holidays and special events. Unlimited Memosas??? I say yes! Delicious food and I am not sure I can prove this, but I think the incredible harp music really helps me stuff more and more food in my belly. I can't prove it, I am not a scientist, but that music - it just makes me want to eat!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

First time staying onboard for Steam punk Symposium. Friendly staff, Starbucks is a welcome addition (yay Latte in the morning!) I think the parking fee is not necessary when people have booked a room onboard,.. enough "Day Trippers" come in the fund that fee. I'm sure the parking lot was paid for long ago when the Queen first arrived in LB and as the lot looks exactly the same as it did in the 70's,,no extra was spent to create "Parking structures " or improvements. Other then the large parking fees, my stay was enjoyable. We will be staying on board again for the next Steam punk Symposium 2015.




Room Tip: If staying on "A" deck get room s to the very front , near the desk or back mid ship , if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Melody W -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you loved your stay aboard the Queen Mary and for you Trip Advisors out there - request the Harbor View - it is a great tip!

In regard to Parking - most hotels charge for parking. . Unfortunately we charge for parking in an effort to continue to improve the upkeep of the Queen Mary herself but also to generate revenue as all other hotels and restaurants do in Long Beach. Our goal though is to make it more affordable for our residents, thus why we have validation in our restaurants and lounges to reduce parking substantially. Our revenues have continued to grow and because of that we have been able to increase the money available to put back in the restoration of the ship for residents and guest alike for many years to come. I apologize if this is a deterrent for you to join us, but know that whatever dollars we do make, we make sure we continue to restore the Queen Mary to her original grandeur which is a significant expense.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The ship is very run down and the rooms feel very unclean. Not as Lavish as it appears in photos. The room is much larger then a regular stateroom. Very expensive for what it is. The tours were cheesy but somewhat fun. The self guided tour was probably the most informative.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmikusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

dmikusia -

Thank you for the feedback and we are glad you found your stay interesting. Keep in mind, the ship is over 80 years old and our staff works around the clock to keep the ship - well in ship shape!

Glad you loved the new audio tour - it is fantastic - right?

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's always a pleasure staying on the Queen Mary. Everything is quite ship-shape, clean and well-run. My biggest problem however, is the lack of soundproofing between cabins/rooms. This is the initial design of the ship, and little can be done about it (I would think). So I now take the precaution of meeting people on either side of my cabin, and making sure they know the situation. But I don't want to let this spoil (and so far it hasn't) the experience. And for Steampunk, that experience is wonderful!

Room Tip: It's a good idea to let the people on either side of your cabin know that there's almost no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Don M -

Believe you me - the pleasure is all ours!

You are absolutely right about the design of the ship...we do offer complementary ear plugs at the front desk for those guests that experience noise issues. That, however, is usually few and far between as the ship has to be extremely busy.

And yes - Steampunk is amazing....so much fun! I love the costumes.

We cannot wait to host you again soon.

-The Queen Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I love this place for what it is! Its authentic and historical. I discover something new each time I go. While the walls may be thin, it is worth taking a step back in time. Would much rather spend the money at a historical place than a "motel". Staff has always been welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Christina C -

You love us and we love you! We are so glad you had an amazing, authentic experience aboard the Queen Mary.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,319 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
2,554 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
989 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $122 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing